Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Depo for over ten years. I just had a BMD test and I am borderline Osteopenia. Hopefully we can stop osteoporosis before it develops. Please read your leaflets and stay on top of your medical care.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

If I knew about all these side effects I would have NEVER taken it to begin with! I gain 75lbs on this! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS!

Shared reviews and ratings

Sk83 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking depo to reduce pain and heavy bleeding during periods. First shot was 3 wks ago about 1 wk after period. No side effects so far. No bleeding. Hoping I don't get my period as usual this month. Zero complaints. Less discharge. No bloating. Would deff recommend. 39 yrs old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MomOfFour | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/23/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Depression was getting the better of me! Easily irritated and constantly tired I also gained 70 lbs I was always 160-170lbs but now it’s at 235 lbs! :( pro is no periods but slowly eats away at your bone density materials over time and no doctor recommends it in my hometown.. now that I’ve been three months off of it my face is suffering the most with the worst case of severe acne because of the hormonal imbalance I can’t eat because the acne is always sore I have antibiotics but it’s suppose to last up to 6-12 months!! Do not recommend!! I also feel more energized without itRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PrincessK | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told to take the depo shot before getting my arm implant to see if I could handle the side effects. I have been on the pill before and let me just say I thought the pills side effects were bad. But compared to the depo shot, the pill is much more appealing. The depo, at first, was ok. Then, my depression kicked in. I have never been so anxious and suicidal in my life. After having a baby, this shot enhanced my post partum depression and caused me to pop off at every aggravating situation. I do not recommend the depo shot to even my worst enemy. Honestly would rather get pregnant again than use the depo shot ever again. Please, women, do not listen to your gyno and stay away from this emotionally painful form of birth control. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/30/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The depo shot for me was good while it lasted. I was in need of a new birth control after my IUD failed. Anyways, I only had been on depo for 9 months. I could no longer take the crazy depressed thoughts I was getting and crying for no reason. It made me so nervous and anxious and I would get hot flashes in social settings with a lot of people around. It seriously made me feel crazy. I then decided that I can no longer take the way it’s making me feel so I got off of it. Best decision I’ve ever made. I don’t feel depressed and anxious anymore at all it’s like it went a way after a couple months of being off it. That is how I know it wasn’t me it was the depo shot controlling my emotions. GET OFF OF IT IF YOU FEEL THIS WAY! I promise, if you’ve never felt depressed before and are depressed now on depo, it is from it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kay | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

took my first shot a little over a month ago and my depression has never been worse. i didn’t know a birth control shot even existed until i got this. worst decision i’ve ever made. i started depo to help ease periods as i would be very depressed and stayed in bed all day. i hadn’t searched anything about this shot until 2 days ago out of curiosity since my symptoms were so bad. i’m experiencing every side effect. i’m now stuck between treating my periods with depo despite the horrible side effects, or stopping just to go back to being depressed every month again. i can’t afford birth control pills which is why depo was recommended to me in the first place. but is depo really worth it if i’m gonna be depressed either way? i don’t know what to do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
3/13/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took the shot one time noticed lots of weight gain mood swings depression started my period about a week after taking it and have been bleed even since 2 periods a month heavy and everyday spotting if your doubting it trust your gut ??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
soph123 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/11/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The depo is amazing if you have a busy life, don't want periods. I used to hate having to work with periods on top of stress couldn't handle it. I have been on it for over 10 years on and off. However, after being on it for such a long time, I decided to come off it at 35 - why. .. Firstly my bones started becoming weak, noticeable after 4 weeks coming off my bones didn't click and felt stronger. I decided if I didn't come off it now after being on it for such a long time I would end up a very arthritic old woman.( being a light smoker doesn't help) but wanted to eliminate all chances. Also being on it my mother made various statements like Sophie you look pregnant, you look like your on steroids. On essence, it made me bigger more bloated i mean Jesus im stopping my body from having periods, of course, it's going to build up with huge bloat but this was managed by cutting out alcohol and going to the gym It has taken 6 months to get my period back it came yesterday. The pain is so intense, maybe I'm not used to having periods so it's a shocker, the body is trying to balance itself out and I know by next week il be feeling EPIC. The period is Heavy, my back hurts, i feel sick normal strong PMS, a week ago my sex drive was through the ROOF, this is good for me as I work in Porn. This week, pain, lower sex drive just getting through this cycle, guess its back the depo is out of my system and I will more than likely lose weight and have a more balanced body in a few months. The depo had served me well, never got pregnant through my wild years, help balance me out through career times. Risks: if I have sex I will get pregnant. Gains: weight loss, no lack of bone density. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanessa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on my period almost 3 weeks. Last night I finally noticed my bleeding stopped ( thanks to hundreds of prayers and patiently waiting ). It’s been awful. I did not think that when I got a shot to prevent pregnancy, the way of prevention would be by bleeding endlessly. It’s also made me feel dizzy (bleeding consistently is probably the reason for that), bloated, mood swings to the roof, and low self-esteem. Never again am I getting this shot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Don’t get it! | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do not get this shot! Unless your 100% healthy! Doctor lied and nurses they said this shot don’t cause headaches but it really do I felt shaky and my anxiety went out the roof and depression got to me I would cry for no reason… I am satan I get terrible mood swings fighting more.. terrible nausea.. and on top of all that my blood preassure went up high even though I lost weight on the shot.. it messes with it where I had to go to the er… I repeat do not get I also got horrible cramps and a uti… my hair is falling out I am a mess! Also had horrible dizziness Don’t let the doctor lie to you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angel Love ?? | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/27/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked as it should to prevent any additional kids, but the side effects were me blowing up in just those 3 months it was in my system. Now I wish I never taken it, and just sustained without intercourse seriously ??. I went from 156lb to 196lbs, I'm not harpy with myself at all!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | Transgender | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/18/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If I had known how horrible the side effects were, I would've never gotten it. My doctor did not tell me the side effects unfortunately. I gained 25lbs in 5 months, hair loss after every time I got it, (I got it 4 times) horrible cramps, bone pain, nausea, dizziness, and just was always tired. The withdrawals are even worse then getting the shot such as: body shakes, bad nausea and throwing up, severe depression, suicidal thoughts, thoughts of hurting my self and others, uncontrollable crying and sadness, anxiety, paranoia, body pain, head aches, dizziness, tiredness, and sometimes feel like I'm losing my mind. Still waiting to be completely free from it, which I was told can take 12months or longer so..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bjork1018 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

5 YEAR DEPO USER. I LOVE DEPO PROVERA.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
missG | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/30/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being on six different forms of birth control pills, I gave Depo a try. It helped my Hormonal acne so much! Being on Depo completely stopped my period which is super nice since I had an irregular cycle 2-3 weeks being on my period. It’s also nice to know when I’m “period” would begin. I get slight back cramps for less than a day and that’s how I know where my cycle is at.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my first shot of Depp Provera to lighten my Period Flow it’s been 4 weeks and I feel so low unmotivated headaches constant nausea and cramping and overall horrible never having it done again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/19/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

right after i got my shot i passed out in an elevator… then the area of my shot got infected- there was puss all over. 1 week later i broke out like crazy. on my back, chest, and face. i have been taking topical cream for acne for about a year now, and this totally reversed everything. i’m constantly feeling depressed or angry. i cry all the time now. the depo shot took away my confidence. i have severe migraines that cause me to throw up. “only 8 percent have these side effects so you shouldn’t worry, you probably won’t have to deal with anything” is what my doctor told me. she recommended this more than any other bc method. f*ck the depo shot, and the fda for pushing this. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lynn | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on depo provera to help stop my periods and for birth control. Within a few months my periods completely stopped, and had no other side effects at all! I was on it for about 7 years until I decided it was time to switch and I was worried about withdrawal but again no side effects once so ever! The internet is filled with horror stories but know there’s lots of positive experiences as well!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
5/20/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on deposit for about a month now. The symptoms started within the second week which was when I was supposed to get my period but I didn’t get one. If your periods are anything like mine then the symptoms are nothing you can’t handle. There is one thing I’m concerned about, I’m on a iron pill prescription and idk if it effects the birth control or not. Dose anyone know?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tytiana | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/19/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Took the shots for a year and when I took my last shot in may 2020 I didn't take it in August and I got my period that one time and I haven't had my period in 8 months and I'm not pregnant. What should I do?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CC | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/24/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had no symptoms for roughly five days, but has been awful ever since. Light period in the beginning, but has quickly became a heavy period. I have been bleeding for 8 days now month1 into it and I don't anticipate my period ever ending. I am unmotivated to do household chores. My mood is at the lowest it's ever been. I want to give up on living, but the weakness and extreme fatigue from the shot is leaving me too numb to have suicidal thoughts, just thoughts of giving up and being "a warm body" instead. I've never been this depressed in my whole life before now. 7-10 hours of good sleep and want a 30 min - 2 hr. nap daily. Low lobido anyways, and now I don't desire sex at all. My partner is of moderate libido. The procedure is quick as depo shot suggests, but is sucking my life away. I don't like bleeding so much in short periods of time. Worried about potential anemia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alex | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/28/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i’ve had had two shots. the first time i had it, insane mood swings for a couple of weeks and zero bleeding aside from the fact i was on my period when i got it. no weight gain and no insane breakout. my boyfriend did notice a lower sex drive. it’s not for everyone but it works well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More