Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

Perscribed for two nearly invisible AK spots on face. Now done 12 days of first round. As advertised: starts working day 1 with very mild pain, redness, progresses to VERY pronounced darker area, then scab-like. DEFINITELY an immune reaction working, affecting only the AK tissue even deep under the surface. Doing the job so far. Amazing action for a topical. Downside: looks like I was hit with a t...

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

Imiquimod is simply the generic/scientific name for the brand name Aldara, so all of the Aldara reviews work for Imiquimod. My dermatologist prescribed this cream to apply for 8 hrs/day, 4-5 days/wk, in conjunction w/ monthly freezings of a very large wart on the ball of my left foot near my toes. The location and size of the wart, plus having multiple, severe spinal injuries, made it nearly imp...

Shared reviews and ratings

WartAllGone | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT WORKS! Genital warts right between the shaft and balls was difficult to treat, but it worked! But it requires diligence to put the right amount the right way, once every 3 days. You will get some redness and burning, but perhaps for a day or two. Do not apply too much, but just right, covering the wart but not the healthy skin surrounding the wart. You won't see anything until your 3-4th application. Don't put too much just because you don't see anything yet, as it comes, slowly at first but surely!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kevin | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I kept wondering why was I getting congested, burning sensation, severe headache and this intermittent cold. I literally thought I had Covid. Boom! I’d never thought a cream would do this much damage but now I know. It made me feel terribly bad and felt bad 2 to 3 days after I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It made a very big difference over the course of 4 months, but I stopped using it & got an ablation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOYB | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed 3x per week for 8 weeks. It's taking months to apply because the chemical burns become so painful that I cannot use it more than 1 or 2x per week. Imiquimod is terrible! I wish there was another option, but my surgeon said I have to complete the treatment or the dysplasia will develop into cancer AGAIN. What's worse is I have to do this 2-4 times a year, which means I'm dealing with this over six months a year. Since HPV doesn't go away and imiquimod isn't a cure, it's a life sentence.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Female | Caregiver
7/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Vet gave this for my horse that had a growth under her tail. 1st dose applied and it caused 2nd/3rd degree burns all over her bottom, private area and tail!!! I know it's a horse but the system is relatively close to the system of a human. Would never use again on either human or horse. Nasty medicine!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
asdhjkg2j34g234 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started using this every couple of days about 3-4 weeks ago. it has destroyed a couple of warts (red, itchy, nasty looking now) and has done nothing to some others. a couple of days ago i started getting allergy type symptoms (sneezing, coughing, itchy nose) and from what other people are saying on here I honestly think it is from the drug. my area down there looks absolutely horrible, but i guess that means the drug is partially working.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sargent | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not seem to have any reaction for my. Like watery lotion

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
concerned | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I cant contact my doctor to ask. but this medicine im pretty sure is making me very emotional, altering my hormones/ nuerochemistry, and illiciting a very strange deep psychospiritual horror in response to the side effect sensations that accompany drugs use after 1 week. dull unexplainable "pain" sensation on penis shaft accompanied with existential sensational dread and agony.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toletyouknow | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/1/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My legs were covered with flat warts that I’d tried everything to get rid of. I finally saw a doctor who recommended application of this cream once every 3 days. Within 2 weeks my infection was becoming less and less severe. It’s taken a total of almost 2 years but I can finally say that this cream has cured me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
andres | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine was prescribed by my urolus to treat molluscum contagiosum in my leg and groin, not penis or testicles, after applying it for 3 weeks for 3 days I present side effects such as: pain in bones, knees, feet, elbows and hands, sweating in hands, very strong headache, after suspending the treatment for 2 weeks, the sequelae still continued.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bern925 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
8/21/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband was given this cream by his dermatologist for his skin condition on his face. Within 3 weeks, he had a crusty rash all over his back and on his chest along with diarrhea, coughing, lack of energy and loss of appetite. Even all of his teeth hurt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tyler1811 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2021
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for a wart that wouldn't go away with liquid nitrogen on my finger for a few months. First few weeks had almost no change in condition. However, after around a month, the skin became extremely inflamed, scabbed, bled, burned, and itched for three weeks. Extremely painful to touch and tender. However, I imagine that is just the cream doing its job. No flu like symptoms at all like other people reported.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unknown | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2021
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc said twice a day. I have oozing boldly sores from the base of my nose into my lip. It created sores on my lower lip and inside my mouth. I have felt exhausted. The site burns horribly. I’ve been on it three weeks, but need some healing now. If it killed the cancer it was worth it. But unless the area is biopsied...who knows? I don’t know how to measure effectiveness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Reggie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/26/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is very effective for me. That being said, Iâ??ve experienced low back pain, nasal congestion, flu like symptoms and severe fatigue. My skin gets very red with a rash before sores develop that weep and ooze. The painful skin is bad but the severe itching is really hard to handle. I will say that once the treatment is finished, after many weeks the redness goes away. My skin is left soft and clear. I have treated the back of my neck, my chest area, my face and ears. AKs can surface after treatment as did with me, so you will have to treat the area again to get rid of themRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Al | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2020
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med seems to be working as the warts are getting smaller. The side effects are not so much fun; slight burning but the flu like symptoms are pretty bad. I'll be glad when the prescription has done it's work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lucky duck | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/25/2019
Condition: Vulvar Intraepithelial Neoplasia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pros: The cream worked very quickly for my stage 0 Vulvar squamous cell carcinoma. Cons: I ended up with shingles on my butt cheek. It was not a bad case of shingles however I was treated for the shingles immediately so I’m sure it could have been much worse if had I not seen a doc immediately.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Burned | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/27/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Above lip treated. Second round of treatment daily till I see reaction. On day 5 lower lip began to swell day 6,7 developed full blister across bottom lip that burned like a hot iron. Only ice helped. Stopped use and sleep deprived from pain. Have been given prednisone and Pepcid to help reaction. No more topical for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mark | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med has kicked my fanny...have had flu like symptoms and ZERO energy. Have stopped it now for about 2 weeks and still recovering from effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vic A. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Adverse reactions!! Started this four weeks ago to treat sun damaged skin above right temple. Used this before a decade ago without incident aside from hideous red lesion it produces. This time it caused a rash across my chest and back. My arthritis in shoulders, lower back, hands and wrists has flared up since starting this treatment series. Also am experiencing low energy and increased dizziness. Was supposed to continue for another two weeks but I'm feeling so lousy and the redness is spreading down my cheek and towards my eye. I start to feel better during the rest days but then start down the tubes after resuming treatment, where the last day of the cycle is the worst. Am discontinuing this and hopefully the hideous scaly redness will give way to some better looking skin in a few weeks.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More