Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

I was diagnosed with BCC on the left side of my nose in the fall of 2007 and underwent surgery. It recurred in 2009 again having surgery with cryosurgery (freezing). By May 2010 it recurred. I was tired of having surgery and I wanted the cancer gone, so I decided to try Aldara. I read the inset that came with it understanding that it is a topical chemotherapy that works with your immune system. I ...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

Aldara is a money spinning scam, it's dangerous, most painful and should long have been forbiten.

Shared reviews and ratings

Johnny | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Superficial BCC, inflammation within two weeks. Removed lesion totally, leaving a small subcutaneous depression. Also removed a 8 mm patch of psoriasis which became a scab within 10 days and healed as normal skin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sammy lee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with HPV in 2021 when I noticed little clusters forming and then spreading. They kept getting bigger and the doctor recommended coming in and burning them off. Last minute she prescribed me two of the imiquomod creams. At first it just made my warts more itchy and hard to ignore but after the first week I noticed that they were shrinking in size and turning darker . After 3 weeks my warts were gone. It does burn if contacted with unaffected parts of the labia so I always put Vaseline it. 10/10 would recommend Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PC | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/6/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Recently had a confirmed bcc on my lower leg. Was prescribed Aldara (5wk treatment) in the hopes of avoiding surgery which I had had on my other leg 12mths earlier in almost the exact same spot. Used the cream and got nothing including no side effects. No scabbing, no redness - absolutely nothing. It was more like a moisturiser for me. As a result, I now have matching scars on each leg.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Aldara for a superficial BCC on my upper chest/neck area. I freaked out after reading so many negative reviews but started the treatment with fear! Now I can’t say it was a walk in the park but four weeks now since stopping the cream and the area has completely healed. I saw my Dr today who confirmed the results have been fabulous. You must expect terrible crusting, oozing, itching and for the area itself to be very red. Mine actually grew in size and some outlying damaged areas also reacted. But this reaction is what you need to zap the bad cells away. I also felt very tired from week 2 or 3. I did 5 days on and 2 days off for 6 weeks. After stopping the cream the area soon started to heal. The transformation was amazing. If you are prescribed this please use it and please get to the end of the course. It works. (PS. I am not 19-24 but the drop down menu didn’t work on my tablet - I am in my mid 50s.)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sjjshs | 19-24 | Male | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I remember reading about this treatment and was unsure whether or not to go for it. But I was desperate at this point as I had been suffering for quite a few months and the freezing etc hadn’t been working. Within one month of using the cream I was completely clear. At first it was a bit sore but I stuck with it and reaped the rewards so I would recommended giving it a go!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PeteA | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/11/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have had genital warts for years and took me some time to try out Aldara, due to horror stories. Boy, am I glad I did! Have now been using it for 3 weeks and my cluster of warts have reduced 80% and I am sure they will be fully gone in 1-2 weeks more. Tips: DO NOT add too much of this!! Only a thin layer on the warts, 3 times per week. Rub it in, let it dry and sleep with it on. Do not expect to see results the first 1-2 weeks. Be patient! Side effects: Small blisters where the cream touched healthy skin at night. But nothing compared to the joy of the results. This does work! It’s that simple! Just be patient and DON’T overdose!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Crumpet121 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/10/2022
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This treatment regimen was a real test of endurance. I used this to treat some small warts around the anus and the groin, which appeared after I had a large wart in the groin removed through surgery. This treatment was really tough going and only really started to work after 11 weeks. To be honest, I thought it work sooner if it was going to work and also because I had a lot of inflammation, weeping and rawness. I also bled quite a bit and had to repeatedly stop the treatment. I got to about 14 weeks before I had to quit because I wasn’t healing anymore and the pain was too much but after a few weeks of stopping, I am pretty much back to normal, which I honestly never thought would happen especially as treatment caused one of my small warts to get quite swollen. Because of location, it was difficult to be sparing with application, which probably contributed to symptoms. I used one sachet per week and kept in a zip lock bag in the fridge because its not cheap and this worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dianne | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/26/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just finished my two week n treatment on my facial cheek that v was eraser size and now it's about the size of a dime. It's fire engine red around the dried scab. It's a little sore. I'm hopeful that this treatment will work. I did blue light treatments and it helped a little bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ Gibson | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Following cheek replacement surgery for multiple bccs, my surgeon was loathe to open up eyebrow (again) for remaining bccs so prescribed Aldara. I have psoriasis and had previously declined this treatment due to concerns about my immune response. Did topical treatment on very small area above eyebrow for six weeks, have been sick and somewhat disabled ever since. Not much skin reaction at site, but bad taste in mouth, a few weeks in awful nausea and the â??flu-like symptomsâ?? which sound mild but left me miserable on the couch for weeks. Exercising felt like wading through mud. Back pain worsened after treatment until one morning I couldnâ??t stand upright due to excruciating pain when hip extended. Physio helped and Iâ??m back to slow jogging and yoga but I still have a numb left leg, trouble with stairs, and chronic back pain (itâ??s been a year now, never had any of this preAldara). I definitely donâ??t recommend this, especially if you have autoimmune or similar tendencies. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Huffshoneyb | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/12/2019
Condition: Vulvar Intraepithelial Neoplasia
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am only two weeks in of a 12 week course. (3 times a week) So far I've had numerous side effects. I feel nauseous, tired, hot flashes, changes in my vision, my whole body itches (especially my head which is weird considering the cream goes on my nether regions) and have almost fallen twice in the last week. It makes me so sick. It hurts to urinate, only because the area being treated is red and oozing. I've had to remove my underwear at work because it caused me such pain. If this medication does what it claims, then it will be worth it. I've had one surgery to remove the cancer, and it came back. Hoping this will do it. But only being two weeks in, at the moment I'd prefer surgery. I don't know if I can handle three months of this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mickeyfin | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/22/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am an older red head pale skin with actinic keratosis. I have used imiquimod repeatedly over 10 years. I have never had side effects except local, including burning,itching, increased number of lesions and bleeding. I am using it now on my chest for the 4th time. Each time gets better results. I have used it 2 weeks and now need a break. But I will go back to it as soon as the open lesions heal. I have had 2 SCC that required surgery, so I am motivated to treat this AK early. It is the best alternative I have found for a person with hundreds of lesions. My face is entirely clear now, but my chest needs more treatment. I tried to be a sun bunny in my youth, the wrong thing to do. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lacey29 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2019
Condition: External Genital Warts
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its been over a month applying aldara to very small warts. Its literally made them all grow and made others appear. Is this my immune system bringing all the warts to the surface or what? This is stupid!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/3/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Aldara cream for a skin cancer on my head.I used it for 4 weeks. I now have a large bald patch . My dermatologist told me that I would not lose my hair. I now feel suicidal and very very depressed. I just can�t face the world like this. It is a horrible disfigurement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TigerLily | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with a small BCC on the side of my nose, very close to my eye, and prescribed Aldara cream for 6 weeks (5 days on, 2 days off). Nothing happened for the first 4 weeks and then the area started going red and scaly. It is now 6 and a half weeks since I started treatment and the area looks awful - has increased in size and is red and crusty. The skin irritation has spread right into the corner of my eye which is painful and rather worrying as I have wet macular degeneration in that eye. I know this means the cream is working, but I look as if I have a disgusting and contagious skin problem! Due to the closeness of the BCC to my eye, I did find applying the cream difficult. I used an earbud to apply the cream so am not sure if I used a sufficient amount. The only side effect I've noticed is that I am very tired all the time. Hopefully it will start clearing up now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Martina | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Apsara for a BCC on my shoulder and face and my body reacted badly. Severe fatigue, headache and nausea and dizziness. I used it twice a month apart and had the same reaction! It's now more than 10days and I am still sick!. The BCC appears gone but I feel terrible. I am usually a healthy and fit 61year old who takes no medication!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jewel | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am in my 5th week of using Aldara. I live in the West Indies where it is mostly sunny and hence hot. ( Added in case that info may be of use) A few new things have been happening since using it.... perhaps side effects. Heaviness on chest like food it not being digested properly sleep interference Redness on site ( BCC OM SIDE OF FACE OS BEING TREATED) - crusty at wk 4 into 5 of 6 weeks (use nightly and break on weekends) Muscle pain though I had a bit prior to use Swollen gland under chin Fatigue The area was small before use.I had a regular sized pimple now it is a conspicuous spot that has persons enquiring about it. It is hard to tell where to apply since other pimple-like nodules came up in Wk 3 and has merged with original one. This is the most frustrating part since I fear apllying to the wrong area thus defeating the purpose. Oh, how can I forget..... the most significant side effect for me is the ITCHING around the area. I give thanks though, the raised nodules are flat and at wk5, the crusty area feels as if it is healing.... not too tender to touch and dry even after I have washed my face. If it works, I see Dr. in a month, the side effect would be worth it since none has been extremely significant. I.must add that I have albinism and also that one sachet lasts for one week. My Dr. hinted I could use and store in a sealed bag in the refrigerator. The dermatologist was sure to add it was not a recommendation. Hope I have been of help to someone. Previous reviews have really helped me to stick to the treatment. I would have been scared if my experiences were not shared by others who used before and made me know wjat to expect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/27/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Confirmed diagnosis of Basal Cell cancer on the face. Tried this medication on one side of my face, and within two weeks had the worst cold/flu symptoms I have ever had in my life. I knew this was a side effect of the medication, and immediately stopped it. Called the doctor to report it and was told, "Oh, that's not from the drug..". I responded to the PA who made that comment to READ THE PI for known side effects. Did not finish as I did not want to suffer for six weeks of this. So I can't speak of results. Opted for Photodynamic therapy which is one day, one treatment. Know that you have other options in treating this problem, and check with your doctor.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
abear | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara on my nose only,for 9 days, I developed a cold sore on my lip. It grew into a huge, painful lesion, cracked, bleeding lips and red, raw patches inside my lip. It was so painful that I was on the verge of tears for a week. 2 weeks later, it's still not better. My doctor and the patient info didn't warn me topical Aldara could become systemic and lead to such a drastic side effect. There should be better patient ed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara I have now developed an autoiimmune disease. In very good health prior.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After using Aldara I have now developed an auto immune disease. In very good health prior.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More