Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

122 People found this comment helpful

I am an MD, and I have about 300 diabetic patients, and I am myself a diabetic. I prescribe and use metformin. The only side effects of note are intestinal problems, and perhaps some patients are more susceptible than others. To decrease or avoid these problems, take metformin with a meal, and eat plenty of fiber; taking psyllium helps decrease gas. Most people here think that anything that happen...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

I took it for polycystic ovary syndrome and being on this medicine almost killed me

Shared reviews and ratings

Peaches541 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/19/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with type two diabetes when I was pregnant with my son. I was devastated. I was instantly put on insulin injections four times a day. Once I had my son I fell waaaay off track. It was easy to eat things that were quick and easy to make but I felt like dookey most the time. I was recently at my OBGYN (who diagnosed me originally) and she prescribed me metformin extended release. I was too scared to take it as I had taken it when I was diagnosed with PCOS at 13, and it made me really sick. Well, I started it again and was told absolutely no carbs for a few hours before and then none after taking it. It’s been AMAZING how it’s reacting with my body! No diarrhea or vomiting, and my blood sugars are beginning to drop back down! Especially my fasting blood sugar. I have also noticed no cravings for sweets or salty foods and my appetite has been very little. Others reviews may scare you but it reacts to everyone’s bodies differently. No sugar or carbs before, or after taking it and you should be good! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dc | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gave it 30 days. So much gut pain seemed to get worse - sludge/ gas/swelling. . I looked 6 months pregnant. - I stopped taking 5 days ago still with pain- sludge. -Dr says it will be like this another 2 weeks. I feel like it might have done irreparable damage to my colon. Pain so bad I thought appendix burst. Missed work- social events. . The last 4 weeks= hell. I was borderline pre diabetic. So can do fine with more exercise weigh 130- best day of my life - Stopping. If my body /digestive system doesn’t return to where it was “carefree - predictable- no gas or weird sludge- I will seek damages. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bobby | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2022
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with pre-diabetic by my doctor. I came to get my blood pressure checked and he added that. I also need to take this medicine. So far I had to say that Metformin HCL 500MG isn't that bad. I found out that my mother-in-law takes the same medicine. She's been taking it for 30 years. But someday she doesn't take it because her body's doing well without it. But she has a machine that counts her sugar. I don't have that in my doctor. Didn't recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ronda Salazar | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Diabetes During Pregnancy
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made be feel crazy all types of emotions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gerry | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/20/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Type 2 diabetes, was prescribed 500mg x2 day with ozempic 0.5. Also, other medications for BP and cholesterol. I have also been prescribed a constant blood monitor (freestyle libre) which allowed greater visibility to glucose levels. The result was oscillating blood glucose levels from 21 to 2 (Hypo to Hyperglysimic) states very quickly when mixed with exercise. Levels could drop from 12+ before starting exercise to 2 in less than 10 minutes. Needless to say, this caused extreme physical and emotional impacts to my person including hospitalization with cardiac symptoms yet to be fully explained. Once I removed the metformin from the equation sugar level are stabilizing even during bouts of exercise. I believe that this was also occurring with the medicine Januvia which contains Metformin. I am unable to prove that as I did have the benefit of a constant glucose monitor at the time but the symptoms were exactly the same less the measurements. Long story short, not sure why it was happening but I would strongly recommend a constant glucose monitor so you can monitor blood glucose in near real-time. Be aware that fluctuations of this nature could/will cause adverse involuntary behaviors.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2022
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with diabetes and my doc had me take 500 mg twice and day and then after a week - 1000 mg twice a day. I have survived two weeks and she is stopping it because I got a bad rash (possible allergic reaction). We will try something new if the side effects go away and she knows it was from this med. It made me so sick to my stomach, with horrible stomach issues and diarrhea. I have had no appetite and the smell of food was awful. I hope there is something better out there!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The purpose of me getting on this medication is because I’m 23 years old and I was diagnosed with an ovulation. My doctor said it might be PCOS but I don’t have any other symptoms except for not ovulating. Okay so I’ve only been on this medication for a few days. So far it’s been okay the only thing I’ve noticed is that it makes me go to the bathroom ALOT and whenever I eat anything it makes my stomach hurt. My periods are normal and I got my period at the beginning of January. However, I went to the bathroom today and noticed spotting. Is this normal idk? My hope is that this medication helps me ovulate so that I’m able to get pregnant . I’ll keep everyone posted. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pebbles01 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/6/2021
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started out ok. No diarrhea, just stomachache. But after a week I started feeling like I was having low blood sugar. Like I was going to faint. After stopping, it took over a week to feel somewhat normal. All in all this is one of the worst drugs I have taken.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pebbles01 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2021
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with prediabetes. Dr put me on metformin and told me to take it 2 weeks 1 x day. 1st day not bad, 2nd day stomachach and general not feeling right. From day 2 have improved back to normal except I have no appetite, but Dr told me about that. No diarrhea, but I take other meds that cause constipation, so I feel better in that sense lol. I am a week in so won't know about tests for 3 months. Have cut out candy, chips etc but I have been drinking 1 can Coke a day and now have gone down to mini cans. I've seen reviews that say eating bad can cause bad reaction. Not with me and i have not changed my diet as much as cut back all the obvious bad things. I'm doing the best I can and hopefully it will show at 3 month tests. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doris | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/1/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes in March and have been taking Metformin for 7 months. It did not control my blood sugar effectively, and the side effects were almost debilitating - severe chronic diarrhea and weight loss. I was unwilling to continue Metformin and discussed other options with my doctor. She took me off Metformin and prescribed Glipizide. I realize Metformin works for many patients, but not for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LivingwithT2D | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/19/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking for years now. 500mg twice a day, same time every day. Initial diarrhea went away in due time. Lost a little weight, A1C went down. A staple of my med. routine. It works well with Invokana (oral) and Ozempic injectable I also take.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RM | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/18/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking for 3 months already once a day 500MG so far good results A1C down 200 to avg 125 usually ... if I eat lite bf I feel good no effects But I take dose eat nothing til lunch Gas + gurgling tummy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/12/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have IBS. This RX caused me to have severe stomach pain and diarhhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JaeBird | 13-18 | Female | Patient
10/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed as insulin resistant and was at one point pre-diabetic, started taking this and originally the stomach issues were minimal,but I did eventually stop taking it as I was on keto and my mom wanted me taken off it for a bit. I began to exercise a bit and continue dirty keto then my doctor told me I was no longer pre-diabetic. Now my gynecologist has put me on this to regulate my body weight(I guess) and insulin resistance,so my periods and things like that will become normal,but this medicine has made my life hell. Constant stomach pain when I eat anything involving sugars like dessert or drink a soda,constant stomach issues like diarrhea and nausea. My mom's fiancee is experiencing similar issues such as diarrhea. I stopped taking it for a few days while on vacation so I could enjoy myself and I felt amazing,hoping my doctor can find me a substitute.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denize | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took first dose for dinner 2 hours later felt the earge to sit on the commode nothing. 20mins later I almost didn't make it to the toilet diarrhea was intense. My stomach cramp so bad. while I was peeing sh*t from my butt. Then I started to vomiting. Yes its coming out from both ends at the same time.. I cried ??. This went on for another 2 hours. How do people go about the there daily life after taking this med?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First day of taking this Med… I notice the itching and hives after taking it, so I thought that was going to be the worse, boy was I wrong. In the middle of the night, at 2a the party got started. Not in a good way! Nausea, vomiting and diarrhea at the same time. Had to use the toilet with a trash can in front of me. Severe cold sweats, the pain was unbearable. My husband thought I came down with a virus infection, like Covid. I’d rather go into labor! Stay away from this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Better | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/14/2021
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken as prescribed. Along with added exercise and a better diet my daily average blood sugar dropped from 200+ to the 125 area. No major side effects, just a bit more gassy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you have any prior GI issues, do NOT take this medicine. In the days I took it I had multiple issues with almost any GI issue you could imagine. Additionally, this medicine caused me to have low blood sugar. If I could give it 0 stars I would.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cant chit | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

tryed this med an it constipates me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dotsy99 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/15/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

500mg twice daily so far no side effects apart from appetite supressing which is a good thing. Dont know how effective it is yet as im only on it so far so good happy days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More