Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

Has anyone experienced thrombocytopenia with the normal use of Ranitidine? Can anyone refer me to published reports of thrombocytopenia and the use of any H2 blockers.

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

After taking a Zantac on Thursday afternoon, I was feeling better. However, by Friday evening I was covered in hives from my neck to my knees. It is now Tuesday, and the condition still exists. My doctor prescribed Prednisone, but in reading the side effects, I am hesitant to take. Using a combination of Zirtec and Sarna (a topical lotion) it has been manageable. I need further discussion with...

Shared reviews and ratings

Cuckoo4CocoaPuffs83 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2012
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although it worked for my chronic GERD, I got a side affect that wasn't even listed: nightmares. Starting the very first day I took it, I had HORRIBLE, VIOLENT nightmares EVERY night for almost 2 weeks!! Some nights, I'd have TWO nightmares! No one could explain why it would cause them, but the day I stopped taking it, no more nightmares.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2010
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it used to help but lately it is not as effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danny | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/19/2009
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zantac 75 was prescribed by my doctor and did what it was suppose to do. I even came to feel that I had gotten my life back, but now I am concerned about loss of muscle strength that began about the same time I started taking Zantac. Looking back, I had noticed being much weaker over the first year even, but didn't associate this with my ranitidine use until lately. I overdosed using Zantac 150 one day and was so weak that I could barely make it up a flight of stairs. The feeling I experienced at that time was very similar, only much worse, to what I had been feeling for years which made me associate the two. After taking Zantac 75 and/or Ranitidine 2x daily for several years I ended up with severe pain of the neck, shoulder and right arm. An MRI revealed two small muscle tears in my shoulder. I have stopped using all ranitidine as of about 2 years ago and have started to feel much stronger, but still very weak. I have been controlling my indigestion with diet fairly well. If I had it to do over I think I would still use ranitidine for a short time, but would be much more careful.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/31/2009
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking a Zantac on Thursday afternoon, I was feeling better. However, by Friday evening I was covered in hives from my neck to my knees. It is now Tuesday, and the condition still exists. My doctor prescribed Prednisone, but in reading the side effects, I am hesitant to take. Using a combination of Zirtec and Sarna (a topical lotion) it has been manageable. I need further discussion with my doctor and pharmacist before starting on Prednisone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hoopla | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/23/2009
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking 150mg in the morning and sometimes in the evening for reflux. It works for me, but doesn't quite work completely for my 17 year old daughter. She may need to try another product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hansvoost | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was suffering with bloating, indigestion, belching, distension and nausea due to atrophic gastritis symptoms. It was recommended by my pharamist over pepcid and tagamet. I still have some symptoms but with diet doing very well on this drug and I am taking 300 mgm, 2x's a day. What a relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2008
Condition: Indigestion
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am pregnant and my doc had me start taking this twice a day when I started getting bad reflux/indigestion last week. Although it didn't make it go completly away, it helped stop the burning in my throat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/4/2008
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have monthly urine tests & they alwsys say it's on borderline or positive for meth - I knoe this is impossible can it be from this drug??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
platlow | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/8/2007
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Has anyone experienced thrombocytopenia with the normal use of Ranitidine? Can anyone refer me to published reports of thrombocytopenia and the use of any H2 blockers.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More