Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

No problems experienced and infection cleared. I think all the people who have had complications associated with this drug need to remember that it is a drug, and all drugs have possible side effects, that is why there are warnings documented. The percentage of individuals worldwide who have complications linked with this drug is very small. Anytime you take any kind of pharmaceutical there is a r...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I had a simple bacterial urinary tract infection which my awful, negligent doctor decided to treat with a horrible drug called ciprofloxacin, which has so many awful side effects it should never be prescribed except in life and death situations and maybe not even then. Any doctor prescribing this stuff because the pharmaceutical reps bought him off is evil. The mantra goes "First, do no harm." Doc...

Shared reviews and ratings

MAC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro was prescribed for me for a serratia marascens infected seroma following a lymph node dissection for breast cancer. I was nervous to take it after reading about the potential side effects, but the pharmacist assured me that if I took each dose with a lot of water and did not lie down afterwards, it would be fine. This advice turned out to be correct. I took a 500mg dose at 7 AM and 7PM, each with a full liter of water. There were no side effects at all, not even minor ones. The infection cleared up very quickly, as well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
floxed | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FLOXED for life from this toxic drug. If you don't know what that means, google it before even thinking about taking this poison drug originally developed for chemotherapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John Jensen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/5/2021
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro was prescribed and it nearly killed my Dad. Excessive diarrhea in first 24-hours left him terribly weakened and dehydrated stuck on bathroom floor close to death. He was already in the tunnel heading toward the bright light. The only possible worse outcome than being stuck on bathroom floor for 2 days completely dehydrated and weakened would have been death. Avoid this drug at all costs. Look closely at the chemical composition of this drug and you will see why there are so many horrible to deadly side effects. AVOID CIPRO AT ALL COSTS! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beyond mad | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a UTI that did not go away with the first medicine prescribed. Within 24 hours of my first dose my ankle began to hurt three days later I read the warnings and realized that it was the medication causing my problems. I discontinued it immediately and emailed my doctor who told me drinking water would flush the medication out of my body. 8 days later I am still limping and scared that my tendon will rupture. This is a nightmare! I shouldn't have even been prescribed it because of my preexisting health condition. So now I'm scheduled to go into my doctor's office tomorrow, but I am pissed! Why do they even prescribe this???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ciprosucks | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'll start off saying I have never had a reaction to medication in my life, and have nka. This is until I was given Cipro for a kidney infection. I should have known better after reading the three pages of warnings, but given my positive track record with medications I figured I'd give it a go, which was a bad decision. The first day on Cipro was mostly uneventful. I did have a small problem with blood sugar levels, but that was expected since it was listed as a possible mild side effect. By day two I started noticing pain in my inner thighs. Not a lot at first, but by day three the tendons in both legs felt like they were on fire. I called my doctor and was told to stop. It's been three days since I stopped taking Cipro and the pain continues. I am unable to sleep unless I pass out from exhaustion. I require assistance with walking, and have difficulty concentrating. I wish I had read the reviews before taking thus stuff. As others have said, you are rolling the dice with Cipro. It really needs to be removed from the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve got diarrhea, severe belching and gas bloating of the stomach that lasted a week until I quit taking it stomach pain. I donâ??t know what type of UTI I had but it was for a UTI Iâ??m hoping itâ??s gone since I didnâ??t take the last two I couldnâ??t handle it it took me several days to get over it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LearnFromMyHell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 4 pills of cipro, over a month ago. It was supposed to be a 7 day course of it, but it took only 4 pills to completely cripple me. I have been living on the couch, intense pain from my foot tendons, and all kinds of messed up sensations in my hands and feet. From everything I read, this may or may not be permanent, I may or may not rupture my achilles just by walking, I may or may not rupture my aorta... and I won't necessarily know if I escape THOSE side effects for a few years. Because I reacted at all, I'm a ticking time bomb for all of it. I have no words to describe how terrifying it is to live like this, I am so depressed, so frustrated, and so ANGRY. When I reacted, they shrugged and changed me over to Augmentin, which worked fine with NO side effects. If that was an option, there's NO REASON I should ever have been prescribed this poison. It's black boxed in the US, Health Canada has strong warnings for it, you're only supposed to be given it in extremely dire situations... and I knew NONE of this until it was too late.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aprild | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3rd day and my upper back hurts a little. Sometimes I get dizzy . Dont know yet if I should stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not experienced any side effects at all. In fact it gave me energy and i felt better. Im on day 3 of a 5 day prescription 500 mg tabs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cipro and flagyl for first time diverticulitis. After 3 days on meds, I felt much better. On the 4th day I broke out in a rash all around the mid section of my body.I itched like crazy. Never scratched so much in my life.Doctor felt it was not the meds and said to continue the full 10 days. 5th day , rash subsided,itching much less.So I finished. Now I am nauseous in the AM. I feel like eating something will help.But then I just feel more nauseous. By late afternoon,I feel better. I have never vomited, I just feel like I have to.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jalenia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Citrobacter
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not a fan. There are so many other antibiotics with far fewer side effects. I’ve never had an antibiotic give me anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped ease Diverticulitis pain when combined w/ Flagyl however even following the prescribed manner of taking the meds, I developed the worst diarrhea on the 3rd day that I have ever had. Literally, pooped every 30 mins for close to 24 hours before I could reach the MD who discontinued these meds and put me on Augmentin which I am tolerating better. Cipro and Flagyl destroy the natural flora of the bowels. Won't take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped ease Diverticulitis pain when combined w/ Flagyl however even following the prescribed manner of taking the meds, I developed the worst diarrhea on the 3rd day that I have ever had. Literally, pooped every 30 mins for close to 24 hours before I could reach the MD who discontinued these meds and put me on Augmentin which I am tolerating better. Cipro and Flagyl destroy the natural flora of the bowels. Won't take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
alene55 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro is strong and effective, but do not take it unless as a last resort and your life is threatened. If I could go back in time and get Cipro out of my body, I would. My tendons are ruined in my hips, wrists, fingers, knees and elbows, I have constant neuropathy in feet and hands, distal-plantar fasciitis to the point of being booted in one foot for the years since I took it. Rashes showed up that first week and have been with me ever since--on my lips and scalp and torso. It has permanently destroyed my once fairly normal and strong body--do your research! Even the FDA site now says that doctors should not prescribe except as last resort, but apparently doctors have not gotten this memo. If this even saves one person from taking the drug, I am glad. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clb2271 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/4/2019
Condition: Diarrhea caused by a Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine poisoned me, my symptoms include, overall weakness, extreme fatigue, loss of balance, hair loss, tendon pain, neuropathy in my legs and feet, extreme anxiety, sleeplessness, sudden appearance of varicose veins and more. Do not risk taking this or any fluoroquinolone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
magee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2019
Condition: Infection of Bone
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After starting this medication I had pain and numbing on top of both hands and feet. I felt weakness right away in my legs and could barely move my ankle. Thank God I looked up all the side effects after this and quit right away hoping the side effects would go away. I honestly can't believe someone put this on the market!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bkm73 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2019
Condition: Infection of the Prostate Gland caused by E. Coli
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cipro for prostate infection and it did absolutely nothing to help but cause me major issues from the very first day, the headache I could cope w if I knew it was helping my infection but that was the start then flulike symptoms complete body aches everywhere from neck to ankles in which still 3 weeks later are aching , Bones aching , I was tested for the flu and it was negative I already knew it was from the Cipro it all began once I took the pill the following morning I was aching , my joints are killing me non stop, lower back, hips , I had to take pain Medication just to help w the side effects of the Cipro. This drug should not be given to your worst enemy it is so bad. Do not use this ask your Dr for a different antibiotic antibiotic!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
1/25/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hallucinations...nightmares...headaches...wrist and knee pain...foggy memory...can't sleep...do not take this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RhondaR | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/5/2019
Condition: Joint Infection caused by Pseudomonas Aeruginosa Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am grateful this drug exist, it is the only antibiotic that keeps me alive from the mega infection pseudomonas that invaded my lungs, blood, brain, and kidneys. All medication has side effects, Ciprofloxacin does have side effects of tendonitis, but think because of my long uses of this antibiotic, worth living dealing with the small discomfort that will eventually go away. I am on 1500 a day for one year. I've been taking this drug for 3 month after I came off of infusion. I am not sure why some of these bad reviews over the outcome of this drug that saves lives. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Clare | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had some pain when I urinated and in my kidneys. After submitting a sample of my urine. He said I have a kidney infection, so he prescribed me Cipro. I did see the warning from my pharmacy, but I was too stupid to do a thorough research before I took it. Once I took it beside one time diarrhea, but 10 days after I finished the 7-day course, I started having pain and weakness in my arms. My knees also feel weird kind of pain and weak. I really regret taking this medication. Now I don't know how long this pain will last and if it is permanent. People please stay away from this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More