Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with BCC on the left side of my nose in the fall of 2007 and underwent surgery. It recurred in 2009 again having surgery with cryosurgery (freezing). By May 2010 it recurred. I was tired of having surgery and I wanted the cancer gone, so I decided to try Aldara. I read the inset that came with it understanding that it is a topical chemotherapy that works with your immune system. I ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

Aldara is a money spinning scam, it's dangerous, most painful and should long have been forbiten.

Shared reviews and ratings

Crumpet121 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/10/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment regimen was a real test of endurance. I used this to treat some small warts around the anus and the groin, which appeared after I had a large wart in the groin removed through surgery. This treatment was really tough going and only really started to work after 11 weeks. To be honest, I thought it work sooner if it was going to work and also because I had a lot of inflammation, weeping and rawness. I also bled quite a bit and had to repeatedly stop the treatment. I got to about 14 weeks before I had to quit because I wasn’t healing anymore and the pain was too much but after a few weeks of stopping, I am pretty much back to normal, which I honestly never thought would happen especially as treatment caused one of my small warts to get quite swollen. Because of location, it was difficult to be sparing with application, which probably contributed to symptoms. I used one sachet per week and kept in a zip lock bag in the fridge because its not cheap and this worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dianne | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished my two week n treatment on my facial cheek that v was eraser size and now it's about the size of a dime. It's fire engine red around the dried scab. It's a little sore. I'm hopeful that this treatment will work. I did blue light treatments and it helped a little bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ Gibson | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Following cheek replacement surgery for multiple bccs, my surgeon was loathe to open up eyebrow (again) for remaining bccs so prescribed Aldara. I have psoriasis and had previously declined this treatment due to concerns about my immune response. Did topical treatment on very small area above eyebrow for six weeks, have been sick and somewhat disabled ever since. Not much skin reaction at site, but bad taste in mouth, a few weeks in awful nausea and the â??flu-like symptomsâ?? which sound mild but left me miserable on the couch for weeks. Exercising felt like wading through mud. Back pain worsened after treatment until one morning I couldnâ??t stand upright due to excruciating pain when hip extended. Physio helped and Iâ??m back to slow jogging and yoga but I still have a numb left leg, trouble with stairs, and chronic back pain (itâ??s been a year now, never had any of this preAldara). I definitely donâ??t recommend this, especially if you have autoimmune or similar tendencies. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Huffshoneyb | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Vulvar Intraepithelial Neoplasia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only two weeks in of a 12 week course. (3 times a week) So far I've had numerous side effects. I feel nauseous, tired, hot flashes, changes in my vision, my whole body itches (especially my head which is weird considering the cream goes on my nether regions) and have almost fallen twice in the last week. It makes me so sick. It hurts to urinate, only because the area being treated is red and oozing. I've had to remove my underwear at work because it caused me such pain. If this medication does what it claims, then it will be worth it. I've had one surgery to remove the cancer, and it came back. Hoping this will do it. But only being two weeks in, at the moment I'd prefer surgery. I don't know if I can handle three months of this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickeyfin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an older red head pale skin with actinic keratosis. I have used imiquimod repeatedly over 10 years. I have never had side effects except local, including burning,itching, increased number of lesions and bleeding. I am using it now on my chest for the 4th time. Each time gets better results. I have used it 2 weeks and now need a break. But I will go back to it as soon as the open lesions heal. I have had 2 SCC that required surgery, so I am motivated to treat this AK early. It is the best alternative I have found for a person with hundreds of lesions. My face is entirely clear now, but my chest needs more treatment. I tried to be a sun bunny in my youth, the wrong thing to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacey29 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2019
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its been over a month applying aldara to very small warts. Its literally made them all grow and made others appear. Is this my immune system bringing all the warts to the surface or what? This is stupid!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Aldara cream for a skin cancer on my head.I used it for 4 weeks. I now have a large bald patch . My dermatologist told me that I would not lose my hair. I now feel suicidal and very very depressed. I just can�t face the world like this. It is a horrible disfigurement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TigerLily | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with a small BCC on the side of my nose, very close to my eye, and prescribed Aldara cream for 6 weeks (5 days on, 2 days off). Nothing happened for the first 4 weeks and then the area started going red and scaly. It is now 6 and a half weeks since I started treatment and the area looks awful - has increased in size and is red and crusty. The skin irritation has spread right into the corner of my eye which is painful and rather worrying as I have wet macular degeneration in that eye. I know this means the cream is working, but I look as if I have a disgusting and contagious skin problem! Due to the closeness of the BCC to my eye, I did find applying the cream difficult. I used an earbud to apply the cream so am not sure if I used a sufficient amount. The only side effect I've noticed is that I am very tired all the time. Hopefully it will start clearing up now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martina | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Apsara for a BCC on my shoulder and face and my body reacted badly. Severe fatigue, headache and nausea and dizziness. I used it twice a month apart and had the same reaction! It's now more than 10days and I am still sick!. The BCC appears gone but I feel terrible. I am usually a healthy and fit 61year old who takes no medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jewel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in my 5th week of using Aldara. I live in the West Indies where it is mostly sunny and hence hot. ( Added in case that info may be of use) A few new things have been happening since using it.... perhaps side effects. Heaviness on chest like food it not being digested properly sleep interference Redness on site ( BCC OM SIDE OF FACE OS BEING TREATED) - crusty at wk 4 into 5 of 6 weeks (use nightly and break on weekends) Muscle pain though I had a bit prior to use Swollen gland under chin Fatigue The area was small before use.I had a regular sized pimple now it is a conspicuous spot that has persons enquiring about it. It is hard to tell where to apply since other pimple-like nodules came up in Wk 3 and has merged with original one. This is the most frustrating part since I fear apllying to the wrong area thus defeating the purpose. Oh, how can I forget..... the most significant side effect for me is the ITCHING around the area. I give thanks though, the raised nodules are flat and at wk5, the crusty area feels as if it is healing.... not too tender to touch and dry even after I have washed my face. If it works, I see Dr. in a month, the side effect would be worth it since none has been extremely significant. I.must add that I have albinism and also that one sachet lasts for one week. My Dr. hinted I could use and store in a sealed bag in the refrigerator. The dermatologist was sure to add it was not a recommendation. Hope I have been of help to someone. Previous reviews have really helped me to stick to the treatment. I would have been scared if my experiences were not shared by others who used before and made me know wjat to expect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Confirmed diagnosis of Basal Cell cancer on the face. Tried this medication on one side of my face, and within two weeks had the worst cold/flu symptoms I have ever had in my life. I knew this was a side effect of the medication, and immediately stopped it. Called the doctor to report it and was told, "Oh, that's not from the drug..". I responded to the PA who made that comment to READ THE PI for known side effects. Did not finish as I did not want to suffer for six weeks of this. So I can't speak of results. Opted for Photodynamic therapy which is one day, one treatment. Know that you have other options in treating this problem, and check with your doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abear | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara on my nose only,for 9 days, I developed a cold sore on my lip. It grew into a huge, painful lesion, cracked, bleeding lips and red, raw patches inside my lip. It was so painful that I was on the verge of tears for a week. 2 weeks later, it's still not better. My doctor and the patient info didn't warn me topical Aldara could become systemic and lead to such a drastic side effect. There should be better patient ed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara I have now developed an autoiimmune disease. In very good health prior.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara I have now developed an auto immune disease. In very good health prior.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I now have Sjögren syndrome and am convinced it is from the Aldara.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Aldara for genital warts that after being biopsied were determined to be precancerous lesions on. Y scrotum. This creamâ??s side effects were horrible to my penis, as it caused the foreskin to swell and become severely inflamed and sore, much like a burn. Walking, even sitting or sleep became an issue and I finally could no longer withstand the pain and visited my dermatologist again, who advised I stop the treatment and use a steroid based ointment along with Muciprocin (Bactriban I understood). I am currently on day two of this and have some relief and can sleep again. I am on medical leave until this settles down.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jadefish7 | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this for treating a BCC and wart on my shoulder. It worked like magic and I had no side effects. My dermatologist told me to prick the sachet with a pin and squeeze out only what I needed. A sachet lasted for the three days, so I wasn't using much. Perhaps this is why I was so lucky. My experience with having BCCs removed surgically (many) is also excellent, no scarring at all if done by a plastic surgeon, so don't be afraid to go that route.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/3/2017
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used 3x a week as prescribed and woke up one day with bright red skin and oozing blisters. Extremely painful to the point where I can barely walk. Make sure that you use the least bit amount of this stuff and don't let it touch surrounding skin unless you want to be unable to walk and in excruciating pain for a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
disappointed | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BEWARE using on the face near hairline - Prescribed Aldara cream for facial sun damage near the hairline it didn't work but it did cause alopecia - I have been told it might grow back - the hair loss is the size of a 50p piece - my Dermatologist did not warn me of this side effect and nor did the accompanying leaflet with the drug so beware it has been 10 months now and the hair loss has caused more stress than the sun damage - I will be writing to the company very soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/31/2017
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor prescribed Aldara for my face. I stopped the medication after 3 weeks (it was prescribed for 4 weeks). Shortly after starting the medication I developed bright red spots covering most of my face that look like chicken pox. The medication activated my cold sore virus so my entire upper lip is covered in cold sores. I'm now on a medication to help heal cold sores and am applying a steroid cream to decrease inflammation. I would not recommend this medication to anyone, especially on the face.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More