Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

16 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking OxyIR for a little over a year now. I take it in conjunction with Methadone, which is a long acting narcotic. The combination of the drugs keep my pain under control fairly well. I have 3 ruptured discs in my low back, and 3 that are bulging in my middle back. To make matters worse, I have 2 discs that are herniated in my neck. Essentially, I need a new spine. I wonder whe...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

the worst pain reliver ever

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/6/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
micheal | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/9/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i feel alittle better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
10/27/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Severe migraines, degenerative arthritis and major depression

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chaser45144 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/4/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

helps for about 4 hours then stops working

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ic oxycodone hcl | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/8/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/13/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take OxyIR for chronic back pain. If I take this med at the very first sign of break-through pain, it works wonderfully. Unfortunately, if I hold off taking it for some reason (shopping, driving, etc.-with my med at home or packed) it doesn't work well for me. Overall, I would rate this med as 5 stars.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2011
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If not for this drug i cannot function normally

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cromain | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/18/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it helps my back pain my optic neuritis and my fibromyalgia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/6/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tigerwolfpup | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/31/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have severe disc problems in 2 different areas of my spine and i also have problems with m,y neck and my dr put me on the 30mg oxyIR. It has been a great help for me,at least i can bend down to pick up things without severe pain.This is a great drug as long as you take it as you should.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
betternow420 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/4/2011
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After having four knee operations, including two that my first ortho doctor performed that I didnt need, as well as 14 radiation treatments that made things worse. My second ortho doctor did 2 more surgeries to try and repair what the first doctor messed up. So I have been on many different medications for the past 5 years. Including Oxycontin 20mg and 10 mg, Oxymrophone 30 mg, Vicodin 5 and 10 mgs, percocet, and nothing works as quickly and better than the OxyIR 15mgs that I am currently taking 3 times a day. If you need medicine that works quickly and don't have long term effects, this is the medicine that will work best for that. Starts working in like 10-15 minutes. Although it don't last for all day, but for quick break thru pain it works great. The only problem I have had with this medicine is when I first started taking it, I had trouble using the restroom. And if you stop taking this medicine the first few days after stopping are rough. Other than that this medicine works wonders for me. If not for this medicine I would be confined to a bed for the enitire day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
caliguy58 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/11/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe lower back pain, among other things, for the past 6 years, including degenerative disc disease, Kyphoscoliosis, arthritis, etc. For breakthrough pain, it's absolutely the best for me. No side effects, and immediate pain relief. That's all I can ask for from any pain medicine and this is the only one that has given it to me. The 30 mg tablets have been a true lifesaver for me as they relieve even the worst pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/9/2010
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have to take too many pills at one time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jhood78 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2010
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a +HLA-B27 causing Ankylosing Spodylitis,psoriatic arthritis, spondyloarthropy,DJD,Degenerative disc disease,osteoarthritis,D Quervain(sp?)tendonitis,5surgeries between both hands, fusion Left thumb, 3 level cervical fusion,lower back pain,fibromyalgia with myofacial pain, chronic head aches.Bone spurs at every joint and other ailments. My Rhuematologist calls me his "multi etiology" patient. I also take Oxycontin 60mg CR, Remicade infusions every 6 wks-max dose. Zanaflex muscle relaxers, Ativan 2mg 1 tab am, 1 noon, 2 bedtime. And Zoloft for depression..I can't imagine why..being a little sarcastic there. Oxy 5mg IR doesn't even began to phase me. I did better with Norco 10/325. I requested to reduce my Oxycontin 80mg CR because of all the meds I take. Did I ever make a mistake. I pray my regular Dr. will put me back what I was on. His "helper Dr." (dosen't do epidurals only sees pts. My REAL dr. will see me this next time and maybe he will listen. I requested an epidural and the "other dr" I guess wasn't listening or forgot. I have had several over the years. I am upset and in pain. Almost to the point that some days I can't hardly stand it. I pray for a healing. God's will, will be done though.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/22/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

good pain killer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
red | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/14/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if not for the use of this medication, i could not even fintion, getting out of bed in the mornings would be unberable,I have severe back and neck pain,daily..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymouse | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/2/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking OxyIR for a little over a year now. I take it in conjunction with Methadone, which is a long acting narcotic. The combination of the drugs keep my pain under control fairly well. I have 3 ruptured discs in my low back, and 3 that are bulging in my middle back. To make matters worse, I have 2 discs that are herniated in my neck. Essentially, I need a new spine. I wonder when Doctors are going to start implanting new spines in humans? Sadly, it is probably too far off to do any benefit to me. So, I'll keep taking my narcotics I guess, and keep trying to make each day livable. I live in Illinois, and the state is considering medical marijuana. If that passes, my Dr. has already said I would most likely be coming off the Methadone and use marijuana as the long acting pain med with OxyIR being the break-through pain med still. OxyIR does work fairly well for short term pain. But if you are using it exclusively for your pain management, it is NOT the right medication. If your Dr. put you on this, perhaps you could suggest that they try you on the sustained release version of this drug, OxyContin. That's about all I can think of to share. I hope all, for all of us, that our pain is managed effectively. Peace to you all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mandylyn20 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/7/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been put on so many different narcodic pain meds in the last 8 months including morphine 12 hour release pills, Norco, but oxycodone either liquid or in pill form is the only thing that works for my pain. I have extreamly severe cystic ovarian disease. So yeah and I take 4 mg pills every 4 hours and it works wonders.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More