Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

25 People found this comment helpful

HIGH POTASSIUM --prescribed 2 650mg tabs twice a day due to high acid level in blood, after 3 days potassium level was normal again. Hope it keeps working.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

not sure

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
7/31/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eating alka seltzer probably means low sodium levels. I'd suggest having a electrolyte test run 2 times a year or more. Once the sodium levels get up too high it may suppress potassium. Keep everything in balance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Annie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
8/17/2016
Condition: Excess Body Acid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Someone pls help! I tried the baking soda and now my urine is a dark green but my stomach is hurting like crap and I don't have bm s any more. Pls tell me what to do!!! I just tried it once and it even hurts to walk/move

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
C-Ann-C | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2016
Condition: Excess Body Acid
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking this medication as prescribed recently from a specialty doctor from the VA medical center, Charleston, SC. I'm on my 1st week, so I have yet to notice significant changes or noticeable differences since not taking it before. The doctor prescribed it to lower some acidic levels in my urinalysis reports to see if this will work. But WebMD is showing how this drug interacts with others, as in taking Lisinopril or even lower dose 81mg aspirins. By taking this with the other meds, it decreases my kidney function while it may increase low blood pressure, so be sure to check this drug with other meds you are taking Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2016
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/6/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in menopause and have cravings to take bites of alka seltzer until it is gone. I have been "eating" it for about a year now, about 1 pack (2 tablets) everyday. Could this be doing anything to my health?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/20/2014
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from frequent indigestion. baking soda mixed with water, ( as per instructions) works nearly all the time and much quicker than antacids you buy in the store, which I find are only about 40% effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
katiemay | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: Uric Acid Kidney Stones
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The side effects are terrible. I have swelling in my hands, feet/ankls, bloating, gas and puffiness and weight gain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chi | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/16/2013
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HIGH POTASSIUM --prescribed 2 650mg tabs twice a day due to high acid level in blood, after 3 days potassium level was normal again. Hope it keeps working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/23/2012
Condition: Renal Tubular Acidosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Rash on upper body and arms that is very itchy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/28/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

prolonged diarrhea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beesknees | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2010
Condition: Excess Body Acid
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My urologist told me that this would not raise my blood pressure. He may not have realized that I have hypertension. My blood pressure has increased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sernst0524 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/25/2009
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this, along with Potassium, Calcium, and other vitamins because my electrolytes get out of balance due to chronic diahhrea (celiac sprue disease).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kimmie1960 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2009
Condition: Uric Acid Kidney Stones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had kidney stones and infections & diarrhea for the past 3yrs something awful. To the point ICU almost had a heart attack,potassium levels all out of balance,Electrolytes so messed up.They have put me on this medicine and for the first time everything has balanced out. The past 3 yrs have been a nightmare.So hats off to this med.& God.I can live a normal life out of ICU & the hospital.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
terry | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not sure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
2/19/2009
Condition: Renal Tubular Acidosis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

am just starting it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More