Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

54 People found this comment helpful

Started out taking 3 40mg tabs a week and then to 7 days a week to bring LDL within normal limits. When I went to 7 days a week, I noticed an immediate insomnia issue. Anyone else with the same symptoms?

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/16/2020
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robert in S.C. | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2019
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This pill does not sit well in my stomach now that they have switched manufactures. I am taking the generic teva 576 version and wont be refilling after reading all these neg reviews.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zemo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/26/2018
Condition: Changes Involving Fatty Deposits in the Blood Vessels
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this for 10 years, 3x20 mg a day. Slight muscle problems, mainly leg cramps. No other problems when taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fuji | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/18/2018
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this for quite a number of years niw. Doc kept upping the dosage. Now, having to deal with scleroderma. A rare autoimmune disease, and got another med, mycophenolate to take to help curb the progression of scleroderma. Anyone having this problem. I think scleroderma May have been caused by this drug. Anyone having similar problem?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/10/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Lovastatin for quite a few years. About 8 months ago I started having tingling and burning on the bottom of my feet. I have been to 2 foot doctors , had nerve conduction tests, MRI's of my back and neck. I am not diabetic. They cannot seem to find out what the problem is. Wondering now if its the Lovastatin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/28/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works like it's suppose to, however, the side effects for me are not acceptable. Major gas, loose bowel movements, sporadic muscle/bone pain, pains in the back of my eye. All of this is sporadic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2016
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking this drug for about 3 months, I realized the aches and pains I was having was because of Lovastatin. I can barely walk and my feet and legs hurt constantly. I am now wondering how long it takes to get out of my system. This drug SHOULD be banned. People, remember that YOU BETTER look out for yourself because some Dr's don't care or don't know how bad the side effects are.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momlyn | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/2/2016
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking lovastatin 3 weeks ago (20mgs) and have recently stopped. The pains in my stomach and back were more than I could handle. Achy arms and legs. Hopefully these things will go away soon. Overall very bad experience

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/16/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
le prof | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/1/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this drug for 1 week. Previously took Crestor(the best for me) Had to discontinue because insurance would no longer cover it. Then took Lipitor for I year. It caused muscle aches and hair to fall out. Now, it's lovastatin. I cannot tolerate it another day. Causes me to have bloating, gas, cramps, constipation one day, the opposite the next day. I can't leave the house. I am stopping this today. 69 yr. old female. I need to enjoy my life if that means higher cholesterol, so be it. Crestor took me from 246 to 147. I want to go back. Hear me insurance company?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jgvaughn | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was warned to look out for muscle pain. Within 10 days of beginning, I developed weakness in arm and leg muscles along with severe pain. I quit taking it immediately, and my doctor took me off it. Two months later, I am still dealing with the pain and muscle weakness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years |
2/3/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this lovastatin for awhile now, but within the past 2-3yrs. now i have found to have extremely sore/inflamed joints in the evening and morning. My hair as also started falling out, but was told this was just "stress." I am hoping to change to another as this is just not working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Badly Hurt | 65-74 | Female | Patient
11/11/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is very dangerous. On my second day, I experienced severe pains in both thighs. My left leg was so weak, I could hardly get out of bed & was unable to go upstairs. Two weeks out , I still have severe cramping in my left hip & thigh. After a blood test, I was told the lovastatin was not the cause & to continue taking it. I will be changing my primary care Dr.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have one kidney. My Dr.put me on 40 mg. I have swollen ankles, feet and legs. My kidney hurts. My veins in my legs are burning. I have a bladder infection. All the side effects listed on WEBMD. My Dr says it's my age (66). It sure couldn't be Lovastatin. I took it for 2 1/2 weeks Not very happy! This is my life we are talking about.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Monica | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Seems to be fine but was wondering if anybody experienced it to also lower blood pressure?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jonisasking | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/25/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Howie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/8/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had one knee replacement and one corrective knee surgery, Laminectomy L-1 thru L-5 and now have arthritis in the right hip. Never had any problems prior to taking STATIN drugs but I due have great LDL test results. You be the judge??????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sema7 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/25/2014
Condition: Combined High Blood Cholesterol and Triglyceride Level
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After the pharmacy changed from blue pills to white ones (different manufacturer) I began having hives which continued for weeks. Finally realized it was from the lovastatin and stopped taking it. Hives immediately stopped. I'm not sure if I developed a reaction to the Lovastatin or to some inert ingredient in the new pill variation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mimi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It brings my cholesterol within the first 3 months on 20mg. I get aches in the bones from it. I was prescribed the 40mg once & hurt really bad that I stopped. I am predisposed to this problem and it cannot be controlled by diet. All pharmacists that I have talked to say this was the first cholesterol drug on the market & have the fewest side effects. Once you get your cholesterol below 200 you can take 10mg to maintain with your diet, I know it has worked for me.I don't have pain 24/7 just when I don't want it. It feels like a bruise by it's before a joint. I will probably have to be on it the rest of my life & that is okay because I don't want anything stronger. I did notice a new generic this last prescription. From small white pill to medium blue pill. Different manufacturers. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2014
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had frequent bowl movement, swelling of ankles and feet.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More