Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

68 People found this comment helpful

I am taking this prescription for an upper respiratory infection with a very sore throat, body aches, and fever -- was unable to eat or sleep. I had almost immediate relief of symptoms after taking the medication and have had none of the side effects described by other reviewers. I wonder if people only review drugs if they have a bad result...

Most voted negative review

13 People found this comment helpful

My gut hurt for four days, after which I started throwing up my toenails. NEVER again will I take this drug!!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Tanya | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/14/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Makes my body tingle and feel funny, yet does the job as I’m on the East coast in the woods with many mosquitoes, spiders, and gnats. Yet have a few cuts that are healing quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
7/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

got an infected eyelid that was swollen and in pain. was prescribed cephalexin and eye drops. was told to take 3 500g tablets a day. after my first tablet cam down with a headache but thought nothing of it as i frequently get headaches. has my second dose at 8:40, two hours later i’m laying in bed relaxing and i get sudden severe dizziness. i struggled to walk and it took 5 minutes to feel relatively okay again. became extremely nauseous and almost threw up. next morning i still feel lightheaded and queasy. had only taken two tablets and my body reacted horribly. would not recommend if you have a sensitive stomach. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lovelymo1990 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed this medication 500 mg twice daily for 7 days after rhinoplasty for prevention of infection. Side effects outweigh the benefit to me, especially since I had no condition just given after surgery. Side effects included major mood swings like crying spells for no reason at all, minor anxiety attacks, fatigued insomnia vivid nightmares only sleeping 30 min if that off and on, frontal headaches that opioids or even Tylenol couldn’t cure, generally feeling unwell and vaginal yeast infection, nausea/vomiting if taken without a huge meal. Hopefully I never have to be prescribed this medication ever again!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randie | 19-24 | Nonbinary | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/1/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been taking it for 5 nights now. I have stitches in the webbing of my toe, and i can already walk somewhat normal. I haven't had any real side effects other than lack of appetite. It does suck that based on my dosage i have to take it 4 times a day to prevent infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Scottyla | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had two lacerations in the palm of my hand that required stitches. Prescription was for a 5 day supply as a precaution against infection. I felt no side effects. The injury healed amazingly quickly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/23/2021
Condition: Infection of the Middle Ear caused by Staphylococcus
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This tablet give me awful side effects, heart palpitations, non stop headaches and diarrhoea! It also gave me anxiety which I never had before! Once I stopped taking these tablets all symptoms went away thankfully! Do not recommend

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication to prevent infection after abscess drainage After the first dose I was itching from head to toe..Im going toy Dr.tomorrow to get another antibiotic im convinced I had an allergic reaction this wasn't the right treatment for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaylee | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/17/2021
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 500mg for a bacterial infection caused by a bad burn on my arm that left it very red and swollen to double the size I have been taking for 2 days and already notice a difference in my level of pain and swelling I have not experienced any side effects

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Floor | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for around 2 years now for an infection that will not go away. I take 4 grams a day, and no side effects at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jonessy | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/19/2020
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this pill after going to the ER with major pain in my lower abdominal area as well as my back. Within 2 hours of taking this I received a horrible headache as well as the pain in my back started up again severely. And I have a excruciatingly painful case of diarrhea. 1 hour straight I was on the toilet crying because of the amount of pain I was in. Also had some vaginal itching which I read was a â??side effect â?? as well as blood when I pee. This drug isnâ??t worth the pain I am experiencing from taking it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
likethekicker | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/25/2020
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had to take Cephalexin several times for eczema-related skin infections. It has always worked very well for me. In fact, I see results within 24 hours every time. It can dry out your skin, but in a "good" way. You just need to moisturize.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for a week to help treat an unknown upper respiratory infection that landed me in the hospital. It seemed to help clear up my symptoms quite quickly to where I was back on my feet before even finishing the course. However, I did experience some constipation as a result of taking this, but a couple weeks on a probiotic seemed to fix that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lea | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2019
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Cephalexin 500mg 3 times a day 7 days for cellulitis. From day 1 horrible headache, sore throat, extreme tiredness, hard time sleeping even though I was exhausted, agitation, back pain, guts were gurgling and very gassy (started a probiotic and this went away), and mentally I had a hard time remembering words I was trying to say. I saw pictures of what I wanted to say but the words eluded me. Voiced my concerns to medical staff and was recommended to just take Ibuprofen and Tylenol. I rarely take any prescriptions but if I ever have to again will never take this. Horrible. I took a very good probiotic several hours after my last daily dose to keep my good bacteria alive. Most doctors will not recommend taking a probiotic which should be done with any antibiotic given. Antibiotics kill good and bad bacteria which weakens a persons immune system even further. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lovely | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/2/2019
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was given this medication for a preorbital cellulitis eye infection, not happy at all very bad side affects..I've had non stop headaches, nausea, dizziness, uncontrollable itching, lethargy, tired,very irritable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
conratt | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As soon as I started taking this medication it made me have no appetite and nauseous. I lost weight but in a bad way, had loose stools from it also. 04/22/2019

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Victoria250 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/14/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Omg within 5 min of taking this medication the first pill my lips swelled up, my chest got tight, hard to breath, my skin got extremely itchy ,corners r of my eyes are so itchy.... should I go to the hospital? .. my right ear drum is in pain as I think I had a ear infection... so so itchy what to I’ll wait it out for 30 min

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lyndee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2019
Condition: Infection of a Joint
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this for olecran bursitis of the elbow. No side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ralph | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/24/2018
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a pianist 85 years of age and have had skin peal on my fingers and two split open so I could not play the piano. Then I started having swollen feet and sores that leaked fluids. I went into a health clinic where the Dr. prescribed cephalexin 500. I take it 3x a day and fingers have cleared up and feet getting better. No side effects! Hooray!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paulac | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2018
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for cellulitis on foot by podiatrist. Third time taking in 3 months. It clears up great but doesnt cure. Have to perhaps see dermatologist.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/10/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication as a preventative of infection after surgery on my arm to remove a benign tumor. Within a couple days, i began experiencing side effects: extreme lethargy, weakness, headaches, stomach issues, dizziness, no appetite (I could not eat for days). I rarely take drugs of any kind and this one hit me hard. I have also never had adverse affects to antibiotics. I am 54 years old. After reading a lot of reviews, I think this drug is dangerous. Another side note, my mother told me today that she had adverse affects as well several years ago from this drug, she passed out in the bathroom and cut herself as she fell. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More