Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I have been using Azelex for 2 weeks and I have noticed significant improvement. Fewer pimples have formed, and scars/hyperpigmentation has decreased since using. I've tried many other products that either worsen my skin or dry it out significantly. I have not had that problem with Azelex. It did not burn when I first started using it but on occassion there is slight tinhling. I am pleased wi...

Shared reviews and ratings

HORRIBLE RESULTS. | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

TERRIBLE. After struggling with acne, my dermatologist prescribed me Azelex 20%, and advised that i apply it twice a day and to mix it with moisturizer because it tends to dry out skin. After 3 days, it completely ruined my skin. Even after using *so much* moisturizer, it would burn my face and itch. After 2 days i figured i should keep giving it a chance. However on the 3rd day my face was just completely ruined. i woke up and my face was unbelievably DRY. my face formed wrinkles and i looked like an elder. Not to mention, my skin was peeling everywhere. It left dark patches of hyperpigmentation around my mouth, nose, and forehead. I was left with my face in a worse condition than when i started using Azelex. i don't know what to do know, i think it left me with a chemical burn or something of the sort. Now i'm left using homemade remedies to try to salvage all that i can. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Former Pizza Face | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/2/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed a half-dozen different medicines for acne treatment in my teens and early 20s. Some did not work at all, others worked well but only for a short time. Azelex was like a miracle because it started working within the first two weeks, and has kept working for over 14 years. It did initially redden my skin and cause pretty harsh burning, but that lasted less than six months and has never returned since my body adapted to the medicine. Applying twice a day is annoying, and there are no generics available so the prescription is expensive. Those are my only complaints. This medication has definitely changed my life for the better.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Azelex 20% | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I had put the Azelex on it help. It help's keep the acne away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yoyo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/11/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using Azelex in July 2013 twice a day and by September my face has cleared 90%. The only thing that is not positive is the price of $260 ! But worth it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/29/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had a severe allergic reaction at first application. Hives and face swelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jragirl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/13/2011
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for my mod-severe acne. Despite having bad acne my skin is very sensitive and things such as salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide and clindamycin lotion only worsened my acne due to irritation. This medication is so gentle and quite effective. My skin isnt 100% clear but if I don't use the azelex i notice a huge difference. love it! recommend it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YO RO | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/14/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have milia i use the 20% in am and tretinoin 0.05% in pm this combination works well for me decreases keratin production in differnt ways

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/28/2009
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Azelex for close to 6 weeks. While my outbreaks are somewhat milder and don't last as long, they aren't non-existent. I'm trying to get pregnant, so my doctor prescribed this since it's safe for use during pregnancy. However, if I were not trying, I would probably request something stronger.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2009
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Azelex for 2 weeks and I have noticed significant improvement. Fewer pimples have formed, and scars/hyperpigmentation has decreased since using. I've tried many other products that either worsen my skin or dry it out significantly. I have not had that problem with Azelex. It did not burn when I first started using it but on occassion there is slight tinhling. I am pleased with the product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2009
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been using this for three weeks I am seeing alot of clearing up. I just hope that my skin stays clear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
musthors | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/14/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

waiting for a miracle

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2009
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More