Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

13 People found this comment helpful

I was prescribed protriptyline to help with chronic daily headaches I was having. I started off taking one 5mg tablet but quickly increased to 20mg because the side effects were minimal. On this dose, I had pretty significant dry mouth, and I was unable to fall asleep at night without taking another medication to help with sleep (this drug is a stimulant). I also noticed a somewhat decreased ap...

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

I have taken this medication for a week now in conjunction to assist my sleepless-ness. However, I had adverse affects of severe sadness and depression, I could not sleep on this medication and have been very unstable in my mood. I have had to stop taking this medication due to waking up in a full on crying fit for no reason.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/25/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allergic to orange pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

headaches aches pains irrability

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sleeepy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have autoimmune disease and extreme fatigue. Started taking this in hopes that it's mild stimulating action would help (I cant handle a real stimulant, I pay dearly if I take one). This has made me more awake, but unfortunately starting around 6pm. I need that 'little more awake' feeling at 6am! No complaints about side effects, maybe I just need to tweak the times I take this (like wake myself in the night) ;)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/3/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed protriptyline to help with chronic daily headaches I was having. I started off taking one 5mg tablet but quickly increased to 20mg because the side effects were minimal. On this dose, I had pretty significant dry mouth, and I was unable to fall asleep at night without taking another medication to help with sleep (this drug is a stimulant). I also noticed a somewhat decreased appetite. As far as effectiveness, this drug definitely helped with my headaches. Within 2 weeks, I saw a decrease in the severity of the headaches and I had more days headache-free each month (before taking the drug I was having about 5 headache free days a month). However, the effect wasn't drastic and I continued to try other things to further decrease my headaches. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CG | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/8/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this to prevent headaches (mixed migraine-tension headache symptoms). I've tried half a dozen other treatments and this is the first one that works. My headaches are down to 1/week, vs 4-5/wk, and are therefore fairly manageable. The only annoying side effect is dry mouth (I chew gum all the time). Also, when I had dental work done novocaine didn't work so my dentist told me to stop taking Vivactil and come back in 2 weeks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am using this drug as a migraine preventitive and it is GREAT. I have not had a migraine in 6 weeks and was having 2-5 a week. Have tried so many other drugs that did not work. I am so happy with this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DBERRY | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/11/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this medication for a week now in conjunction to assist my sleepless-ness. However, I had adverse affects of severe sadness and depression, I could not sleep on this medication and have been very unstable in my mood. I have had to stop taking this medication due to waking up in a full on crying fit for no reason.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/19/2009
Condition: Generalized Attack of Muscular Weakness
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never did a thing..This is my third try at this. This site does not let me make a negitive response. This is my 3rd attempt.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More