Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

Extremely difficult to take for ALS patients. No coating so pill dissolves in mouth with any level of swallowing difficulty - which all ALS patients have.

Shared reviews and ratings

JP1 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2016
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Riluzole for nearly three months now. I began taking it after the fasciculations in my left arm (which began September 2015) caused my hand to become weaker. Not sure it is working but at this point my left arm has become nearly crippled. Today my right arm is almost normal but with a slight weakness in my right hand. It's my driving arm, with the help of a steering knob! Is it the drug that's holding the progression at bay? How can I tell?? Lately i've been having trouble sleeping but could be the pain in my left shoulder... my appetite is nearly nonexistent though I continue eating at my normal times. Doc says alcohol is fine and the last two liver tests came out ok so wine, beer, etc. are still on the menu! Oh, I've also forgotten to take it a total of eight times now!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zardoz | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/22/2016
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Because every ALS progression is different I don't know if this medication is effective. After 3 years and now totally paralyzed and unable to breath, eat or drink I am stopping the drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ridge rock | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/17/2016
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Extremely difficult to take for ALS patients. No coating so pill dissolves in mouth with any level of swallowing difficulty - which all ALS patients have.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/11/2015
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

am more tired and eat less. condition has worsened but still feel medication worth taking. also expensive as insurance doesn't cover it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/22/2014
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Sleepy always and increased muscle weekness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Belindacamp | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
3/16/2014
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bigbob | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2013
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
judo1942 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2011
Condition: Lou Gehrig's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More