Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

My doctor prescribed Nizoral shampoo to treat a severe case of dandruff and itchy scalp that had plagued me for years. It works like a charm. Usually I only have to use it once or twice a week, but can use it more often if necessary. It completely clears up the condition, though I guess there is no permanent "cure." Very high satisfaction with this medicine, would recommend it to anyone with dandr...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

my specific instructions were to shampoo my hair everyday with the keto--, and wash my entire body down to my knees, allowing shampoo to set on my skin for 5 minutes. I am african american therefore I found this treatment to be very inconvenient as far as the process of washing my hair everyday. the frequent use of the shampoo caused my hair to become extremely brittle and dry. As a result my hai...

Shared reviews and ratings

Savagino | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have seborrheic dermatitis in my scalp. I swear that if the wind blows, my dandruff will make what appears to be snow drifts. Unfortunately, Nizoral doesn't appear to be effective. I've tried using salicylic acid based shampoo followed by a Nizoral treatment, which marginally improves my condition. Also, I've tried various other medicated shampoos without much success. My battle with seborrheic dermatitis seems to be one without an end in sight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
8/10/2012
Condition: Fungal Infection of Skin
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used the generic medication and it seemed to stem the itching and redness, spread of the inflamation around my mouth; however, I needed another medication to use around my eyelids.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/3/2012
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've used Nizoral shampoo over the counter off and on for the past 15 years. It works the best out of all the shampoos I've tried for the scaly stuff i get on my head.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
billy | 75 or over | Male | Caregiver
4/10/2012
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i need to know if i can use this medication or not.i take meds for parkinsons disease,and i have seen in one of the med warning slips not to use ketoconazole.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/13/2011
Condition: Skin Infection due to a Candida Yeast
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/10/2009
Condition: Fungal Infection of the Skin with Yellow Patches
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was first prescribed Nizoral in 1997 to treat tinea versicolor and was very effective and safer than alternate treatments. I have since used the over-the-counter version to maintain my anti-itch life style.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/24/2009
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for seborrhea of the scalp and face.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
medinagn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2009
Condition: Ringworm of Groin Area
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/19/2009
Condition: Fungal Infection of the Skin with Yellow Patches
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I develop, primarily during winter months, fungal probs where the nose meets the face on the sides. Skin in that area develops a dandruff type condition. After three days use, condition clears. I've had to use this medication on and off for a decade.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/28/2009
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Totally ineffective. Unless you count the burning!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/3/2009
Condition: Ringworm of Groin Area
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took forever to work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Milo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed Nizoral shampoo to treat a severe case of dandruff and itchy scalp that had plagued me for years. It works like a charm. Usually I only have to use it once or twice a week, but can use it more often if necessary. It completely clears up the condition, though I guess there is no permanent "cure." Very high satisfaction with this medicine, would recommend it to anyone with dandruff and itchy scalp.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betty | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/15/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for vericolor of the face. It work very fast to return my color.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected]@MSC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/16/2008
Condition: Ringworm of Scalp
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DOCTOR PRESCRIBED NIZORAL/HEAD&SHOULDER TO ALTERNATE EVERY 2 DAYS BEING OF THE BLK RACE AND 4 YEARS OLD AT THE TIME. NO OIL OF ANY KIND TO BE USED ON THE HAIR. THE PRODUCT WORK GREAT! SHE ALSO DRANK LOTS MORE WATER AND ATE MORE FRESH FRUITS, VEGGIES AND BREAD. KEPT THE AREA COOL AND DRY. NOW SHE STILL USES THE 2 PRODUCTS ONCE EVERY THREE MONTHS WHEN HER SCALP BEGIN TO SHOW SIGNS OF THE PROBLEMS. THE PRODUCTS LEFT HER HAIR SHINY SOFT w/ NO BREAKAGE. SHE CAN WEAR NATURAL BRAIDS AGAIN. THE ENTIRE FAMILY USES THE OVERTHECOUNTER NIZORAL FOR IRRITATED, ITCHY SCALP ONCE EVERY 3 MONTHS. NOW WE USE THE PRODUCTS BY CHOICE FOR PREVENTION.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ringworm sufferer | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2007
Condition: Ringworm of the Body
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The condition of one of the infected areas was contained after 4 weeks usage of this medicine, but the other area got even worse and the infected area spread out while the original area got a little better (the color turned darker instead of bright red/white, then turned greyish.) I was told that I need to keep the infected area cool and dry and was prescribed Drysol along with the refill of this drug. The doctor can't tell when this will go away...that's the most frustrating part.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kac | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
10/16/2007
Condition: Ringworm of the Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not work on my childs ringworm it actually dried up the skin & made the ring bigger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oh Me Oh My | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/2/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my specific instructions were to shampoo my hair everyday with the keto--, and wash my entire body down to my knees, allowing shampoo to set on my skin for 5 minutes. I am african american therefore I found this treatment to be very inconvenient as far as the process of washing my hair everyday. the frequent use of the shampoo caused my hair to become extremely brittle and dry. As a result my hair began to break off at the ends and eventually started to fall out when being groomed. I followed the shampoo with a deep conditioning regime but still failed to improve the poor condition of my hair. I was also prescribed a tablet form of medication along with the shampoo that I took for 7 days. I never imagined I would have to continue using the shampoo for more than two years. Each time after the treatment the skin fungus returned even more apparent than the last time it was treated. I have almost given up. I have seen two dermatologists and also sought out my primary care/Internalist (10 years hypothyroidism treament)for her help as well but to no avail. I still suffer from the same skin condition, dark patches of thin scaly, sometimes smooth and shiny. There is large area of fungus concentrated between my breast that tends to sweat and sour in odor;sometimes burning and itching. Also there is a long stream of this fungus growth that extends down the center of my back. I have used the medication, Nizoral over the counter product,ketoconazole 2%,regular dandruff shampoo, Neutrogena with tar compound, Head and Shoulders. No product has alleviated the fungus completely for any length of time. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More