Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

63 People found this comment helpful

No problems experienced and infection cleared. I think all the people who have had complications associated with this drug need to remember that it is a drug, and all drugs have possible side effects, that is why there are warnings documented. The percentage of individuals worldwide who have complications linked with this drug is very small. Anytime you take any kind of pharmaceutical there is a r...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

I had a simple bacterial urinary tract infection which my awful, negligent doctor decided to treat with a horrible drug called ciprofloxacin, which has so many awful side effects it should never be prescribed except in life and death situations and maybe not even then. Any doctor prescribing this stuff because the pharmaceutical reps bought him off is evil. The mantra goes "First, do no harm." Doc...

Shared reviews and ratings

JaiMataDi | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/27/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medicine without even diagnosing. Doctor suspected UTI/Diverticulitis and gave me Cipro 500 mg twice a day. I took 500 mg a day and another 500 mg the next day and on the same day I got a call from my doctor's office that I don't have UTI but I was asked to continue taking this drug. However, I stopped taking this drug myself because I din't have UTI. Around a week later, I started having arms and shoulder pain, neck pain ,back pain and leg pain. I am having faith in God and hoping to feel better soon. Please do not ever take CIPRO at any cost. It's a poison.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thomas | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is poison. Took one pill a hour later woke in an ambulance. I passed out couldn't think, speak clearly, no balance wife thought I was dying. Never again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paula | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cipro for a UTI. I took it for 2-1/2 days when I started to get tingling in my face, arms, and legs along with cramping in my calves and a swollen Achilles tendon. I stopped taking it immediately but am still experiencing the tingling and cramping over a month later and am hoping that these symptoms eventually go away. Stay away from this antibiotic--honestly it should be taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
marie123 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking Cipro because Two rounds of Augmentin didn’t work to kill my complicated UTI. So my doc prescribed be cipro. I have only taken it for 3 days and I feel extremely foggy and exhausted. My body is so tired of antibiotics, but cipro is making me feel weak, lethargic and not good. Wouldn’t recommend this medication only as a last resort, or if you have tuberculosis or something very very serious. Going to now try to heal my reoccurring UTI naturally with cranberry extract and probiotics. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
S2 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to Staphylococcus Epidermidis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's a potent antibiotic. No question the side-effects are a bit much to endure (my dreams became really involved and vivid), however, it cleared my kidney and bladder infection FAST. I've taken it both intravenously and in pill form (both 500 and then 1000mg) It took the pain away from my bladder infection in less than 24 hours! I recommend staying the course. It's better than having the infection get worse. Cipro got me back on my feet and back into life quickly. I would not hesitate to take it again if I had to.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sia Majidi | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/6/2022
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro changed my life forever. Took the drug for diverticulitis. A year later, Lightheadedness and Headaches daily. Never had headaches in my life before this Dry Mouth and had 5 Cavities in one year and I have not had one in 20 years My eyes hurt badly and I keep squinting. They hurt so bad and I do not know why- I told my optometrist about it also. Pain in all joints of my body and bursitis on right elbow. Pain in all bones in legs and arms. My feet are on fire day and night. DO NOT EVER USE THIS DRUG PLEASE!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rico | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible experience. Anxiety, Lowering of kidney function. Fluid retention and light headedness not to mention inflammation in my tendons and tissues. Oh yeah and my feet and on fire. Stay away from this. Changing my doctor after prescribing me this even after I told him my concerns with this class of antibiotics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAC | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/6/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro was prescribed for me for a serratia marascens infected seroma following a lymph node dissection for breast cancer. I was nervous to take it after reading about the potential side effects, but the pharmacist assured me that if I took each dose with a lot of water and did not lie down afterwards, it would be fine. This advice turned out to be correct. I took a 500mg dose at 7 AM and 7PM, each with a full liter of water. There were no side effects at all, not even minor ones. The infection cleared up very quickly, as well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
floxed | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

FLOXED for life from this toxic drug. If you don't know what that means, google it before even thinking about taking this poison drug originally developed for chemotherapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John Jensen | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/5/2021
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus S. Pneumoniae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cipro was prescribed and it nearly killed my Dad. Excessive diarrhea in first 24-hours left him terribly weakened and dehydrated stuck on bathroom floor close to death. He was already in the tunnel heading toward the bright light. The only possible worse outcome than being stuck on bathroom floor for 2 days completely dehydrated and weakened would have been death. Avoid this drug at all costs. Look closely at the chemical composition of this drug and you will see why there are so many horrible to deadly side effects. AVOID CIPRO AT ALL COSTS! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Beyond mad | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/27/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a UTI that did not go away with the first medicine prescribed. Within 24 hours of my first dose my ankle began to hurt three days later I read the warnings and realized that it was the medication causing my problems. I discontinued it immediately and emailed my doctor who told me drinking water would flush the medication out of my body. 8 days later I am still limping and scared that my tendon will rupture. This is a nightmare! I shouldn't have even been prescribed it because of my preexisting health condition. So now I'm scheduled to go into my doctor's office tomorrow, but I am pissed! Why do they even prescribe this???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ciprosucks | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'll start off saying I have never had a reaction to medication in my life, and have nka. This is until I was given Cipro for a kidney infection. I should have known better after reading the three pages of warnings, but given my positive track record with medications I figured I'd give it a go, which was a bad decision. The first day on Cipro was mostly uneventful. I did have a small problem with blood sugar levels, but that was expected since it was listed as a possible mild side effect. By day two I started noticing pain in my inner thighs. Not a lot at first, but by day three the tendons in both legs felt like they were on fire. I called my doctor and was told to stop. It's been three days since I stopped taking Cipro and the pain continues. I am unable to sleep unless I pass out from exhaustion. I require assistance with walking, and have difficulty concentrating. I wish I had read the reviews before taking thus stuff. As others have said, you are rolling the dice with Cipro. It really needs to be removed from the market.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2021
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve got diarrhea, severe belching and gas bloating of the stomach that lasted a week until I quit taking it stomach pain. I donâ??t know what type of UTI I had but it was for a UTI Iâ??m hoping itâ??s gone since I didnâ??t take the last two I couldnâ??t handle it it took me several days to get over it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LearnFromMyHell | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 4 pills of cipro, over a month ago. It was supposed to be a 7 day course of it, but it took only 4 pills to completely cripple me. I have been living on the couch, intense pain from my foot tendons, and all kinds of messed up sensations in my hands and feet. From everything I read, this may or may not be permanent, I may or may not rupture my achilles just by walking, I may or may not rupture my aorta... and I won't necessarily know if I escape THOSE side effects for a few years. Because I reacted at all, I'm a ticking time bomb for all of it. I have no words to describe how terrifying it is to live like this, I am so depressed, so frustrated, and so ANGRY. When I reacted, they shrugged and changed me over to Augmentin, which worked fine with NO side effects. If that was an option, there's NO REASON I should ever have been prescribed this poison. It's black boxed in the US, Health Canada has strong warnings for it, you're only supposed to be given it in extremely dire situations... and I knew NONE of this until it was too late.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aprild | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3rd day and my upper back hurts a little. Sometimes I get dizzy . Dont know yet if I should stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not experienced any side effects at all. In fact it gave me energy and i felt better. Im on day 3 of a 5 day prescription 500 mg tabs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cipro and flagyl for first time diverticulitis. After 3 days on meds, I felt much better. On the 4th day I broke out in a rash all around the mid section of my body.I itched like crazy. Never scratched so much in my life.Doctor felt it was not the meds and said to continue the full 10 days. 5th day , rash subsided,itching much less.So I finished. Now I am nauseous in the AM. I feel like eating something will help.But then I just feel more nauseous. By late afternoon,I feel better. I have never vomited, I just feel like I have to.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jalenia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Citrobacter
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not a fan. There are so many other antibiotics with far fewer side effects. I’ve never had an antibiotic give me anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped ease Diverticulitis pain when combined w/ Flagyl however even following the prescribed manner of taking the meds, I developed the worst diarrhea on the 3rd day that I have ever had. Literally, pooped every 30 mins for close to 24 hours before I could reach the MD who discontinued these meds and put me on Augmentin which I am tolerating better. Cipro and Flagyl destroy the natural flora of the bowels. Won't take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/9/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helped ease Diverticulitis pain when combined w/ Flagyl however even following the prescribed manner of taking the meds, I developed the worst diarrhea on the 3rd day that I have ever had. Literally, pooped every 30 mins for close to 24 hours before I could reach the MD who discontinued these meds and put me on Augmentin which I am tolerating better. Cipro and Flagyl destroy the natural flora of the bowels. Won't take again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More