Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I am 27, have never had children or been pregnant and have had my paragard for 4 months now. I took 2 ibprofen before insertion and while it was painful, the worst of the pain lasted for less than 10 seconds. I had some mild cramping the week after and my periods were back to normal after two cycles (the first two cycles were 1-2 days longer and more crampy than usual. my partner does not feel it ...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

bleed the whole 2 year

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I decided to get IUD to have a reliable birth control and not to worry about getting pregnant. But if you are not having sex because you always in pain and rest of the time having your period or spotting and have no desire of course you are not gona get pregnant. After having it 5 months I decided to remove it because of horrible side effects i experienced. Besides very heavy periods, random contraction pains , back pain i started to have severe anxiety, depression and migraines on daily basis. My body was rejecting copper IUD and i didnt realize it , i wish i could remove it earlier so I wouldnt go to such a struggle. Maybe for some people it really works definitely not for me. Too many side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/3/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible. Got this because I was excited for hormone free BC. Since I got it I’ve had debilitating back pain, hip pain, constant pelvic pressure and pinching and horrible cramps for over two months. I hate it and cannot wait to get it removed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
barb | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/1/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Got my Paragard IUD inserted back in October 2020. Insertion was tolerable. I unfortunately had to get it removed a few weeks later as it almost came out completely during my period. After I got a new one in place, i experienced only bad cramping for my first two menstrual cycles. I am extremely active so I deal with abdominal pain fairly well. The only reason I stopped wanting to use the IUD for good was for the heavy bleeding! I went from a 5 day period with only 2 days of heavy bleeding, to a 8-9 day period with 4-5 days of SUPER heavy bleeding!!! I knew this was possibility before getting it inserted, but thought it would subside within 4-6 months. It's going on 9 months and I still go through menstrual diapers, maxi pads and maxi tampons. I am only 19 and don't plan on having kids, so I don't see a reason why I need to have a period. I got it removed today which was painless and have started a combination pill that will clear my acne and stop my period all together. Other than that I did not experience any bad side effects as there are no hormones in it, but I strongly do not recommended this pill to anyone who lives an active lifestyle and doesn't want a heavy period to get in the way of their daily life!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anna | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/8/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

horrible. was told would have cramps in the beginning but would ease out after a few months. Had actual contraction level pain for first few months, not only on period, had cramps thorughout. I held out for 9 months hoping theyd go away but they never did. I had it removed and got the Merena. basically no cramps now just ususal period cramping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/5/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Great untill it was time to come out. An arm broke off. Admittedly it didnt come out with the doctors first pull, but there wasnt any resistance or discomfort on the second pull when it came out missing an arm. Now going through the issues of getting removed since it seems to have migrated out of my uterus (causing significant pain and discomfort) between determining the arm was still up there and being able to schedule the initial dnc. If you are going to get one, make sure your healthcare provider is willing to do the more complicated removal proceedure before it breaks during the "standard" method. I am definitely not the only one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/17/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the paragard for a year after my third child and never had an IUD before. Paragard seemed appealing due to the fact it had no hormones and is advertised as no side effects. I did not get pregnant in the year I had it-- However, I do feel it does has side effects. I felt lower back and joint pain constantly, gained 30 pounds, and had horrible periods. The PMS would make me rage with mood swings. I felt depression and sometimes abnormal anxiety for me very frequently when it was in. After getting it out today, I cant say how happy I am that I did. It felt like this foreign object in my body my uterus and body just wanted to reject. I immediately felt an endorphin rush and like a relief was off my shoulders after getting it removed. I do feel it does create side effects for people both mentally and physically. I feel like myself again and I am very happy with my decision to have it removed. I had no issues with insertion (many women complain of severe pain--I didnt even feel it go in) or removal, which was a breeze most likely due to a great OBGYN.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
magnoliaX27 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HAVING PARAGARD INSERTED WAS EXTREMELY PAINFUL. I never write reviews for anything, but I felt compelled to write a review for ParaGard. Having a non hormonal birth control is amazing. Whenever I tried using anything to do with hormones I would become extremely nauseous and anxiety ridden. I am beyond excited to have a contraceptive with such a highly successful preventative rate, that my insurance covered, and even lasts up to 10 years! That being said, having the IUD inserted was extensively more painful than I had anticipated. The reviews I saw all spoke about â??mild crampingâ? and â??a pinchâ? when having the procedure. I identify as someone with pretty decent pain tolerance (I have a few large tattoos, multiple piercings and do well when dealing with illnesses and such). Having the ParaGard inserted involved me squeezing a nurses hand while heavily breathing and me loudly repeating â??oh my god.â? My doctor, being supportive, encouraged me to try and communicate with her to help take my mind off it, but I was completely unable to do that. The procedure was fairly quick which was nice, but the pain was absolutely horrid. I would rate it a 9/10, 10 being worst. I wanted to write this review just to inform anyone who is thinking about getting ParaGard to definitely take off work that day and keep you plans of going out to a solid minimum. Invest in some pads if you are a tampon user like me, and go in understanding that it may be more than â??just a pinch!â?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RC | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/5/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will start with 2 words only: PERFURATED UTURES. I had the paragard IUD inserted 8 weeks after having my 3rd child. It perfurated my uterus and ended up near my left ovaries in just a fee weeks. I had to laparoscopic surgery a few weeks later. Do NOT think this is some rare occurrence. The manufacturer is not being upfront about warnings on the label. Three quarter of woman who get this IUD and it perforates the uterus are woman who have had a baby within 36 weeks of insertion or are nursing. If you fall into this category, please do yourself a favor and look this up before deciding to get this UID.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tana7716 | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/29/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The insertion was painful but there was no pain following.My first time having sex which was about 10 days after insertion was also painful.My periods are a little heavier than usual and my cycle last 2 days longer.i have put on 10 lbs and am having a hard time taking the weight off. I haven't had any major issues ,overall im pretty satifiied with my paragard.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juju | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had Paraguard 3 times after having babies and all 3 times I had the same side effects. Horrible bleeding for 3 weeks after it getting put in place and cramps. It caused me severe anxiety, depression, hair loss, weight gain, rage, brain fogginess. When I had it removed the 2nd time to try to get pregnant, I wasn't able to get pregnant for 5 months and this is abnormal for me. Every month I got a positive pregnancy test and then within a couple days it was gone so for some reason they were not implanting crackly and this was due to paraguard. Copper increases estrogens and does impact your hormones. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sallyrose | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

30 YR old, no kids. I feel the need to write my experience because all these negative reviews kept me from getting an iud for over a year out of fear. I was terrified and the fear prior was literally the worst part. Take 800mg of IBuprofen 30 min before. It starts like a normal pap, they open you up and then spend a few minutes cleaning your cervix, gentler than a pap sample. She then had me cough and placed a device on my cervix to keep it stable, it felt like the first heavy cramp on your period, and I was surprised how easy it was. The doctor told me that was the worst part. She then inserted the tube into the cervix which was pressure not extra pain. It just felt how a heavy clot feels when it passes. She then placed the iud which again was a bit of pressure but no pain. Then she was out and the speculum was gone and as I sat up it was like my period had started just cramping but nothing to bad. She asked if i was ok and I laughed and said I had been terrified for a year and that was it? She laughed and said I must have heavy periods because that's what most women say when they get it and have a heavy flow. I spent the day tired and had heavy cramping, watched tv with a heat pack and stayed on top of my advil. Woke up the next day with no pain just a light pink discharge. If you are going to get one ready the positive reviews before bed not the negative ones!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CatLover5264 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got the Paragard in May of 2018, because I wanted to see if there were any changes (mentally and physically) to being off of hormonal birth control. For me, the insertion was one of the top 3 painful experiences of my life. I came very close to vomiting and fainting in the doctor's office. Granted, I may have a small cervix. Thank god I'm never having kids. I had to actually call up a friend to drive me home. Fast forward a year, and the monthly cramps are just about unbearable, even with OTC meds. They'd hit in waves every few minutes, and I could barely hold a conversation. The amount of bleeding was crazy. I had to get super plus absorbent tampons. None of these symptoms decreased in the 1.5 years I had the IUD, so I decided to go back on the pill.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sammyrobinson19 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/3/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had ParaGard placed in 2011, and just had it removed in 2019. My periods did get heavier, and I had more cramps but I didn't mind dealing with those side effects considering the other options are all hormonal based. One thing with ParaGard (and this may be all IUDS?) is that I was more susceptible to BV. Overall, I was very happy with ParaGard, especially being that it one the few non-hormonal based birth controls.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mallory35 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not pregnant, but holy ouch!! I had the ParaGard for about 18 months. It caused significant cramping from the get-go. My doctor said the discomfort should ease with time, but it never really did. My periods became longer. I would cramp for two-three days, spot for a day or so, have four-five days of menstruation and intense cramping, then two-three more days of spotting. My periods became heavy-- super plus tampon in three-ish hours for the first tow to three days heavy. For the last six months of having it, midmonth cramping was normal, sometimes with spotting. My dr said everything still looked good and we could remove it if it became too uncomfortable. Out it came and I couldn't be happier. I'm about two days from my first period after having it removed-- not one cramp! If I still had the ParaGard, I would need Tylenol or Advil or both by this point. Also, I have a pretty high pain tolerance (no meds for childbirth). My cramping was about a 7 on a pain scale of 10 for the first few days of each period.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
New User | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This cannot be a full review of paragard because I just got it yesterday, but as soon as I got it done I thought that I needed to come online to share my insertion experience because I was TERRIFIED to get it done based on what I was reading online. I know everyone has a different experience but for me, insertion was not NEARLY as bad as I expected based on what I'd read. At my doctor's recommendation i took 800 mg of ibuprofen beforehand. I have given birth before to one child, and my doctor offered an injection "blocker" which I'm sure helped - I got it placed in one area (she said they could do up to three injections). The pain was very bearable - I would say a 2 out of 10 at worst. Since then, I have had extremely minor cramping and barely there spotting. If you are concerned about pain, talk to your doctor but I was nothing short of relieved and felt obligated to put a different narrative out there online!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
raychi822 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/22/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had Paraguard IUD 4 years 9 months before I finally relented and had it removed. It works by causing inflammation in the uterus. For a person dealing with chronic inflammation, this was not a great solution. Granted, it was 100% effective at preventing pregnancy before my partner agreed to a vasectomy. Insertion was uncomfortable but not a big deal. My broad ligament needed therapeutic bodywork to accept the change (highly recommend for everyone). Increased bleeding during and between periods is no joke. It's not just inconvenient, it can lead to anemia. The copper can be absorbed into your bloodstream, leading to an imbalance of zinc/copper or copper toxicity -- increased anxiety, acne, insomnia. I also experienced regular discomfort -- I could feel that there was something in there all the time. Out of the last 8 weeks before I had it removed, I was in significant pain -- mostly low back, 6 out of 10, unable to bend my spine, for 6 weeks. The only time the pain relented was during my menstruation. I would not recommend this form of birth control for anyone who struggles with inflammation, auto-immune conditions, or borderline anemia. Unfortunately, I cannot either recommend a better option.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had paraguard inserted May 4, 2018. They prepared me for the possible 3 months of heavy periods which was a solid trade for 10 years of no pregnancy scares. My period lasted the FULL three months, and then some. They said it could take up to 6 months to regulate. I thought, I can still do 6 months for 10 years of peace of mind. 6 months came and went, and my body is starting to shut down. I am bleeding through tampons and pads every hour with a handful of "off days" in the last 6 months. I am anemic and spending a fortune on Dr appts and supplements to keep me going from the blood loss. I can't leave the house much less get off the couch. They say in extreme cases, it can last a year. Even still, I told myself that I didn't go through all of this for nothing and I still want my remaining 9 years promised. So I trudged forward. Today is May 16, 2019 and after a year long period and absolutely destroying my body I had it removed. It was mighty effective if only because I literally could not have sex while on it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moniqua | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/13/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paragard copper iud for birth control- I went back to work the next day . Although did have to take 2 days off for a pms migraine 1 week after insertion. I suggest taking it easy around ur first period after insertion.so far so happy with it. Going on one month with it . Spotted 5 days after insertion. First period has lasted 9 days. Regular cycle is 5. Night and day from hormonal bc . Highly prefer the copper method!! No mood difference! No increased hunger ... no weight gain . Can�t wait for the bleeding to regulate . I�m a fan . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had the para guard in for 8 years now. I'm just now starting to feel discomfort. My, period did get heavy, I'm in early menopause so i have periods every two weeks or i might get lucky only once a month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
I HATE PARAGARD! | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

MY LIFE IS RUINED BECAUSE OF YOUR IUD. MY OBGYN SOLD IT TO ME AS A 10 YEAR PLAN. YOU CONATRISTS RUINED MY LIFE AND FAILED ME! Now I HAVE TO PAY ALL OF THIS MONEY FOR A CHILD I DIDNT PLAN ON HAVING. 10 YEAR PROTECTION IS TOTALLY F.A.L.S.E. MINE WORKED FOR 2 YEARS WITH REGULAR CHECKING OF THE STRINGS NO MALFUCTIONS WHEN TAKING IT OUT OTHER THAN A CHILD I DIDNT KNOW ABOUT OR WANT. THANK YOU FOR MAKING THIS ABSOULTE CRAP PRODUCT AND COSTING ME THOUSANDS!!!!!! I will never recommend this ANYONE. COMPLETE FALSE ADVERSTIMENT I HATE THIS COMPANY AND TJIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More