Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

It helps to relieve the eye pressure, therefore saving me from a lot of bad headaches.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

My doctor tried me on this medication. I started having a rapid heart beat and skipping beats. Had a few emergency room visits, costly ones, before it was determined that Timolol caused the heart problems. My blood pressure meds were changed with every ER visit. It cost me tons of money on the Co-Pays. Who knew an eye drop could cause cardiac problems? Now I use Marijuana exclusively, with a presc...

Shared reviews and ratings

KCP | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2021
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The timolol worked well for eye pressure but the dosage was too high and no way to decrease. The beta blocked caused my blood pressure from hypertension to drop too much, causing low BP and fatigue. If there were a lower dose available, it would have solved problem of ocular pressure and BP, eliminating need of oral meds for high BP. Unfortunately, I had to switch to another eyedrops which causes headaches and eye muscle pain and take an oral beta blocker & other med for my High BP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Rick | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/21/2016
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using this due to high pressure in the eye after a corneal transplant due to Fuchs. I do get some minor itching, but I contribute that to it and probably along with the Travatan and Lodemox working. It isn't too bad and definitely better than the pain I had before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NANCYB | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/4/2016
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began using this eye drop twice a day am and pm along with Zioptan in pm for ocular hypertension in May 2016. Brought the pressure way down so was taken off Zioptan. Now, however, the skin around both eyes is red, irritated and crusty even though I apply Aquaphor around both eyes before using the drops. Vision has become blurred also. Took myself off this for a while and returned to just Zioptan untilthe irritation around eyes clears. Do not return to opthamalogist until Feb. 2016 when will report side-effects to him.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stu | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Closed Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i feel as tough there is a stone in my eye

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/23/2014
Condition: Increased Eye Pressure caused by Another Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe drowiness when started eye drops. Very unlike me to have take several naps and unable to drive as I feel asleep at the wheel.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused me to have blurry vision, unable to wear my contacts, red eyes and swollen eye lids and swelling under the eyes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fred | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/28/2010
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug caused my heart rate to drop to 40 beats a minute. He took it along with Xalatan. For two years) Doctor said stop taking the Timolol. No one at the eye doctor caught this because they never took his BP. It was caught by his regular doctor. Eye doctors need to check you Blood Pressure and heart rate as well as Just Your Eyes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2010
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor tried me on this medication. I started having a rapid heart beat and skipping beats. Had a few emergency room visits, costly ones, before it was determined that Timolol caused the heart problems. My blood pressure meds were changed with every ER visit. It cost me tons of money on the Co-Pays. Who knew an eye drop could cause cardiac problems? Now I use Marijuana exclusively, with a prescription, and two puffs three times a day keeps my IOPs at 18 and 20. No Side Effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mumof3kidz | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/8/2010
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Timolol to use along with Travatan Z.The results of my pressure tests are good but I have itchiness in my eyes before Iplace either my am or pm drop in my eyes. My eyes often feel very dry and I get headaches almost daily from this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Barbara | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/2/2010
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Patient
9/27/2009
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bananie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/29/2009
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DARLINDI | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/23/2009
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I USED THIS FOR ABOUT 20 YRS. IT WAS GREAT BUT I HAD TO STOP BECAUSE IT WAS CAUSING MY HEART TO SKIP BEATS [WHICH I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT TILL I HAD A ECOCARDIAGRAM] I WAS SURPRIZED CAUSE I HAD NO ILL FEELINGS. WISH I COULD STILL USE IT CAUSE IT WAS THE ONLY DROP THAT DIDN'T MAKE MY EYES BURN AND STING AND GET RED.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ivy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/22/2008
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gave this 5 stars because it worked perfectly for me for 20+ years. However, lately, the pressure started creeping up to the point where I have had to add another eyedrop with the timoptic. The pressure is coming down again. But, overall, never a problem with the timoptic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jeanice | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/8/2007
Condition: High Eye Pressure or Glaucoma that May Worsen without Treatment
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps to relieve the eye pressure, therefore saving me from a lot of bad headaches.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More