Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

69 People found this comment helpful

I am taking this prescription for an upper respiratory infection with a very sore throat, body aches, and fever -- was unable to eat or sleep. I had almost immediate relief of symptoms after taking the medication and have had none of the side effects described by other reviewers. I wonder if people only review drugs if they have a bad result...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

My gut hurt for four days, after which I started throwing up my toenails. NEVER again will I take this drug!!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Blinker | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was prescribed following stitches on my scalp due to a dermatologist removing some skin. A side effect of Cephalexin was blurred vision…very disturbing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leonie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2022
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on this med for a Kidney Infection. 2x500mg four times a day for 7 days. Relieved it has worked well as otherwise would have had to go to hospital for IV antibiotics. Worked really well in clearing up kidney infection which was excruciating back, stomach and groin pain. Towards end of 7 days stomach started bloating and loudly gurgling. Also stomach pain higher up from kidney abdomen pain. 3 days on stomach still painful, bloated and gurgling but guessing stomach will come right eventually. Have been taking a probiotic once a day 2 hrs after taking first antibiotics in morning and still on them. Really recommend taking probiotic on this med. Just take one a day 2 hrs after taking antibiotic as good bacteria will get killed if taken with the antibiotic.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BJM | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2022
Condition: Diabetic with Foot Infection due to a Specific Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

** UNABLE TO CHOOSE CORRECT REASON FOR PRESCRIPTION Soft tissue infection in right hand due to dog bite; very red, sore, swollen hand involving thumb, forefinger, moving across to middle finger. Second day on med ( taking 500 mg/ QID): pain decreasing, swelling reduced somewhat, less redness. Side effect: SERIOUS diarrhea. Not leaving proximity to bathroom. Might need medication reduction to three times daily and extend length of time taking it?? Checking with Pharmacist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mayra | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Background about my condition: Doctor prescribed cephalex to me for a suspected uti that I had been suffering with for 2-3 weeks after it failed to clear on it's own. I didn't have a hard time urinating but I had pain in my lower right abdomen. The pain later transferred to my lower and middle back with a burning prickling annoying pain. Abdomen also became tender pricky kind of pain and felt tight. Also noticed some strange brown debris in my urine. I was feeling awful. Urine test results showed I had microscopic blood in my urine and high leukocytes which means my body was indeed fighting an infection. I tested negative for nitrites. My at home uti test revealed this as well as the doctor's test. My urine culture test results came back negative for bacteria so I don't even know if I actually had a uti but seems like I did have an infection of some sort. What Cephalex did: I was prescribed a week's worth of cephalex. Four 500 mg capsules a day. For the first 2-3 days of taking this medication I felt like a bloated zombie and didn't feel an improvement. For one of those days I got horrible constipation and indigestion. I couldn't pass gas. It scared me and made me anxious. I began to question whether this med would actually work for me. Thankfully I ate a banana and apple and that seemed to help for the constipation in the meantime. I also recommend taking a probiotic with this medication since it does go hard on your digestive system in my experience. Thankfully by the middle of the 3rd day I finally felt some relief and started to feel a bit better. I had less pain. Unfortunately though the next couple of days were a rollercoster with the persistent stomach pain. Some days were better than others but overall little by little my condition was improving although sometimes I'd wake up with a very dry mouth and a weird taste sensation. Now that I've completed a week of these antibiotics I do feel better compared to how I felt the week before and my urine test in the follow up appointment came out clean. I still have a bit of weird pain in the lower right abdomen and some fatigue which I think has to do with either ibs, stress, anxiety, and lack of sleep I think...hopefully not for a worse reason. I also got bad constipation/indigestion on my last day of taking the antibiotic but that day I ate a lot of greasy food too so with my digestive system already beat up thanks to cephalexin that wasn't the best choice to make. Try to eat healthy with this medication. Diarrhea seems like the more common side effect than constipation but I was one of the few who did get constipation from this. First day off the medicine, the constipation is still 50/50 maybe that will take time to get to normal. Feeling a bit better. Will spend the next 10 days continuing to heal my stomach with probiotics. Cephalex antibiotics treated my infection and now i have to heal what antibiotics did to my body with probiotics. Hopefully I get back to 100% normal this week after finishing the antibiotics and this dreaded stomach pain and fatigue will go away or else I have to go back to the doctor for additional tests. Please pray for me. My dog was also prescribed cephalex for his infection this week and he seems to be doing better on it than me hehehehe. Would I take cephalex again? I don't know. Maybe not. I would want to try something else even though according to my medical tests before and after it did kill my infection but I didn't like how I felt on it. Thankfully I'm on vacation right now because I could not imagine going to work feeling weird thanks to this antibiotic. I feel mixed about this medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this when minor surgery became infected. I had severe pain. Within 24 hours I had much reduced pain level. No side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Generallee | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found out I have a patch of cellulitis and was prescribed this medication, I felt better after a few hours just from the first pill! On day 3 now and feel better than have in a long time!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

experienced side effect of swollen face, lips and severe itching the first day within 30 minutes. I have never had an allergic reaction to antibiotics.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paula | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/23/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No issues..worked perfectly,,I followed instructions..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tanya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes my body tingle and feel funny, yet does the job as I’m on the East coast in the woods with many mosquitoes, spiders, and gnats. Yet have a few cuts that are healing quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

got an infected eyelid that was swollen and in pain. was prescribed cephalexin and eye drops. was told to take 3 500g tablets a day. after my first tablet cam down with a headache but thought nothing of it as i frequently get headaches. has my second dose at 8:40, two hours later i’m laying in bed relaxing and i get sudden severe dizziness. i struggled to walk and it took 5 minutes to feel relatively okay again. became extremely nauseous and almost threw up. next morning i still feel lightheaded and queasy. had only taken two tablets and my body reacted horribly. would not recommend if you have a sensitive stomach. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lovelymo1990 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this medication 500 mg twice daily for 7 days after rhinoplasty for prevention of infection. Side effects outweigh the benefit to me, especially since I had no condition just given after surgery. Side effects included major mood swings like crying spells for no reason at all, minor anxiety attacks, fatigued insomnia vivid nightmares only sleeping 30 min if that off and on, frontal headaches that opioids or even Tylenol couldn’t cure, generally feeling unwell and vaginal yeast infection, nausea/vomiting if taken without a huge meal. Hopefully I never have to be prescribed this medication ever again!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randie | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking it for 5 nights now. I have stitches in the webbing of my toe, and i can already walk somewhat normal. I haven't had any real side effects other than lack of appetite. It does suck that based on my dosage i have to take it 4 times a day to prevent infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scottyla | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had two lacerations in the palm of my hand that required stitches. Prescription was for a 5 day supply as a precaution against infection. I felt no side effects. The injury healed amazingly quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2021
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This tablet give me awful side effects, heart palpitations, non stop headaches and diarrhoea! It also gave me anxiety which I never had before! Once I stopped taking these tablets all symptoms went away thankfully! Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication to prevent infection after abscess drainage After the first dose I was itching from head to toe..Im going toy Dr.tomorrow to get another antibiotic im convinced I had an allergic reaction this wasn't the right treatment for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaylee | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 500mg for a bacterial infection caused by a bad burn on my arm that left it very red and swollen to double the size I have been taking for 2 days and already notice a difference in my level of pain and swelling I have not experienced any side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Floor | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for around 2 years now for an infection that will not go away. I take 4 grams a day, and no side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jonessy | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this pill after going to the ER with major pain in my lower abdominal area as well as my back. Within 2 hours of taking this I received a horrible headache as well as the pain in my back started up again severely. And I have a excruciatingly painful case of diarrhea. 1 hour straight I was on the toilet crying because of the amount of pain I was in. Also had some vaginal itching which I read was a â??side effect â?? as well as blood when I pee. This drug isnâ??t worth the pain I am experiencing from taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
likethekicker | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2020
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had to take Cephalexin several times for eczema-related skin infections. It has always worked very well for me. In fact, I see results within 24 hours every time. It can dry out your skin, but in a "good" way. You just need to moisturize.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for a week to help treat an unknown upper respiratory infection that landed me in the hospital. It seemed to help clear up my symptoms quite quickly to where I was back on my feet before even finishing the course. However, I did experience some constipation as a result of taking this, but a couple weeks on a probiotic seemed to fix that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More