Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

43 People found this comment helpful

This time last year I had extremely bad acne. I've spends tons of money on things that never worked. I went to my doctor and she put me on retin-a 0.025% gel. I read a lot of people saying it gets worse before it gets better. For me I got a ton of white heads and dryness. After about 3-4 weeks my face was done being so irritated. I was on that dose for about 6 months. I'm now on rerin-a 0.05% crea...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nathan | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/4/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Completely cleared up my acne and controlled my oily skin, I was scared at first to try it because of the ‘purge’ people get but I just got slight dryness and that was all and it worked to clear my face up I used the Brand name 0.05% strength cream.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
E.Ceasar1 | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/27/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have always been blessed with good skin. I did however have some minor skin issues that bothered me. I got an ocassoniap outbreak of cystic ance (maybe once a year,) black heads on my nose and chin and tiny little bumps that would come and go around my chin. During a bad breakout I went to my Dr. For a federal for a derm.( I wanted retin a for flawless skin and fine lines.) He gave me retin a .5% cream. I had no vad peeling or sensitivity but my acne got worse then worse and I got breakouts where I hadnt had them before. I also have acne scars from using retin a ( I didnt have before.) It did erase my wrinkles within 3 months. But made my acne worse I had to quit. I did notice When I used OTC retiniod products it broke me out. My advice would be to use them first to see if your skin reacts positively to sources of Vitiman A. I am glad I troed Retin A but the product just isnt for me. It also has left some permenant scaring and a slight worsening of acne. Just because it did not work for me does not mean it will not work for you! By the 6 week mark you should see some steady improvement in your acne or it might be time to move on. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unhappyhuman | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/22/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Retin-A made my face burn and it turned the skin red. It also didn't do anything for my acne. But, you know, at least it was easy to use!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Patty | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am asian and I live in USA, I use Retin A cream since 4 or 5 years, mostly for wrinkles, and it works perfecty for me. I use only the original brand, because I tried generic one, but it was less efficient. I buy it on Fcebook at "Online Retin A"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becca | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/4/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This time last year I had extremely bad acne. I've spends tons of money on things that never worked. I went to my doctor and she put me on retin-a 0.025% gel. I read a lot of people saying it gets worse before it gets better. For me I got a ton of white heads and dryness. After about 3-4 weeks my face was done being so irritated. I was on that dose for about 6 months. I'm now on rerin-a 0.05% cream. It also took a bit of time getting used to it. My face is 100x better then it was when I started. My skin was bumpy and now it's smooth with an even tone. I will continue to use rerin-a. So ladies just stick though the dry and "ugly" phase. It'll be worth it in the end (: Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Retin A | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started off with a couple of uninflamed zits, really nothing special at all. I used the cream and by week 3, I had full blown acne, everywhere. I mean everywhere. I had never had anything CLOSE to this bad. I stopped after 2 1/2 months of horrible acne, and its been 2 weeks since I stopped an I still am not having improvement. THIS CREAM IS HORRIBLE. DO NOT USE IT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prettylilbella | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/19/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I personally didn't experience and horrible side effects. I didn't peel or have redness. I don't know if it was I was getting peels done and facials before I started this product. I waited as recommended before I started. It has been 9 weeks since I started my acne has improved but not as much as I would had liked. It has improved my blackheads a great deal I still get a few.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
6/23/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wanted to take the time to write a review in the hopes to give at least one person the self confidence boost they need to keep going with Retin-A. I've been waiting for the day I get to write my own review. I officially started using Retin- A .25 just under 4 months ago today. My first day was 3 weeks before my birthday. I remember contacting my Dermo in advance with a million questions and mostly the fear of going through THE PURGE during this busy time filled with celebrations, events, etc. I thankfully, made the gamble and started! I decided it was always be... I'll start next week, next month. Let's be real, when is there ever a good time for acne?! I can only describe the last 4 months as a roller coaster. There will be good days. There will be days you hide inside. At some points I thought I was done purging, then it would come back. IT TAKES TIME. Painful cysts too, that do not go away. I would rather have 20 white head pimples all over than 1 deep painful cyst on my face! It was the most challenging thing I've gone through. It will test your patience. To the point of tears, and why me's! At one point I scheduled an emergency Dermo appt to receive Cortizon injections on 3 cysts that were almost the size of dimes!! I couldn't take it anymore. This was 2.5 months. He sat me down and said it takes 3-4 months for results to be reached and you will hate your dermo for that time and gave me the push to continue to go forward. Here's the good news! I am at my 4 month mark, and I have never been more happy. I haven't had a break out in 1.5 weeks. I don't know the last time I've been able to say that. I can take on the CALI summer and not feel like I'm hiding. My biggest advise is be strong! Tell yourself everyday, it's only 4 months of the rest of your life. Get past the 4-5 month mark and it will all be worth it! The past will be a blur! Good luck and you can do it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/28/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi all, I'm a young woman in my early twenties with moderate acne. I'm allergic to benzoyl peroxide and doxycycline (as well as sensitive to salicylic acid!), so finding the right medication to keep my acne under control has been a challenge. I started using Retin-A (0.01%) every night in December of 2013. I was very frustrated because my acne became worse for about 2 months. However, I stuck with it and by July 2014 my acne had noticeably decreased. It is now October 2014 and I've been getting compliments on how great my skin looks! For the first time in years, I don't feel like have to wear liquid foundation to cover up my acne. If you're just starting Retin-A, STICK WITH IT! If you experience some dryness and skin flaking (like I did), I recommend exfoliating with a warm washcloth and applying moisturizer. If you're on Retin-A, a good moisturizer will be your best friend :) FYI, my nightly routine consists of: Neutrogena sensitive makeup remover wipes, Cetaphil face wash, Retin-A, CeraVe moisturizing lotionRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elizabeth5 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/9/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication three months ago because I was having terrible acne breakouts. When I first started using this medication my skin flaked a lot and when I put concealer on my face it looked terrible and flaky. But, if you stick with this product the flakiness will go away and your acne will be 100% better than before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RedMaple | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/25/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 60 year old woman and have used Retin-A for many years. First for adult acne when I was in my 30's, and started use again about 10 years ago for wrinkles. It is the very best out there for a beautiful complexion. So many skin care products now use a retinol as the anti-wrinkle ingredient-why not use the real deal in prescription form from a physician. It's much more effective, and in the long run-much less costly than all the anti-aging products on the market. It does take a few weeks for your skin to adjust - about 6 weeks for me - but so worth it. It's easier to adjust to if you take it slow, use it every other night or even every 3rd night, and slowly increase to use nightly. A good daytime SPF moisturizer is a must! I rarely even use a foundation makeup anymore and my skin looks wonderful! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ASmith | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
11/13/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had acne since puberty. It started to really become a problem at 19. Tried many things and nothing worked. The doctor told me to wash with a benzoyl peroxide 10% face wash and prescribed retin a cream (.05%). The first month or so was had, and my face was dry, itchy and peeled, BUT trust me it is worth it. Stick with it. You will be thankful. My skin now has an even tone and looks soft. Retin a even made any scares on my face from acne go away. I only had minor ones, but still. Do make sure you listen to your doctor when he/she says only use a small amount and then build up. In the beginning I used too much one night and my face was really red for a week. Overall, I still use retin a and will continue to use it for a long time. My acne cleared up and my skin looks awesome. One last thing, make sure you wear a moisturizer with at least SPF 15 in it. I could never even use a moisturizer until this product or my face would break out, but wear one because this product will make your face sensitize to sun and will make your skin dry especially in the beginning. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lizzy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/16/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used this drug off and on as needed for over 15 years, and my skin is gorgeous. I don't have little wrinkles either. There are trade offs; I use a fat moisturizer because retinoids are drying. And when I need a course of it there is flushing, or a period of redness and worse acne. This is just chasing out the future zits forming and is worth waiting out- getting a bit worse before getting much better. I also use sunscreen and stay out of the sun when I can. Tough for an outdoorsy athletic type but with non greasy high spf suncreens I've kept it under control. And hats! This drug can cause thinning of the skin which is why I rotate off of it when I'm doing well and taking good care of my skin makes the effects last for years! It's truly a miracle drug; I had horrible diseased looking skin until my twenties when I was put on this. It's been a true blessing.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brooke | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/29/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had to go to a higer dosage, and yet it made my skin red and dry but it was well worth it! it looks wonderfull now, my mother also uses it too its also cleard her skin up well too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiysha | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

a small sample was given to me from a friend. I searched for 4 years trying to find what it was that she had given me ( she had moved a way and i had no contact info). I finally found her and got the name. I am confident again finally! i am in love with tnis product. Not only does it get rid of acne, it also helps with fading the scars, and fast!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LoveMyGT | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've struggled with acne for about 5 years now, was using Proactiv off and on, which didn't work for me at all, Proactiv was a complete waste of money for me. Scheduled an appointment with my dermotologist, he put me Minocyclin for 2 months in combination with Retin-A once a day at bedtime and Cleocin T pads twice daily. My skin has improved greatly, been clear now for 3 months, still using Retin-A and will most likely continue using Retin-A to continue having clear skin, skin sensitivity is the only side effect I've had, and I think that's a small price to pay to have clear skin. Overall I'm very happy with Retin-A.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
3/3/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My skin has never looked better! So glad my dermatologist prescribed this!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/26/2010
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a bad reaction to this medicine.It gave me a sudo tumor. I spent weeks out of school. Had such headaches couldnt get out of bed. It would cause me to pass out and had to have spinal taps to relieve the pressure in my head. only part i was lucky on it didnt affect my sight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angelbird | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using it for acne; however, I also have malasma, and this is the first thing that I have used that is actually clearing it up. Several of my friends has noticed and I have not said a word to them about using it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More