Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I was currently on a regime of Adderall 20mgs 3xday. I switched to XR Dexedrine 15mgs 2xday. The difference is night and day. It seemed like Adderall had ups and downs on my ability to concentrate and stay on task. While Dexedrine seemed a lot more level throughout that day with no dips in concentration and staying on task.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

In my opinion on child should be put on this drug it is to strong, and will result in your child becoming an burnt out and lazy adult like me. Please don't overstimulate you child and make them an burt out schitzphrenic like me... see i cant even remember how to spell schitzophrenicketresed

Shared reviews and ratings

adhdd | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/6/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely changed my life. I'm no longer in a fog all the time, i can actually get up and do what needs to be done, my thoughts are clear and contempt for the first time ever. Side effects: rapid HR, sweating, sleep issues if taken late in the day and loss of appetite, but mostly all is under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medicine in the summer of 1989, when I was 9 years old. Two weeks later, my family and I went to Disneyland. While riding the Star Tours ride, I had a hallucination as a result of all the shaking and flashing lights. I could hear someone sing the scarecrow song from "The Wizard of Oz" in another language that I couldnt identify. That was followed by a flash of bright color then a quick rush to the head that felt like someone had just lit a cherry bomb inside my head. This was followed by a terrible headache and blurry vision that lasted ten minutes. This happened every time I ran, it was a little hot, or if I got shook(riding horses, getting spun around in the air by my dad etc.). That fall it happened during PE, and it was so intense I dropped to the floor. My parents got me to a doctor, tests were ran on me the whole next week. It was determined that Dexedrine was the cause. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dqrisz | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Caregiver
4/9/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son took Dexedrine from age 7 thru high school. It was a life-saver. He was able to focus, slow down enough to think before taking action. My only regret is my son chose not to continue with it into adult life. He needs it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bug | 19-24 | Female | Patient
2/6/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been incredibly helpful in managing my ADHD (inattentive). Its made a huge difference in my focus, memory, impulse control, and mood and energy regulation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/2/2019
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jdg85 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/2/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm combination studying very helpful drug insufflation probably should have been given to me a long time ago my voice fallacy wires hid the young people of

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
highschool nig:) | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2017
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WHY IS THIS NOT THE FIRST THING DOCTORS PRESCRIBE? Honestly the best thing. Grades went from 50 to 85's in 2 months!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
10/21/2016
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just wish that the stigma didn't make it so hard for people, who need it, to get. Its not as though this has helped our country's drug epidemic. It really does help me be a more functional human being. Its like my brain waves normally vary from FM to AM and this makes it XM-style crystal clear. I even notice about two weeks of improved function after not having access to the medication. Then sadly it all comes back... Finding a doctor willing to prescribe to an adult is much more difficult than it used to be and my last doctor was very old and started having health problems. Since then I have moved and the 3 months that seems standard to wait to be seen (poor peoples' insurance) coupled with the ADD is an obstacle to treatment in and of itself. I have spent the last couple of hours researching potentially more accessible alternatives, but the truth is, for me, this is certainly the gold standard.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lavender rrr | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this about 4 months ago in combination with Wellbutrin XL and Ativan. My doctor prescribed it for my depression since SSRIs and SNRIs haven't really worked for me and the highest dose of Wellbutrin still didn't get me to a stable point. I really like it so far, I don't dread getting out of bed as much anymore and my overall mood has improved, My depression and even my anxiety a bit because I can finally focus enough to actually use coping skills. I was in college when I started taking it and my grades went from low 60s to mid 80s within a week, I stopped living miserably in my own filth because I finally have the energy to clean and get things done now instead of sleeping all day. I have had some side effects, it seems to make me a bit irritable at times, and sometimes aggravates my anxiety, not to the point that i've had to increase my Ativan dose though. It also doesn't seem to mix well with alcohol and makes me smoke more and eat less, but overall I'd say it's effective. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PsyTech | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/10/2015
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has truly helped make my brain run as if it were a completely different organ in itself. I find myself calm but able to focus at work and school. I am on two pills per day once upon waling and one after lunch.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kavalla | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have refractory depression. Meaning I dont respond to traditional antidepressants. After four MDs and 12 different drugs about a year ago an MD suggested 20mg of dexedrine. It literally saved my life. It may not be for everyone but when all else fails .... the last 14 months of my life have been a miracle!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/16/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use it for the inattentive type of ADD. Just started about a month ago. At first I didn't know if it worked or not until I realized I now learn in class when I didnt before. The side effects have brought me down though. I get diarrhea, nausea and vomit(I usually only vomit if I am in a situation I perceive as stressful, like tests). The diarrhea really gets to me sometimes, I miss class bc of it, but this is the only medicine that has helped my ADD and bc of that has also helped my depression. Not too fond of it but I guess it's better than the alternativeRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
unconqueredmind | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 30-yr-old male diagnosed with severe - ADHD aged 29. Been on Dexedrine IR 15mg x 3 daily for 2 months and I find it a superb medication for controlling impulsivity. Very few side-effects and unlike Ritalin IR if I miss or am late taking my next dose I don't get that deflated, low feeling. It really is a smooth ride all the way. Probably the best ADHD-stimulant med for controlling restlessness and thus results in a significant improvement in my day to day organisation. My ability to concentrate on tasks is now within the spectrum of normal, in fact I'd say at the top end of normal. My only criticism is that for me it's slightly less motivating than Ritalin so if your a daydreaming procrastinator maybe that might be a better choice. However I find Dexedrine improves my ability to multi-task whereas Ritalin decreases it because it forces me to lock-on to a task like a robot. All in all, both meds are highly effective, similar, and safe.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
catsback54 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/25/2014
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NextKlenneration | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/27/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you also suffer from depression, I personally do not recommend dexedrine. Started taking 5mg twice a day my junior year of college after being diagnosed ADD. Upon first use I believed it was a wonder drug, I had tons of energy and I could actually concentrate. Worked great for about 1/2 year, then started building up a dependence. Started on 10mg twice a day eventually. If I missed a dose I would fall into a deep depression. Destroyed my appetite, made me feel generally unhealthy after 6 months use. I really don't think this drug should be prescribed at all. There's a reason it's a schedule II narcotic. It makes you feel *too* good. I am convinced that this drug completely re-wired my brain, now whenever I have a stimulant such as caffeine, I go into hyper-euphoria mode for about an hour, then crash with huge amounts of fatigue and depression. I would recommend any other add stimulant over this. There is a reason this drug is hardly prescribed anymore.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TERR | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
11/13/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I NEED TO KNOW IF 30MG 2 X A DAY FOR ADULT IS NORMAL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Big Texas | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/30/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a wonderful medication, it has helped me so much with not only ADHD, but with anxiety. That's right, the medication has a calming effect along with its ability to increase my attention and concentration. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has ADHD with a co-morbid anxiety disorder, because other medications like Adderall, or Ritalin exacerbated my anxiety. I take the medication as needed for symptoms and so far I have not noticed any tolerance build-up. It's a shame that since its a bit older, many doctors don't typically prescribe it, they opt for newer medications. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
7/28/2013
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rhbs26 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/23/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very difficult to get, because no Dr. will prescribe it for my schizoaffective D/O. It is the only med that works, however, and I am useless to myself and others without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/19/2012
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i just lost my wife because she was getting addicted to my pills and talk of that problem has made her berserk

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More