Show ratings & reviews for

3.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

2 People found this comment helpful

I began taking Danocrine post-op in 1999. I just stopped taking it in March 2016 due to I am now post menopausal. I gained approx. 10-15 lbs. and voice has deepened a little however both of those side effects could be from my age and lifestyle. The drug was a God send for me. I was in so much pain I was begging for a hysterectomy

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

This med was not taken by me but by my sister. She took it for treatment post operatively for endometriosis. She was on it for 6 months. She took it when she was 18 years old. She is now 56 and is being treated for ovarian cancer. She previously developed breast cancer. I feel this medication might have contributed to her cancer albeit years later. Use extreme caution if you are prescribed ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Sunshine | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/10/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking Danocrine post-op in 1999. I just stopped taking it in March 2016 due to I am now post menopausal. I gained approx. 10-15 lbs. and voice has deepened a little however both of those side effects could be from my age and lifestyle. The drug was a God send for me. I was in so much pain I was begging for a hysterectomy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for uterine fibroids. I took it for a few years until I opted for a hysterectomy. It worked well for me and I experienced no negative side effects while taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BlackRoseHeart | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/6/2016
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Danocrine in the early 90's to treat endometriosis. I was supposed to take it for about 9 months to "simulate pregnancy" by stopping my menstrual cycle long enough to "heal". I could only do it for 3 months, because the side effects were awful. I became so gassy that I was in pain all the time. I was taking anti-gas medicine by prescription every day. I vomited feces at one point, and that's when the medication was stopped. I gained a LOT of weight, my voice lowered, and I grew hair like crazy on my face. It's nearly 25 years later, and I still have a low voice, dark thick hair that grows all over my face, and I'm still struggling with my weight. I'm also convinced this medication had an effect on my ears, as I've had problems with vertigo since taking Danocrine. I ended up having a hysterectomy, which stopped 99.9% of the endometriosis problem. I wish I'd never taken Danocrine, and I would never recommend it to anyone else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/11/2012
Condition: Prevention of Angioedema Attacks in Patient with Hereditary Angioedema
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since going on it 9 years ago I have had no attacks. Side effects are livable with and worth having no attacks. Years before I was on it for 10 years but with a bad doctor not monitoring me went off it til they recalled Winstrol.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/3/2012
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med was not taken by me but by my sister. She took it for treatment post operatively for endometriosis. She was on it for 6 months. She took it when she was 18 years old. She is now 56 and is being treated for ovarian cancer. She previously developed breast cancer. I feel this medication might have contributed to her cancer albeit years later. Use extreme caution if you are prescribed this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JCherokee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2011
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In 1984 I was told I had Endometriosis. I was to take Danocrine for three months. However, after only 1 month of taking this medicine, I gain from 115 lbs. to 175 lbs. I immediately told my doctors they had to do something else. Surgery was done and all of my female organs were taken out and placed on 0.625 mg Premirin (replacement hormone). After 2 months I had a series of strokes. My weight is still up and I can't seem to get it down. I am sure that this Drug named Danocrine was the beginning of my many health problems today.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More