Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

my miracle drug! I have Hiatal Hernia with Reflux Esophagitis, I've tried pretty much everything else and only get temporary relief + diahrea, but with one 30mg Lansoprazole capsule every morning I have no symtoms at all, and I eat whatever I want with no ill effects. my stomach feels 18 again !

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I've been using Prevacid for over 15 yrs and never had an issue. With change of insurance Previcid now cost me $180 for three month thru Welldyn. Btw, which is a horrible company to deal with. After using lansoprazole oral for a month. I'm gassy, bloated and uncomfortable all day. Plus the medicine is less effective than the name brand Previcid.

Shared reviews and ratings

Wmichelle | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on lansoprazole for 3 months but recently I have started getting nasty burning taste in my mouth as anyone else had this and total loss of appetite. And it burns when I eat drink and brush my teeth. Any feedback will be great please.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matthew Croston | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Increased Stomach Acid from Systemic Mastocytosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The word is "Miracle"! My life before was misery and constant pain. Even a glass of water made me cringe in pain. Now, for over 15 years, I eat, drink and have normal digestion pain free. Thank you doctor's and or chemists.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mysteriomonkie | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Different drugs effect different people in a variety of ways I've tried Omeprazole and Pantoprazole and had a terrible time with them. Lansoprazole is not without it's drawbacks, for me, but I've had an overall positive experience with it. Positives: No reflux Barely notice I've taken it Feel alright on it Negatives: Neck pain Blocked nose Fatigue Overall it's been OK at 30mg in the morning and evening......your mileage may vary

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with mycarditis, have been taking for about a week 1 dose. I’ve increased now to 2 doses, however after 2 days initially taking this medication I’ve had awful stomach pain, severe diarrhoea, loss of appetite. Cannot eat anything but plain bread, plain chicken, rice, banana. Stil this will cause problems but this medication was not worth the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sudha | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After ablation this was given as precautionary medicine 30 mg empty stomach. Within two days I got severe diaria but just water comes out. Feel sick and weak. No appetite. I did not know what to do. Have called my doctor after 7 days. Will stop it. Very drastic effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phoebe | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2021
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor has been trying to find out what has been causing my excessive indigestion and belching, nausea and loose bowels (no luck so far). I have been put on Lansoprazole again for now x2 a day. It’s been helping a bit with the indigestion but is now causing severe nausea and diarrhoea. Just doesn’t feel worth taking with these side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/30/2017
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine worked for about 6 weeks and then my acid reflux came back even harder. Don't understand.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MFD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/9/2016
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

cured the severe acid reflux but within 2 weeks of use I started suffering very severe diarrhea, up to 5 times a day. The GP insisted that it wasn't the medication and tested me from Crohns, gluten allergies all with negative outcome. Eventually I took myself off the medication and the diarrhea stopped. Now on Pantoprazole with no problems 3 months in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ARZ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/30/2015
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got projectile diarrhea from this drug and my stomach had cramps which made me double over. This lasted so long I thought I would die. I read an extra sheet the pharmacist included in my last refill and it says not to take for more than 2 weeks- ever. What are our doctors doing to us. I stopped it last week. No belly pain, no bloating, no diarrhea. We must stop this drug from being given. Don 't docs read literature. It's time to take over and shut this down. Don't start to take it, stop taking it. All I have now is a little heartburn which I want my Zantac back. Contact your doc or get a different one. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Murphtunes | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Main treatment for my Barrett's esophagus. I take 30 MG twice a day for three years and have only had a couple short episodes of reflux. Whereas prior I was sleeping siting up in a recliner and unable to eat many of the same foods as my family. Some impact on regularity and stool consistency, but relative to the benefits I'm quite pleased.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2015
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Prevacid for over 15 yrs and never had an issue. With change of insurance Previcid now cost me $180 for three month thru Welldyn. Btw, which is a horrible company to deal with. After using lansoprazole oral for a month. I'm gassy, bloated and uncomfortable all day. Plus the medicine is less effective than the name brand Previcid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mumma | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/17/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Acid reflux has decreased with this and the use of Ranitidine at bedtime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
drmoazzam | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/23/2014
Condition: Conditions of Excess Stomach Acid Secretion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2014
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bookie515 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2014
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For years was taking prescription Prevacid then went generic Prevacid pink/purple Lansoprazole capsule and still had great results. My first 30 days of using this pink Mylan generic crap and I have to take it twice a day to keep from having acid reflux.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dankimnc | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this generic form of Prevacid 30mg, does not work. Previously was on generic Mylan 8030, not a problem for years!!! Within a couple of days taking this Sandoz Pharm. pill, I'm miserable with reflux, nausea, burning in chest and stomach, gas, burping. I'am contacting my mail order pharmacy (Caremark) tomorrow to discuss getting something else that has worked. Very disappointed and not happy with this Sandoz Pharm., generic version of 30 Prevacid Delayed Release.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
astec | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment works for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/6/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has worked as well as the Prevacid that my insurance company no longer covers. I received a special allowance for coverage by participating in a study. I do not have any of the listed side effects. I am concerned about my long term usage. I have been on a proton pump inhibitor now for 6 years. Nexium almost killed me. I will be checking my bone density soon. Magnesium levels have been fine, but I do take a multivite regularly. Never changed my diet, occasional drink, no break-through. I am on 30 mg daily, take it in the morning with my coffee. My esophagus healed with little to no scarring. Due for another scoping, and researching the magnetic bead ring for permanent, medicine free relief.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2013
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dr just changed me from dexilant to this, not too happy with the results

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More