Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

27 People found this comment helpful

9yr old son was wetting multiple times nightly...feeling self conscious having to wear pull-ups every night, he has taken this med for 3 months-- and it works wonderfully! He never forgets to take it and feels better about himself!! We will try to taper off in 3 more months per MD's recommendation.... and hopefully he won't need this med any longer....but for now----YEAH!

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

My 12 yr old son just started this, first week nothing, then night before no bed wetting. Hopeful this will help.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/23/2021
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Desmopressin Acetate all my life, I was born with Diabetes Insipidus. This medication safe my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WM1984 | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2016
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 24 years. I came back to the united states at the age of 8. The town had very high fluoride levels in the water. In a few weeks I was always thirsty and wetting the bed. A doctor started me on a high dosage of the refrigerated fluid. It was a nightmare as a kid to manage the 3 dosages a day. I would forget and almost wet my pants at school. After college I got a good job and medical insurance so I could afford the tablets. That changed my life. I run marathons, 24 hour adventure races, climb mountains. I am 32 now, over the last few months the symptoms are lessening. I was on 3 pills per day. Down to 1.5 .1mg per day now. On one hand I am thankful for this medication I would not have a life without it. On the other hand, I had been told by a specialist that receiving such a high dosage as a child may have permanently damaged the gland that produces the anti-diuretic hormone. A better course of action would have been to isolate whatever had introduced the disruption from my life. I recommend seeing a specialist before taking large doses. I wonder how my life would have been different if my doctor had been able to find a root cause rather than treating the symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/29/2016
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Damaged pituitary in auto accident in 1989 and have been using ever since. Started with spray but needed refrigeration. Take 5 pills per day (2 in am and 3 in pm). Still get some temporary nausea after use. Can't live without it though. Keep eye on electrolytes. Maybe potassium and magnesium supplement. Confirm with physician.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mom of a great kid | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
10/16/2015
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 15 year old frist tried this drug when he was about 9 and had no success at all. We tried again starting at 14 and found it often doesnt work the first night but will the next. We were told it should ONLY be used for sleep overs and not on going or long term. Doctor said it can cause kidney damage and might lose its effectiveness so use only when needed. Yet I see so many here using it always. However, some say its lost its effectiveness.Diabetics take it 203 tines a day! So I"m curious to what the true story is. If it does lose its effectiveness I much prefer he use it now as needed and more once in college if still needed. I wish and hope someone is doing the research to find a cure or long term drug. Did you know the NBA AND NFL contracts ask the question, "Do you wet the bed?' because there is a population of older adults who wet the bed. I wish the stigma could be removed and people saw it for the illness it is, like diabetes. I do not believe its a psychological disorder. In fact, it runs in families. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FibromyalgiaSurvivour | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month |
11/29/2014
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recently started desmopressin for bedwetting. I was put on 0.1mg tablets to take one at night which did barely anything, so was put up to 0.2mg per night. The 0.2mg dose seems to work and I have more dry nights than I do wet nights. It was getting ridiculous, I was betwetting about 3-5 times a night, a stop needed to be put to it. This tablet does help, I still get some wet beds but it is actually quite uncommon. Aslong as I reduce my fluid intake in the evening, desmopressin is very likely to work and leave me with a dry night, but if I drink a lot shortly before taking it, it's less likely to work because it doesn't stop urine production, it reduces it, so reducing your fluid intake about 4 hours before taking the tablet will help you get a more-than-likely dry night, aswell as preventing fluid overload and hyponatraemia, which can cause feeling sick, reduced appetite, headache, muscle pain, confusion. Untreated cases can lead to tiredness, disorientation, agitation, psychosis, seizures. If still untreated you can stop breathing and enter a coma, so don't drink for 2 hours before taking it and for up to 8-10 hours after taking it. I have had no side-effects so far and have been on the for one month. Sometimes I get a wet bed but I have found that reducing my fluid intake about 4pm helps, as I can urinate the excess fluid out and then when I have done that about 10:30pm, I take the tablet and go to bed. I recommend it for bedwetting in adults, but if you plan to take it and you are looking at the comments and you see my comment, listen to my advice listed above first, if you see this comment ofcourse.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eli | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/5/2014
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great.but im not sure why this site doesn't mention that there is a liquid form of this med as well which also works MUCH better than the pills....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I usually get up 3 times a night to urinate when I take the pill and 5-6 times a night without the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/30/2014
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter started taking this and had instant results. I'm not sure that is the case with everyone but we are very happy with it. We have only been taking for 3 weeks and hoping to wean off within a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/22/2013
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rog | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have an urgency to go to the toilet around 4:30am to 7:30am. I was on .1mg but the doctor moved me up to .2. The .2 is doing a better job than the .1 but I was wondering if a .3mg would be OK to take?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guinea Pig | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/14/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was a subject in a study testing the efficacy of desmopressin to relieve nighttime urination in adults. For that purpose it worked excellently. In the 35 days I was on the study, I went from voiding 3 to 4 times per night before the study to once or no times per night. HOWEVER, the quality and quantity of my sleep went down significantly. While on the drug, I was getting 1 to 2 hours less sleep per night, and I generally felt froggy during the day. I napped much more frequently while on the drug. The study was slated to last for 90 or 120 days. I was removed from the study group after 35 days because I twice tested at too-low sodium levels.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
erniecaron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/14/2011
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

not sure what generic formula has cause me to break out in a rash. can u list the different com. that make this generic. i was given one at the local wal mart that didnt give me the rash the one from medco is the one that gives me the rash

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No more wet bed | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
4/2/2010
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 12 yr old son just started this, first week nothing, then night before no bed wetting. Hopeful this will help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
3/13/2010
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son has been taking the medication for 2 weeks. The first week he only had 1 nite of wetness. Now it's not working so well, ever night he's been a little wet.His dr. wants him to take it a couple of more weeks than he need to be weaned off the meds. His dr. does not want him to take the drug long term since it is not a cure. She feels children that bed wet are missing a connection in the brain to instinctively get up at nite and go to the bathroom. We can only use it for trips. Dr.'s recommend using a bell/bedwetting method when a child starts to go it wakes them up so they learn to get up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/8/2010
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't know what was going with me for many years. I couln't stop the excessive intake of fluids untill my doctor finally did a overnight study on my thirst. This Medication is amazing, and am completely greatfull for it. It has even helped my sleeping habits get back to normal. Of course if a miss a dose or "forget" to take it, my family knows right away. I drink up everyting in sight.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 3-6 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/10/2010
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my doctor gave this to my daughter to help her bedwetting problem. it works good she only has a accident every now and then. she had had no side affects, it is good she is 5 years old

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dottie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
10/29/2009
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kelliegirl33 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/22/2009
Condition: Diabetes Insipidus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My pituitary gland was damaged as a result of a brain tumor. Therefore,I was diagnosed with diabetes insepidus. I was prescribed desmopressin. I take one pill in the morning, and one and a half pills in the evening. I have had no problems with this medication. I now can drink normally and pee normally. The only thing I am having problems with is the cost of it. It is expensive, but that is another story.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
babygirl | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
5/27/2009
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my daughter has been using this medication for 1.5 yrs. It was working in the beginging now it hardly ever works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cocoa | 7-12 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
5/9/2009
Condition: Bedwetting
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the medication worked for a while but then didn't continue to be as effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More