Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

59 People found this comment helpful

I take this for polycystic ovarian syndrome. It literally changed my life for the better in so many ways. Dealing with stomach upset is most definitely an issue but this is totally outweighed by the positive health effects.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have Cysts on my ovaries and I take Glucophage I bacame pregnant about a year ago and it ended in a misscarraige. The doctor has me on provera also, anyway I was wondering should I still be taking the provera?? Will Glucophage give me my periods??? You can send me an email if you would like. Heather

Shared reviews and ratings

Sam | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2017
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Metformin 500 twice a day for one month. It seem to lower my sugar. And I lost weight But, that was because I developed Stomach pain,could'nt eat and Diarrhea, some very dark in color. When I stopped it all went away. This was recommended as a drug with less side effects. Now I'm afraid to try another.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me2017 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2016
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Metformin was prescribed by my doctor. After a day and a half of taking this drug w/ meals I got severe stomach pain and tinnitus in one ear. 2 days after I went to the ER with the stomach pain. 4 days after stomach pain cleared up but the tinnitus is the same. I never had any complications before taking this and my BS were not high to begin with. My doctor noticed my yearly blood work labs had slight elevation with my fasting bs. He put me on Metformin because of it. I quit after the side effects. What gets rid of the tinnitus? B 12? I've read lots of diabetic forums detailing tinnitus as a effect of this drug yet it's not listed on the FDARead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zeba | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/4/2015
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has bought a good change to my health condition. i have PCOS and my doctor recommended me Bigomet(metformin extended release tablets) 2 times a day. I used to have stomach upset whenever i used to eat from outside. After reading the reviews here, i think it was due to the consumption of this medicine or may be not. But now its normal. After six months of consumption, i did my internal scanning and the result was positive. Doctor reviewed and said there is a lot of improvement in my condition. Metformin helped me loose my weight as well. Along with my diet and excercise i was able to loose 17 kgs. Now i am trying to conceive and i hope i become a proud and happy mother soon. Thanks to my Doc. Alhamdullilah!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Type -2 diabitic | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/23/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As per the physician recommendation I was taking 750 mg after dinner later they advice me to increase the 1500mg but the sugar level fasting showing 180 .please advice weather to continue the same medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bassaniobroke | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am prediabetic A1c=5.8 was admitted to ER for intestinal obstruction (unknown reason) there they had my blood sugar figures coming into diabetic range. (may be it was due to steroid they injected once before CT scan to stop reaction from dye). long story short, my obstruction relieved and I was discharged with instruction to take metformin 500 mg once at bedtime along wiht norvasc 10mg and zocor 10mg. Metformin made my life a living hell. My appetite vanished, had nausea all the time, had no interest in eating any thing even food that I loved was of no interest to me. this resulted in severe constipation and gas in my stomach which was not coming out. I felt like I was again having obstruction, because when you dont pass gas that is sign of obstruction. There was no benefit in blood sugar levels, they were 140 mg/dl fasting and 180 mg/dl two hours after meal. On 12th day I was fedup and stopped metformin. with in two days my appetite returned, stool become normal, locking and inflation of gas in stomach eased. Ironically, now when my stools are regular my blood sugar has come down and it was 106 mg/dl fasting in the morning (though have diet control, only complex carbs). Now I have reckon that when my figures to up in future this med is not a choice for me and I have to control my sugar with diet and exercise only. My body is sensitive to many of meds and I will only live natural life without med, upto the day the God has granted me life. Good bye to Doctors and good bye to your Meds which complicates things rather then improve. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Herodotus | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After 2 or 3 days taking it, it lowered my glucose levels from 140 to 115, but had to quit taking this medicine because it upset my stomach very much, made me very weak and made my body ache, a week later I tried it again but with the same discomfort so I quit it for good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Richard | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Keeps sugar too high

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jodo | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/17/2014
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was always told that this med would prevent weight loss. Now, I'm reading the opposite. What is the true story?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/19/2013
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
L.M. | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
11/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Patient selection is critical to safe use of any medication. Adverse events in that case were likely AVOIDABLE. This drug is usually described as WEIGHT NEUTRAL!!! Google evidence based guidelines for accurate and up-to-date information.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soliel839 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/30/2013
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently take Glucaphage ER 1500 daily for poly cystic ovaries... I been taking it for over 8 years. I love the fact that this medication works, consistant periods, weigh loss, regular bowel movements and reduced acne flareups however, don't skip a couple of days then get back on it. The gas and abdmonial bloating is so painful! I wish this pill was acutually smaller, taking 3 500mg tablets daily is stressful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
8/28/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buggyducjk | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Resulted in uncontrolled bowel movement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began with 1 a day, then 2, then 3, then 4, back to 3 where I am now. This occurred over a 10 year period. Glyburide was added beginning with lowest dose, then 5 mg. where I am now - for the past 2 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mashugana | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/26/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on glucophage 500mg twice a day for 10 years recently my dr doubled dose ac1 levels 6.1 /7 2000 mg daily it caused severe gi problems dehydration severe abdominal pain sending me to er bloating gas diareaha vomiting many tests were scheduleded including catscan with dye requring me to stop taking it. 2days after stopping meds my stomache quit hurting bloating gone diareaha nausea also gone this is the best I have felt in years .I am stopping the glucophage completelyRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jmechanic5 | Male | Patient
9/13/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't have any problems taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
7/12/2012
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cocoa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/9/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Last A1C 6.7. I take 1000mg twice daily for last 2 years. Can not seem to lose any weight. Have gained 20 lbs. arounf syomach area. I feel tired, painful muscles, have just recently been dx. fibromyalgia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Renee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2012
Condition: Prevention of Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The diarhea started immediately on the first does that I took with a meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMP | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/12/2012
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 48years old.I have been using glucophage (500mg x 2times/Daily) for the past 5 years to control diabetes type 2, I never experienced any side effects.now doctor has advised me to take 3pills of 500mg a day since my HbA1c value was above 7%.So far, I am happy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More