Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

Been on Imiquimod 5% cream for BCC on face fwd of LH ear for a little over 1 wk. Following prescription schedule of 5 days on, off Sat Sun. Will continue for another 5 weeks. Apply nightly with Q-tip. Area is slightly swollen, redness, slight pain, itching, scabbing, tender to touch, and looks horrible. Must be working as planned, effects match expectations.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

Imiquimod is simply the generic/scientific name for the brand name Aldara, so all of the Aldara reviews work for Imiquimod. My dermatologist prescribed this cream to apply for 8 hrs/day, 4-5 days/wk, in conjunction w/ monthly freezings of a very large wart on the ball of my left foot near my toes. The location and size of the wart, plus having multiple, severe spinal injuries, made it nearly imp...

Shared reviews and ratings

Bern925 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/21/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was given this cream by his dermatologist for his skin condition on his face. Within 3 weeks, he had a crusty rash all over his back and on his chest along with diarrhea, coughing, lack of energy and loss of appetite. Even all of his teeth hurt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tyler1811 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for a wart that wouldn't go away with liquid nitrogen on my finger for a few months. First few weeks had almost no change in condition. However, after around a month, the skin became extremely inflamed, scabbed, bled, burned, and itched for three weeks. Extremely painful to touch and tender. However, I imagine that is just the cream doing its job. No flu like symptoms at all like other people reported.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc said twice a day. I have oozing boldly sores from the base of my nose into my lip. It created sores on my lower lip and inside my mouth. I have felt exhausted. The site burns horribly. I’ve been on it three weeks, but need some healing now. If it killed the cancer it was worth it. But unless the area is biopsied...who knows? I don’t know how to measure effectiveness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reggie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is very effective for me. That being said, Iâ??ve experienced low back pain, nasal congestion, flu like symptoms and severe fatigue. My skin gets very red with a rash before sores develop that weep and ooze. The painful skin is bad but the severe itching is really hard to handle. I will say that once the treatment is finished, after many weeks the redness goes away. My skin is left soft and clear. I have treated the back of my neck, my chest area, my face and ears. AKs can surface after treatment as did with me, so you will have to treat the area again to get rid of themRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Al | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2020
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med seems to be working as the warts are getting smaller. The side effects are not so much fun; slight burning but the flu like symptoms are pretty bad. I'll be glad when the prescription has done it's work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucky duck | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/25/2019
Condition: Vulvar Intraepithelial Neoplasia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pros: The cream worked very quickly for my stage 0 Vulvar squamous cell carcinoma. Cons: I ended up with shingles on my butt cheek. It was not a bad case of shingles however I was treated for the shingles immediately so I’m sure it could have been much worse if had I not seen a doc immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Burned | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Above lip treated. Second round of treatment daily till I see reaction. On day 5 lower lip began to swell day 6,7 developed full blister across bottom lip that burned like a hot iron. Only ice helped. Stopped use and sleep deprived from pain. Have been given prednisone and Pepcid to help reaction. No more topical for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has kicked my fanny...have had flu like symptoms and ZERO energy. Have stopped it now for about 2 weeks and still recovering from effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic A. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adverse reactions!! Started this four weeks ago to treat sun damaged skin above right temple. Used this before a decade ago without incident aside from hideous red lesion it produces. This time it caused a rash across my chest and back. My arthritis in shoulders, lower back, hands and wrists has flared up since starting this treatment series. Also am experiencing low energy and increased dizziness. Was supposed to continue for another two weeks but I'm feeling so lousy and the redness is spreading down my cheek and towards my eye. I start to feel better during the rest days but then start down the tubes after resuming treatment, where the last day of the cycle is the worst. Am discontinuing this and hopefully the hideous scaly redness will give way to some better looking skin in a few weeks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/2/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects!! Started using this on a sun damaged patch of skin above my right temple. Nasty rash formed on my chest and back. My arthritic joints have been severely aggravated after starting this. Right hand is nearly unusable. Low energy and dizzy. Noticed these symptoms abate during the two day rest period. Treated area is gross looking as expected but is starting the spread way outside the treated area towards my cheek and eye. Stopping after four weeks. Not worth feeling lousy day in and out. Have used this stuff years before without side effects but was younger then. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickeyfin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this off andon for 8 years. I respond well and the repeat lesions are much less. I have hundreds of AK lesions on face, arms, chest. We treat one area at a time, so it takes time. I hate the redness, itching and crustiness, but have no systemic effects. Why better than alternatives, i am a very pale skinned person who grew up in sunny CA. Now I never expose my skin to sun and look much better. It works, but has local effects. I mainly treat in winter. Face is all clear, chest has been longer treatment, but had worse disease. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/28/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have applied 4 times and the area itches and burns. My skin has a rash/reaction. Not sure if this is suppose to happen. Will call my dr on monday.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
txwalker | 55-64 | Male | Patient
11/14/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had MOHS done on a BCC on the side of my nose about 14 years ago, and the surgeon was down to cartilage in two "shavings". He was a butcher! Then I had another show up on my cheek. I asked my dermatologist if there was another method and he put me on the Aldara. 6 weeks & it was gone - no side effects Fast forward to today. A new BCC on my temple. I am 4 weeks into treatment with same progress, but I am blimping up with water and my blood pressure is thru the roof. Just got a diuretic to see if that will help. Not sure whether or not the Aldara has caused this, but it is listed as a rare side effect. No matter, I will stay the course, because I won't get MOHS or the radiation treatment. This stuff does work.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2017
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't yet know if it has worked on the scaly patches on my cheek. At present, after 4 applications, my face is a mess of draining pus-filled sores, swollen hard red bumpy skin. Looks too awful to go out. Plus I am running a fever and feel horrible. Have now discontinued (on doctor's advice).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GHR | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2017
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After one week of using for genital warts, I experienced fatigue, fever, diarrhea, nausea and had no appetite. I felt like I was in a fog. I have missed one dose and now fill maybe 25 percent more normal. Not a good experience for me. At first I thought I had the flu and kept using it but finally realized it had to be the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish they were bigger packages of it, pretty hard to use that little pack on half your face.I have some spots that feel like I had a zit on my face but it's the pre cancer. I've been taking it every day till all 48 treatments are done. Skin cancer sucks

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used the medication as directed with caution. Saw absolutely no response of any sort. Thought perhaps it might be a counterfeit and notified FDA. They are investigating.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nancy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2016
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a finger tip sized basal cell on my chest. After biopsy showed invasive basal cell I was given the option of MOHs or Aldara with both outcomes as equal. Dr said this would leave little to no scar. I am just finishing my third of six weeks of treatment. Area is now 6 cm with shingles like vesicles. It aches, itches, burns, and looks awful. Generalized arthralgia with some anorexia and headaches. Hard to believe from just this tiny bit of cream. I guess it's worth it if it works, I suppose this reaction means it's working. I also have one on my ankle but I have had no response to the cream on my ankle lesion. Three more weeks to go. Good to read other's responses, misery loves company.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohio820 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this cream for treatment of a planters wart. Worked great on the warts! The side effects are crazy though...the first week I was very sick, the second and third weeks I had extremely bad welts on my face. They went away once I stopped using the cream.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More