Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I broke out with a rash after starting this medacation,is this normal?

Shared reviews and ratings

Bill | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Amlodipine-Benazepril 10-20 mg for about 4 months. It has worked well for controlling my blood pressure. I am having one nuance side effect. My Bowel movement have changed from well formed to mushy and sticky. I have also experience a great uptick in gas. BM's which were usually once or twice a day have changed to 3-4 times a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Made me start urinating every 10 mins 24/7. Made me very tired. Made me feel like I had the flu. Not good for me at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chatycat | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 5mg. once a day for high BP with other BP pills it has cause swelling in ankles, feet,hands and upper body,also weight gain!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/18/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Knee pain, leg pain, breathless, tired all the time. Quit taking and feel great. All pain is gone and no longer out of breath climbing stairs. It was poison!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LEIGH | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/16/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I NORMALLY TAKE AVAPRO FOR MY HBP BUT SUDDENLY I WAS GETTING HIGH READINGS AND HAVING STRONG DIZZINESS SO THE DR GAVE ME THIS NEW MED TO TAKE AT BEDTIME. SHE SAID IT WOULD HELP ME SLEEP AND LOWER BP IT DID NOT I Wwas AWAKE ALL NIGHT AND READING THIS AM WAS ONLY A LITTLE LOWER. I WILL CALL PA NOwW WILL NOT USE AGASIN I NEED MY SLEEP

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GW | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/6/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My high blood pressure has dropped significantly although I do feel tired a lot since being on this medication and after about 2-3 months my erections have really suffered. I've lost about 2 inches on my boner and I am no longer stiff as a board. It also takes a lot more for me to get an erection when normally I look at my wife and I'm standing at attention. This is very disappointing to me as I am still very sexually active. My wife says she doesn't notice a difference but I sure do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
charlotte | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood Pressure was not responding to my old medications and we switched to this combo. Blood pressure was down from 160 to 115-120 in a matter to days. Blood pressure is right where we wanted it to be for my age. Very pleased with the results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/8/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on meds for hypertension for over 40 years. have taken many kinds. Was on amlodipine alone and no longer worked; went to higher dose but had lots of swelling on my feet. Switched to this and blood pressure dropped, no more swelling. No diuretic needed any more. Awesome!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen | 75 or over | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/11/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on drug since 1992 (25 Yrs.). Very satisfied. Works perfectly for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bloodork | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blood pressure went down literally overnight from 170 to 120

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/1/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked well on the blood pressure, but have painful swelling in ankles and feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/17/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TerryMJ | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/23/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed for extreme high BP, after a week on it, my BP has lowered dramatically , however i have tge dry cough that is making it nearly impossible to sleep at night, no dizziness or swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bev | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/11/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

feel a little light headed after taking it but i lay down it goes away make sure you eat with it it helps

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
starshipraleigh | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/7/2015
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took 5 mg at night. Within two days I was feeling "off", not dizzy, but not totally together. The longer I was on it the worse the symptoms got. I had to pay attention to where I was placing my feet or I would get off kilter (indoors on flat floors), be careful going down stairs. I would bump into walls. My gain widened for balance. I was vaguely nauseous. I finally had to tell my doctor I needed to stop taking it when I was coming up concrete porch steps and lost my balance luckily grabbing the railing and not falling backwards. As for my Blood Pressure it was great! But I wasn't willing to risk a fractured hip or skull.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
M.ASLAM KHOKHAR | 65-74 | Male | Patient
11/14/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BY USING amlodipine besilate (lodopine 10 mg) swalloing on lower parts legs (pindli) has occured. pl advise. Regards

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Amlodipine | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/16/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

may I use this drug for blood pressure/heart as I am out of Metoprolol

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kathyhaley35 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is poison to you

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CountryRefuge | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My systolic was jumping over 200 while on daily doses of Lisinopril HTC 20/25, Linsinopril 20mg and Atenolol 25 mg. My Dr. added Amlodipine 10 mg. I hated the way it made me feel from the beginning, but at about the 8-week mark I told my Dr. that it was exacerbating almost every Fibromyalgia symptom I had. Given it was a time of year when the weather was tough with fibro, we agreed I'd stay on it longer. Around 4 months I began to notice some edema in my ankle. At 5 months I developed so much pain in my hands that I virtually couldn't use them. My rheumatologist and family doctor consulted back and forth for a month--meanwhile my BP had still been running high 170's/90's. Finally the Amlodipine was reduced by half. After 1 week on the reduced dose, I was not having any reduction of the pain in my hands, so I called my doctor and told her that I refused to take the Amlodopine any longer. After another 10 days off it, my hands were still very painful. At the present time, I am on prednisone, but have not been able to taper that out to the lowest dose before discontinuing it. To be clear: For me, the Amlodipine caused a build-up of fluid in every joint of my hands and wrists; that felt like my hands were going to explode. The visible edema was not significant, but that wasn't what every joint was telling me. I hope that my experience is very uncommon, and not applicable to you! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More