Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

I have had acid reflux at night -for years when I sleep. breath it into my lungs. could not get air, burn . have taken nexeum and privacid (very expencive,8or $900for three mo.) not totaly efective. Dr. told me to try over counter walmart-Equate cimetidine 200mg. $6.97, 60tabs ( = Tagamet HB 200 ) Have not had a prob. for 9 months!

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Have acid reflux for many years. Tried this med for one night. Didn't take away my acid and would not let me sleep. Made my heart pound hard and fast. Not for me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Matt | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a plantar wart that covered a large portion of the ball of my foot. I had tried many topical treatments. A podiatrist gave me a prescription for Cimetidine 400 mg taken twice a day. Within 2 months the entire wart was totally gone and has never returned. I had no side effects. Results were amazing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolyn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/29/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from heartburn at least once a week. I took prilosec as it works better, but I can't afford to keep buying it. Cimetidine doesn't take away all of the reflux.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Heartburnfree | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2020
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking this medication for a short time but my heart burn is gone and I am not getting woke up at night with burning in my stomach, throat or chest. Prior to starting this med I ate time like candy with no help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zjaktkz | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2018
Condition: Bleeding from Stomach, Esophagus or Duodenum
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nothing I fill fine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bruce | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/27/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have taken this 1/dy at bedtime 200 mg for two years now, with GE consult, in-lieu of Nexium 40mg for GERD and Barretts. Have noted tingling and numbness in feet and significant ED arising. Otherwise it reduced acid just fine. Use Tum's during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/18/2014
Condition: Stomach Ulcer from Aspirin or Ibuprofen-Like Drugs
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor used to give me lots of drugs for my nasal polyps and nasal problems. This resulted in a terrible stomach which turned out to be ulcer(s). I was put on various different treatments for ulcers, all worked but then the nasal polyps returned and the treatment for them caused the stomach to be disrupted again. Was given 2 x 400 cimetidine a day. It took some time to work and it has side effects which I can cope with (on and off cough, hurting shoulder, feeling heavier) but it has helped with the stomach and my nasal problems and the blocked ear and constant headaches. Turns out I probably have GERD which can send stuff up to nose/head etc causing these problems. I am wary of continuing to take it forever but the alternative might be an operation. So as I like to take control of things and do my best towards being well I take two multi vitamins each day, garlic,iotics and yoghurt and various other supplements as my research showed that cimetidine eradicates your white cell count, which can be dangerous if you do not replace them.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LauraB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2013
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have excessive production of stomach acid as well as warts on my hands. My doctor prescribed this medication to treat both (alternattive wart therapy). Although it has NOT been a full month, my warts are smaller and my heartburn is gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JK | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/11/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I heard about this medicine being affective for treating warts and it does work! I used to have to have them frozen every few months and it does keep them from returning as long as you take it as I had stopped hoping to not have to keep taking it but the warts started to return.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sisteraunt | 3-6 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/2/2011
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my pediatrician perscibed this for my nephew for a rash with small itchy bumps, he won't take the medicine because it's so nasty,I have tried many ways to give it to him and if he gets just a whiff or taste he won't take it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2011
Condition: Hives
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2011
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking (2 tabs of 400 mg)this 2-3 mos ago after going thru several other similar meds including Zegerid, Prilosec, Nexium, Famitodine. Works best of them all for 4-5 hours after hs, then I take some calcium carb supplements. Also use raised pillow, eat early, watch what I eat, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2010
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have cronic pericarditis - take prednisone for inflammation control, condition inflames gall bladder pancreas liver and spleen resulting in too much stomach acid being produced. used to take protonix but insurance co would not cover proton pump inhibitors. Works great for me going on 3 years now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2010
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have acid reflux for many years. Tried this med for one night. Didn't take away my acid and would not let me sleep. Made my heart pound hard and fast. Not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
reb | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2009
Condition: Stress Ulcer Prevention
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gayle T | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/30/2008
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had acid reflux at night -for years when I sleep. breath it into my lungs. could not get air, burn . have taken nexeum and privacid (very expencive,8or $900for three mo.) not totaly efective. Dr. told me to try over counter walmart-Equate cimetidine 200mg. $6.97, 60tabs ( = Tagamet HB 200 ) Have not had a prob. for 9 months!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/9/2008
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acid Reflux...I had been prescribed 600mg daily by my Dr about 3yrs ago and lost my insurance and could not afford anymore. I found this at CVS 200mg tablets and now I am back to my old self again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
darla | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/1/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using it to treat a plantar wart--800mg 3times per day. I have been having pain in my arthritic big toe, beyond normal lately; and my hips are hurting especially when sleeping. I read an article about such medications (regular OTC) that cause hip pain, wondering if this is the cause of mine. I've been to PT without relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/12/2008
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has worked for me. I have no problems taking it. I have no side effects taking it. I take 2 tablets a day 400mg. each. I also take 2 20mg.omeprazole capsuls a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cris | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/18/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is being used to treat an eye wort...It's sopposed to shrink the size down.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More