Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I was originally diagnosed with breast cancer in 2000. Earlier this year (2008)I found out it spread to my liver and my spine (small tumors). I am currently taking Taxotere (chemo) and Pamidronate. The last PET scan I had showed no signs of cancer! I had a port installed in my chest area to make it easier for me to get the treatments and since Pamidronate is a long term option for me at this ti...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I found this medication to be a total waist of time and money. I found that the side effects if you have Osteogenesis Imperfecta is very bad. This medication/treatment prevents healing of the bones and while it does make you break less, when you do break it gets worse. I would recommend that everyone with OI on this medication/treatment to stop NOW before its to late.

Shared reviews and ratings

AngelsMomma | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
7/26/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son is 5 years old he has osteoingenesis imperfecta and this was our first ever infusion he did really well the first day he slept though it but when we got home he had a mild fever. he also would say his back and legs were hurting. th second day was a little worse he was not having it he was done and simply did not want to be messed with.After the second infusion we went home and he had a fever and flu like symptoms doc said it was normal but he is still c/o pain and now has orange in color bowels . im not really sure what to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started the treatment with pamidronate. I had very very severe side effects: very high fever, shortness of breath, pain, pain and then some more pain. I ended up in the hospital with high fever. I shall never take it again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

each time I have had the iv I get diariea and this time I hve had it for 4 days what can I do to stop this side effect

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chartrusegreen @ gmail . com | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/3/2011
Condition: Glucocorticoid-Induced Osteoporosis Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my doctor premedicates me with solumedrol tagamet iv tylenol and benedryl. after infusion i am very hot all over body and use ice packs to cool off. hot flashes last 3 to 4 days have been getting monthly for 8 years for osteoporosis due to prednisone use for sarcoidosis. Had rib fractures knee fractures and spinal fractures from prednisone pamidronate 90 mg monthly iv over 4 hours infusion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
austindeer08 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Along with daily Femara since Dec. 2010, I have been given Aredia {via port infusion]every 4 weeks since Jan. 2011 after being diagnosed with breast cancer and bone mets 5 mos ago. I have experienced no addit'l pain, infections, or problems whatsoever with Aredia. Each month, I am gaining more and more strength, adding weight, which my onocologist attributes to the Femara, not the Aredia. And, since I have Stage IV cancer, the Aredia and Femara are basically slowing the cancer and making me feel better. My oncologist says invasive lobular carcinoma (ILC) is still life-threatening, and it's going to kill me in 2-3 years...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WEBMD | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/1/2010
Condition: Paget's Disease of Bone
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had pamidronate for ten years, to be told I dont have pagets? What is the long term damage of this treatment or a complaint I dont have

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stavrogin road | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2010
Condition: Lesions in the Bone of the Disease Multiple Myeloma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Coming up on my 5th monthly treatment, 90 mg, by IV over 2 hours. I seem to be tolerating well, though I feel a bit run down and not as mentally sharp as I expect myself to be. Could be the treatment, the disease or even a bit of depression. It appears to be holding my bones together, at least as much as the myeloma seems to disolve them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kohkum | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/25/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been receiving Pamidronate by IV since Aug. '05 along with Femera to treat breast cancer bone metastases with wonderful results. It appears I've been cancer free for a year now! The only reason I didn't give full marks was because I now have poor veins making it difficult to give me an IV. Don't know if that is related to the Pamidronate or not.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/3/2009
Condition: Cancer Metastasis to Bone
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janet | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/11/2008
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was originally diagnosed with breast cancer in 2000. Earlier this year (2008)I found out it spread to my liver and my spine (small tumors). I am currently taking Taxotere (chemo) and Pamidronate. The last PET scan I had showed no signs of cancer! I had a port installed in my chest area to make it easier for me to get the treatments and since Pamidronate is a long term option for me at this time. Side affects: I do have some back aches and I do get light headed at times.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
debers | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/18/2008
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to the Bones
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been receiving monthly bone infusions for almost a year now due to breast cancer that has spread to the bones. I decided to skip one month and was in quite a bit more pain than ever before. So, obviously, I am back to taking on 4-week intervals.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shriners Kid | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/5/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been receiving PADRIMONATE IV infusions since 2003 for polyostotic fibrous dysplasia. Initially I was on a quarterly schedule. My bone density has improved tremendously over time and now I am on an annual dosage. I have had only one fracture since starting Pamidronate and my femur healed perfectly. I feel very fortunate and thank my medical team for everything.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/28/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found this medication to be a total waist of time and money. I found that the side effects if you have Osteogenesis Imperfecta is very bad. This medication/treatment prevents healing of the bones and while it does make you break less, when you do break it gets worse. I would recommend that everyone with OI on this medication/treatment to stop NOW before its to late.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More