Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I use it in combination with Topamax for migraine headaches. Since using this medication I have had fewer and less strong migraines.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

not entirely satisfied my heart still beats irregularly at times

Shared reviews and ratings

JoMe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/25/2020
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for 32yrs. 80 mm. daily for essential tremors. It's controlled it a lot until last three yrs. So I'm taking 160 now. I'm 58 and the tremor has worsened but this is it. There is nothing else out there other than alcohol. I've had very little side effect. You just have to compensate the side effects and be aware. Maybe someday there will be a cure for essential tremor. There are a lot of benefits intaking this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/15/2019
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken nadolol for over 10 years after having brain surgery that resulted in frequent migraines. Iâ??ve had no side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Doxiegal | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/7/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Nadolol 20 mg twice daily for portal hypertension. I had problems with presyncope and had to decrease to 1 tablet then gradually increase it back up. Now I tolerate it quite well and it’s effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
scm | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2018
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been taking it for a week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/19/2017
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not lower my PVC's very much at all

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year |
11/9/2017
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Besides suffering from arrhythmia, I'm an active, healthy, sports-minded 72 year old. I take a 10MG dose every day and it works super well in terms of the heart beat. But I feel the effects on muscles (pain when straining, walking up stairs or hiking) , mental acuity (memory loss, constant mental fog, difficulty finding words and expressing myself clearly, misreading or speaking, etc), weight (Can't maintain my weight unless I barely eat), heart rate (sitting it can easily go down to 45 and it take a lot of effort to get it up to 100). I feel it made me age 10 years in 6 months. I tried halving the dose at my doctor's recommendation. It doesn't work as well (more arrhythmia) but I feel so much more like my good old self otherwise. A choice of between a rock and a hard place. Is there any research about what would help us diminish these side effects?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
davie | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initial dosage 40mg od had to reduce to 10mg due to drowsiness and some lightheadedness taking due to unstable pressure readings (white coat syndrome) Not convinced this is working except pulse is slower and readings at home seem somewhat more stable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jesska77 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2015
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been prescribed this for migraines to prevent seizures which I get during the aura of my migraine. Highly ineffective, the pill is disgusting and dissolves as I take is making me gag. And I have the worst acid reflux causing coughing fits and vomitting. I still get migraines as well with the odd seizure. I also experience tingling sensations and numbness in my legs and pins and needles. Doesn't aid my Myclonic Jerks either.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/19/2014
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had what is called essential Tremor[ and I disagree with terminology they should be unessential] because i do not need them!!! But it did work so go figure?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThinkHealthy1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/10/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 52 y/o female. I've been on Nadolol 10 mg for (2) months now, at first I thought it was great, it seemed to be effective at somewhat lowering my BP and it also lowered my normally fast heart rate, however, I begin having lots of numbness and tingling and having very cold extremities (both hands and feet), feeling "foggy/fuzzy" or mentally "dull" mild memory lapses, then I noticed being very hungry, dry mouth/thirsty and having to urinate much more than usual. All of a sudden, out of nowhere, all my labs showed elevated sugar levels. Went to see an endocrinologists and was informed I may have diabetes! I'm convinced that this drug have/will cause diabetes. Has anyone else experienced this side effect? And why aren't the Dr's and the drug companies informing people that this can/will happen? Of course I need my BP and heart rate to be controlled, but definitely not at the expense of my otherwise Good health. Now looking for yet another med for high blood pressure :/ Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sls | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/26/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked really well for the prevention of my migraines. However, after several months of taking it I developed swelling in my knee, joint pain especially in my shoulders and muscle aches to the point I could barely walk or get out of bed. After seeing specialists, including a rhuematolgist who said I had psoriatic arthritis, and taking various other medications to combat that, I read reviews about this med causing joint and muscle pain. I stopped taking all my meds and the paind and swelling have disappeared. Now I just need to find something to treat the migraines because they are back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThinkHealthy1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only taken this med (10 mg) for 9 days, noticed an immediate improvement in my BP but also a significant decrease in my heart rate and I feel tired and "zonked out" after about 6 hrs of taking it. Hopefully my body will adjust to it, because overall I feel better taking it than the alpha blocker I had been on previously.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shaky | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/25/2014
Condition: Essential Tremor
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took Inderal (propranolol), tried immediate release and sustained release, for over a decade. New doctor switched me to Corgard (nadolol). Once a day dose of 40mg and have had much better results than I ever got from taking propranolol! Downside: I don't have prescription drug coverage and the nadolol is over 10 times the cost of propranolol. (Thanks Obamacare!)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/9/2014
Condition: Abnormal Heart Rhythm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Blocked my arrhythmia, however, weight gain, numbness in legs, cold legs and feet,memory loss, vision issues after taking this medication for 4 years. I had gone to many different doctors and never thought the nadolol was the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soulartist1947 | 65-74 | Female | Patient
2/8/2014
Condition: Abnormally Increased Pressure in the Veins of the Liver
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med was prescribed by my gastroenterologist for nosebleeds( possibly ) associated with my liver disease. I took this medication for a period of 6-7 months. NO one told me about the hair-loss which IS significant for a female especially with chronic depression! I had "bouts" or outbursts of anger which did not last-yet another side-effect not discussed when prescribed. Had some tingling of hands & feet but was told to keep warm. It is a side effect that needs to be reported even if not significant. ALL are listed as potential side-effects: increased carpel tunnel pain,vision changes,rashes,itching & potential drug interactions that are serious & should be reported a.s.a.p. Although this drug lowered my blood pressure I was not happy with medication or my Dr. for lack of sensitivity in prescribing this med. I am now taking Lisinopril but now am experiencing other serious side effects ie; nausea (lasting hours) & complete incapacitating weakness. I UNDERSTAND meds are a trial/error experience but is there anyone here that has suggestions? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TheDog | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/9/2014
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used Nadolol for nearly 15 years now and it has been fantastic in reducing the number of migraines from nearly 2 per week to about 1 every 3 months. I take only 10 mgs each morning so a very small dose although i have had ectopic beats for the past 3 years - just need to keep up the fitness!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B V | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/4/2013
Condition: Prevent Bleeding Varicose Vein in the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

given to me by my doc after a bleeding and banding and esoughagus.from chirrosis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
10/17/2013
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication not only keeps my blood pressure down but I also have a bounding heart and this medication keeps me from feeling my heart pound.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RN from Pasadena | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/18/2013
Condition: Migraine Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to take 3 other medications for migrane headaches/cluster headaches but Nadolol is the only that helped control my headaches that usually occurs at night and i have been taking this for the past 8 years. I take it at bedtime.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
connie | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/15/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

was on Nadolol for years. worked great. BUT, the manufacture QUIT making Nadolol. I am having terrible withdrawls symptoms and cannot fing a medication to replace it. On my third meds. that are not working. Instructions says to NOT STOP TAKING THIS MEDICATION SUDDENTLY. But when the Manfacturer decides to stop producing Nadolol, we patients have no choice and are faced with all these problems. Makes one wonder!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More