Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I was in fear of drowning in my sleep. Almost every night, burning sludge would push up into my mouth and wake me. During the day, it was like fire in my chest, and it didn't matter how little or how bland I ate. After years of suffering with over-the-counter items that didn't work, I finally mentioned it to my doctor. 100% fixed, absolutely no more problems, no matter what I eat. Concerning the c...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

Since starting Prevacid & stopping Ranitidine, my symptoms have gotten worse.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/1/2021
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extreme abdominal pain and nausea drowiness diaherra

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2019
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works ok. Get mild nausea throughout the day. I read many are paying hundreds for this medication. I received a 90 day supply using Good RX for $26.00

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Muse2027 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/27/2015
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Some things I have learned that I wish I had known. First its not normal to have acid reflux all the time. If I had spent time finding out why instead of putting a bandage on it I would have learned. 1. I was allergic to certain foods that were behind the severe heartburn. Gluten and Dairy. 2. I had chronic constipation which was a side effect I believe from Prevacid. I tried nexium only to loose all my magnesium and calcium in my body which left me with pain muscle spasms and severe fatigue. If you still have heartburn after taking these drugs or stomach pain look for foods that cause it too. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toya | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/29/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have acide reflux for over 10 years and just recently started have spasms in my esophagus. I was on everything. Nexium stopped working for me. Lansoprasole or Previd 30 mg works great. I do supplement with herbs. I drink peppermint tea after meals to soothe my gastroinestinal tract. Also I recommend taking a calcium/magnesium supplement to keep the side effects away. I also use a magnesium oil at night after my shower which helps for the muscle weakness and heart palpitations.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve54 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/21/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have used over 10 years and now the insurance company wants us to use generic which is not effective and too expensive

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
breezy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2014
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After two days I had some blisters here and there, after a week I was broke out in hives. This is NOT for me! Cost me another Dr's visit and meds to correct the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/31/2014
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication works very well for reducing heart burn. I have used the OTC product for 7 years. The side effects have been diarrhea and a mild stomach ache that comes and goes throughout the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Omarsmom1 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2014
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great for a few weeks but then I got a rash that started out mild and even though I stopped taking the medication it continued all over my body.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
roboto1720 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2013
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had severe stomach pain to the point that I missed 2 days work. It was a horrible pain that kept me awake for two days. Other than that it did a great job ridding the acid reflux.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
painfuljointsincalifornia | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/18/2013
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication by my doctor and I took it to protect my stomach after a car accident where I suffered a broken wrist-he was worried the pain medication and anti inflammatory would cause an ulcer. I also suffer from acid reflux. I've been taking it for over 5 years. I started by prescription taking two pills and then switched to one pill when it was offered over the counter. The drug has caused some of the most painful upper body pain in my joints-specifically in my elbows, shoulders and neck. I also experienced a situation where my tongue would have these shooting hot sensations. The medication lists the pains as "side effects" I consider it unacceptable to have traded getting heartburn for not being able to sleep or engage in normal physical activities. I am only 50-the medication made me feel as if my bones were that of a 100 year old. Don't take this medication. I believe it's dangerous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/2/2013
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

While this drug did help my condition it caused horrible muscle aches so bad I had trouble walking. However I was taking a larger dose than the manufacturer recommends. My doctor had me take it twice a day and after the first month on 2 pills the muscle aches and cramping started. I had to stop taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/21/2013
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't sleep at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samantha | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 60 mg of prevacid a day for about 5-6 months. It is the first PPI that has actually helped me some. I still have acid and pain and trouble eating, but it is a lot better. I have suffered from GERD my whole life. This drug works great for teens!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i DO FEEL INCREASED MUSCLE/JOINT PAIN,FATIGUE, AND DIZZYNESS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2013
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was having frequent heartburn after eating anything that continued for weeks after having had the flu. The product worked immediately the first day and for two weeks while taking it have had no incidents of heartburn.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janet | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2013
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great for three day's. Started itching all over an coughing, some of the side effects. Had to stop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SelenaMagic814 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/21/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Saved my life. Lost 70 pounds and thought I was dying, until diagnosed with Chronic GastroEsophageal Reflux. Was given Prevacid and while it took a long time to work and for the erosion to heal, I was eventually feeling better. I could eat pizza again! A single missed dose and my symptoms return, but I'm ok with being on this for the rest of my life. It's been 8 years with no ill effects whatsoever. If you have severe stomach acid issues, Prevacid will change your life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/10/2013
Condition: Excessive Production of Stomach Acid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now have a constant persistant cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More