Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

58 People found this comment helpful

This is the ONLY muscle relaxer that is worth a damn, unless you want to take something that makes you lay flat on your back like flexeril and gives you cotton mouth like you drank too much. skelaxin - can you say USELESS and expensive on top of that. I always find it humorous that the doctors who won't prescribe soma because it is "addictive". it is "addictive" because it actually WORKS...

Most voted negative review

15 People found this comment helpful

DANGER!!! This is the worst drug ever, more addictive than narcotics, my mom took it and acted "DRUNK" slurring of speach loss of urine public nudity unsafe sex inability to walk etc... I watched this from 9 yrs to 24yrs when she quit taking them, I also used and abused SOMA, DR'S really should be more aware of the risks with this drug.... Just take anything but this.

Shared reviews and ratings

Michelle McKenzie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2020
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm actually frustrated, I was on Soma 350 4xday, but then the government decided it was an addictive drug and then after being on it for over 7 years and it being the ONLY muscle relaxant that has ever worked, my doctor said I couldn't have it anymore. Now they have me on 2 different muscle relaxants, Flexiril 10 mg 4xday and Tizadine 4mgx4day, and they don't work at. They are supposed to help me with the muscle spasms and the extreme cramps I get in my legs and back, which they do nothing. I would give anything to be able to get the Soma back. I have a pain management appointment on February 18th and I'm going to ask again. My pain level is pretty much a constant 9, and it's from my neck all the way down to my left foot, I have already had one lower back surgery. Both of my shoulders are so messed up, that I can't barely pick up my purse. My advice is, if you really need Soma or you were on it and then took you off of it because of the government, keep fighting for what you need!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2015
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this is the best for back aches & neck pain & muscle spasms, mine due to being rear ended in auto accident. i get 90 to 100 a month. somedays will take more, if hurting bad. but if i do, run out a week or so early. the only effect i have if run out is- i hurt more. it has recently been made a schedule drug and it is a crock of crap. it is not addictive. so for those who may think it is, i would have to say it is you, not the med. at most, if hurting bad, i have taken another a couple of hours after the 1st. but i have never taken 2 or more at a time. so again, if you take many at a time, it is You, not the med. it falls in the family of asprin. many of these reviews i've read say that people are taking this along with some other serious meds. i don't like pain meds, as they make me sick. so these are a good option for me and have luckily been able to continue taking them. i do still hurt some, even though i take them. but i will not take more or pain meds or anything else with them. i think it is wrong that they even made them a scheduled drug. i would never even know i took them. no side effects, when out,no withdrawels what so ever. just hurt more. i've heard multiple people tell me, they were the best thing they ever took for back pain. i assume if i took 2, i would feel it & maybe get much more relief. but i do not take chances or do things wrong or wish to lose them & i am not a druggy or an idiot. it does amaze me that they would make them sound as if they are a bad drug, due to making them a schedule drug. everyone reacts differently to everything. but the massive majority of people will tell you, they are great and not addictive. skelaxin, methocarbonal, flexeril, mobic-they are all (for me) worthless. even when i take them with the soma.now i have been rear ended again & i have some serious pain in the t-8 and 3 in my neck, caused by the 1st wreck & now 2nd wreck has made much worse & added siatic pain & something in hip, ? pinched nearve, will have to mriRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
saglo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2015
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helps me get to sleep and stay asleep. I take with a sleeping pill because the sleeping pill doesn't work alone. I have pain in my back, knees and in general everywhere when I lie down to sleep. I take only 1 at night with the rx sleeping pill. My doctor says it's not good to take it regularly but it sure helps me get to sleep and stay asleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peg | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/3/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking soma 20 years ago for fibromyalgia. It was to help me sleep better. It did help me sleep. I took 350 mg. at bed time. Over the years and as I got older, I developed many symptoms that went away when I stopped taking soma. symptom 1. A very high white blood cell count. 2. Heart arrhythmia. 3. Several attacks a day feeling sick all over like I had the flu that lasted about one minute each time. I feel so much better since I stopped taking Soma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jack | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/29/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have3 taken this drug off and on for 6 mos, have had spinal fusion,and sciatica also arthritis,never took it as directed but does help with sleep and contractions i do not think it addictive but the doctors are not willing renew even when results are good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JDario | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/24/2015
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been having muscle spasms on ad off for a few years now. The spasms started years after both of my knee surgeries. I've recently stated to use soma again. I think because I stopped exercising (swimming), these spasms have come back again. I guess I have to start swimming again. I don't mind taking SOMA but since mine are the higher dosage I cut them in half. And take 1/2 in the a.m. and 1/2 B4 sleep. Hopefully, the spasms will cease once my body is activated again. FYI, I've tried pickle juice and it does work. Well good luck to everyone who suffers from this excruciating pain. I feel you. God Bless.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ShanfromNY | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Soma is the only muscle relaxant that works for me. I have 3 herniated disks in my neck and an inoperable cyst in my lower back. Soma gets a bad rap, which is extremely unfortunate. I am so tired, and it is so aggravating, that patients, such as myself, have to go through so much to receive medications that work because of those patients who abuse these drugs and those doctors who abuse their power by over-prescribing. Soma has been a blessing for me and makes it possible for me to be active when I otherwise wouldn't be.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoJo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/7/2014
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffered severe back trauma due to a slip and fall about 4 years ago and even with shots for pain and physical therapy this medication helped me so much. There's days I can't even stand up or sit down from the pain. I take a soma and it alleviates the pain enough for me to function. Nothing last forever it does wear off but it helps so much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Punkin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/24/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking soma 350mg 4x a day with Percocet 10mg 4x a day for Dodd herniated disks in neck and lower back as well as sciatica I also have fibro and they think I may have lupus.I have tried several other drugs but these really work. They tried me on flexeril however it made me feel as if I had restless leg and that's when dr put me on soma. I could take a soma without taking a Percocet and I am great I feel like I could run 10 miles and be fine. My mother has Lyme disease I told her about soma I know I broke the law but I gave her one on one of her worst days and it helped her wonderfully she is now taking them and has a lower amount of pain. This drug (soma) is awesome yes it can be abused but if you take it like you are supposed to the addiction is greatly lowered. I would recommend this to anyone that is in pain management just a FYI flexeril causes your bones to weaken it pulls all the calcium out of your bones so please speak with your dr about giving you soma. Hope this helps everyone have a great day Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/5/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for back spasms and Fibromyalgia for about 7 months. My doctor prescribed this to me after flexeril and zanaflex stopped working for me. This medication has helped me enourmesly. The only downside to the medication is the drowsiness that I sometimes feel, but that is a small price to pay to be pain free!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ComicEd | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/15/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told I could no longer have soma, after cancer and 5 surgeries because "it is addicting" So after over 10 years of daily use it was suddenly taken away. I had no withdrawals, no urges, no problems at all… Why? Because Soma is not a narcotic! And therefore is not physically addicting! Since then, the only thing I have gained is more pain and muscular discomfort… I no longer go to doctors or take any medication. I will probably hurt everyday for the rest of my life, but rather that, than play the "carrot on a stick" game, with doctors and the DEA, in order to get medication that would help. No thanks… I'll tough it out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steph 2014 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/5/2014
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My experience went well curious what other drugs would it interact with

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deanna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/3/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried different muscle relaxers over the years. Soma seems to be the most effective with my back spasms and with fibromyalgia.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rufus123 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/29/2014
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Given this prescription for severe back & neck pain. Pain is still there but not resting as to not sleeping (works well there) still cannot accomplish daily routine (showering, socks, pants, shoes...) without "snap,crackle,pop' then stiffness and pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | Patient
3/18/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have a question this drug came up in my urine and not only did i not take it i never heard of it. i take alot of vitamins and other meds can a combination of meds make this show up?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissa421 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My prescription is for 350 mg 2x a day, however, I only take these at bedtime because they make me so sleepy. I have severe sciatic nerve damage and this is what my neurologist changed me to after the flexeril stopped working. I read through the reviews and am blown away at the complaints about it being addictive, making people sleepy, feeling drunk, etc....does anyone READ the information that is sent home with you when you fill your prescription??? It explains ALL of this! You should not be taking this and trying to go about your daily chores, like driving and such. The main reason that people become addicted to meds is because they overtake their meds. It clearly states that "taking more than the recommended dosage does not make this medication more effective and is not recommended because at higher dosages, dependency can occur". Even though my prescription says to take it twice a day, I choose to only take it once UNLESS I am just having a really bad day and I'm in a lot of pain and I know I'm not going to be going out anywhere. This medication DOES work when taken correctly. I take this in combination with pain medication at night and it helps me to sleep all night.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
has helped | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/14/2014
Condition: Backache
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected]ail.com | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've had 4 back surgeries. after i had seriousmascle pain & spasms . I tryed 5-6 other drugs before soma, but nothing but soma works. now i have a serious neck injury and soma really helped that. but thanks to the DEA my pain mgt DR.had to pull me off & I am in great muscle pain again. Get real DEA. you live w/ this pain & then talk to me!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pebbles | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/29/2014
Condition: Muscle Spasm
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has saved my life from suffering from acute muscle spasms. Before I got this medicine I was taking Flexirel and it did not work at all. I have been taking it for about 8 years 4 times a day 350mg. With this medicine I have almost no pain and spasms from Sciatic pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More