Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

6 People found this comment helpful

this is a wonderful medication and if i would not of gotten on this medication i might not be alive today. i would recomend this treatment to anyone that has a addiction to opioids like vicoden or phentyol or most pain killers. i am on my way back to having my life back and alot of people that i know that are addcted to the phentyol patch are dying from over dose. i dont want to die so i am going ...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

my daughter died from it her first time! DEANDRA MAY 10/6/89-7/29/08 I LOVED HER SHE WAS MY LIFE MY LOVE

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/22/2015
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone Treatment SAVED my life. I just didn't realize how hard it would be to detox off methadone. Opiates didn't take much time(3 to 4 days) methadone takes MUCH longer. All in all though methadone kept me from taking opiates and has kept me alive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
duke | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2014
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Everyone should know that you will be exchanging dependency on methadone for your dependency on whatever else you were taking and methadone is a million times harder to withdraw from than oxycodone. If you take methadone for a few days while you are withdrawing from whatever else you were taking, it might work to allow you to stop taking the previous narcotic because methadone is stronger than oxycodone/oxycontin, but you will risk becoming dependent on the methadone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
InPlaidWeTrust | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/29/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am very happy I made the choice to sign onto MMT. I had 2.5 years sober (abstinence) and being an undertreated chronic pain patient made things difficult. So I chose to start taking opiates again and I noticed that things were spiraling out of control. I used to use IV before the first time getting sober and when I relapsed I didn't let it happen but I knew it was only a matter of time before I started again and that would've been the fire to light the shortcut back to full-on hell again. So I got admitted into the local clinic and it has been a fantastic experience. The counselors are so great and really want us to succeed and the nurses and doctor are wonderful as well. I am now a phasing patient (take-home doses) and my family is nothing but supportive of me. At first they were skeptical because of what they were told from the rehab I had gone through but once they read up on MMT, the benefits and everything, they have been 110% supportive. Life is really getting back to normal and I am even now in school for Graphic Design and I wouldn't be doing what I love if I hadn't gotten into MMT. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joeknows82 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/26/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment program, called "MMT" has truly saved my life, and has changed the relationships that I have with my Mother & my twin sister, all for the better. I have been in the "MMT" program for a few years, and I have recently decided to do a "blind" taper. That is when they slowly lower your dose, but they don't tell you how much, that way you don't have a placebo effect. Great Treatment option.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LeesWife | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/19/2014
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
terry tall | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/2/2013
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it keeps you from getting high from other opiatis. but when its time to get off methadone its going to be a bitch!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2013
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it has worked very well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/28/2012
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/16/2012
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone has stopped me from taking oxys I have been on it for 4 yrs and I despratly want off. If only the "Clinics" would tell you about the damage it does to your teeth,waitgain and wors of all when you have surgery methadone has a built in blocker in it.I had major surgery and was dying in pain because the medicine didnt work.Its fab at 1st later on its defanantly a neccessitty.To those who are thinking about getting on it. Remember THE HIGHER YOU TAKE YOU DOSE LOE LONGER YOU'LL BE DEPENDENT ON IT.Another good thing is I no longer do illegal things and have had the same Job for 4+yrsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moonwear | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/29/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Most effective over long run for skeletal/muscular/neurological moderate to severe pain. Duration of dose by far outweighs oxycodone, dilaudid, etc. in terms of effectiveness and length of time of relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smilineyes27 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/23/2011
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking methadone for almost 3 yrs and I have stayed drug free the entire time. I highly recommend doing a MMT program for ppl who have tried detox and rehab and it did not work, but really want to stay drug-free

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Driver | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/20/2011
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After years of pain medications I ended up using the top dose of some of the known addictive medications. After suffering for a few years with addiction, I started to use methadone oral and I feel like a new woman. My pain is tollerable and I do not want any other pain medication. If by chance you find youself taking pain medication and not being able to stop, talk with your doctor, that is what I did. He will help you decide what measures to take to stop taking pain medication. I chose methadone and I feel free, like I am living a whole new life that is worth living. Yes there is side effects like sweating, but as far a quality of life, I am living.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2011
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had great success with the treatment. I also have cronic pain & this has also helped with the pain & I can live a normal life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/8/2011
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/20/2010
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this drug has literally saved my life in many ways. however, the side effects can be impossible to live with. weight gain, loss of sex drive, inability to have an erection/orgasm are just a few of the details not discussed in the MMT Program.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
opiophile12 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/8/2010
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Other than the fact I am now dependent on this drug it has been a good experience. I do not feel it is appropriate for people who use only Vicodin or Percocet. Methadone is more intense withdrawal than either of those. If you are addicted to vicodin, I know from experience it is no walk in the park, try suboxone first.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
matt | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/26/2009
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone has been a godsend from my oxycontin addiction. Iwas an iv user. Methadone has kept me off it but now i have a new addiction to methadone. It takes longer to come off and now i have a new problem. I was up to 150 mgs a day of methadone and that docter got into trouble. Now i am down to 40 mgs a day and struggle every month to make my prescription last. It has put me into another hell. this does however keep me off the street and from stealing and hurting those around me. I am in a much better place staying out of trouble just with an addiction still. So at least my family and friends can look at me and not worry about their wallets, or be disgusted.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Done.pat.27 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2009
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on methadone liquid for about three years. Its been good for the cravings but to get to that point I had to go up on the dosage alot.Overall its helped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boaboa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2009
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is a wonderful medication and if i would not of gotten on this medication i might not be alive today. i would recomend this treatment to anyone that has a addiction to opioids like vicoden or phentyol or most pain killers. i am on my way back to having my life back and alot of people that i know that are addcted to the phentyol patch are dying from over dose. i dont want to die so i am going to make this work and never again use the patches or any kind of pain killer. i am not going to disfappoint my children ever again.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More