Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

136 People found this comment helpful

I used this as a treatment for scabies.After two unsuccessful treatments using permethrin cream I used ivemectrin 2 days ago. I can already see improvements. No new bumps, rashes are clearing and bites are healing over. I would highly recommend this medication for anyone who hasn't found success using topical creams. I did have side effects from the medicine that included pin prick feelings in my ...

Most voted negative review

22 People found this comment helpful

Just tried once for treating scabies

Shared reviews and ratings

Manu | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
6/5/2021
Condition: Presence of Head Lice
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/23/2021
Condition: Disease caused by the Worm Onchocerca Volvulus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The med works on the scabies but I take other heart meds. Apparently ivermectin and one of my other meds interacted and just caused some extra pvc's.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
miase | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2018
Condition: Intestinal Infection caused by the Roundworm Strongyloides
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2017
Condition: Disease caused by the Worm Onchocerca Volvulus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Omg for a year and half I've been itching 5 days later rash is disappearing and the itching is going away can't wait to take my second dose to destroy this shit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
windy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was treated for 6 years for rosacea, finally found a derm. who prescribed ivermectin oral, finally I don't feel the intense itching, the oozing is healing so hope this is my answer, it has been hell!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alliej0225 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this drug because the nurse practitioner said I had scabies.They continued to treat me for scabies but did not perform the scrap test.Found out today that I DO NOT have scabies.Now I am wondering what effects this drug will have.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitty | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/2/2016
Condition: Presence of Head Lice
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My ex boyfriends kids gave me head lice. I tried everything, from bleaching & dying my hair, topical OTCs, home remedies, EVERYTHING, & nothing worked. I ended up having lice for nearly a year -- by then my head was so chewed up, it was painful to even wash or put water on it. I was extremely close to just shaving my head, but in a final effort to save my beloved hair, I came across Ivermectin (Stromectol). I went to my local Centra Care the next day, took the four pills I was given, & waited. The next morning I woke up, and my pillow was COVERED with corpses of the pests! Washed the rest out, along with my bedding, and wiped my hands! I was beyond elated that it worked. My only complaint is that I didn't do a follow up visit for a refill, & they came back a month later, though nowhere near as serious as they were. Went to a dermatologist, got two refills worth, and bam. Problem gone in less than a week! No topical, no burning, no mayo hats, perfect! Never using anything else if I ever become infested again, and recommend it to all my friends and everyone else :)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tiredofdermsthatdontlisten | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I weigh over 200 lbs and they only gave me 12 mg to take at same time as 60 gr of 5% permithium cream, and then a 2nd 12 gr dose for 1 month later. That was horrible because I'd already been suffering for a month, and then the dermatoligists didn't believe I had anything, they just prescribed antiitch stuff saying it was a rash. Anyway, a 12 mg dose was nowhere near enough, so they survived it. After 3 more weeks of 1 or 2 hrs sleep per night I begged some more permithian and used 60 gr over 2 days and when that didn't get them all I used the other 12 mg of ivermectin and another 60 gr of permitherin cream, and I think I finally have killed them all. What a nightmare! Underdose is not good because it doesn't kill them, so you keep suffering.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Old Lady | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/5/2015
Condition: Intestinal Infection caused by the Roundworm Strongyloides
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Separate dosages of 21 mg each of Ivermectin on 5 different occasions for long standing strongyloides. Some relief for 2 or 3 days but the infection comes roaring back. Dr. does not know what to do next. I am in misery. Garlic appears to give almost equal relief but is difficult to tolerate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
7/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this as a treatment for scabies.After two unsuccessful treatments using permethrin cream I used ivemectrin 2 days ago. I can already see improvements. No new bumps, rashes are clearing and bites are healing over. I would highly recommend this medication for anyone who hasn't found success using topical creams. I did have side effects from the medicine that included pin prick feelings in my hands and feet and abdominal pain but those symptoms subsided shortly after the medicine wore off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohio | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ivermectin was prescribed by my Dr. to treat scabies when two tx of Premethrin cream were not effective. Very happy with results. No new bumps after second dosage of Ivermectin. Took 2 doses two weeks apart as prescribed by Dr. No side effects except slight nausea after second dosage...doesn't last long, only a couple of hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/5/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for scabies treatment after permethrine failed. I did become sensitive to gluten after taking it and don't know if that's related but it did seen related to me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TXpeach | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this for scabies, after using Permethrin cream 3 times without success. Two does of Ivermectin a week apart cleared up the scabies. I had no side effects from Ivermectin. This should be the first line treatment for scabies - it works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/2/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used the 3 mg tablet for a couple of years as a treatment for rosecea. I experience eye swelling 2 or 3 times per year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rrp | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/12/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my child had head lice tried the over the counter medication did not work, then took her to doctor he prescribed this and worked wounders the lice were dead within 12 hrs of her taking this medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just tried once for treating scabies

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More