Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

My PSA level has been elevated (6-10) for over 20 years. I have had 3 negative biopsies. I am a microbiologist with a PH.D in biochemistry and researcher into mycoplasma infection. Mycoplasma has been implicated in non-specific pneumonia and to some extent in urethritis. After a round of treatment with zithromax for a finger infection (self-prescribed) I noticed a reduction in night urination ...

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

12 year old son had an an allergic reaction and went into anaphylatic shock

Shared reviews and ratings

Breno7791 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2019
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It cleared up my ear infection, but now I have hearing loss that may be permanent. On prednisone to try and save my hearing. Fingers crossed!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cynderly | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taking this medicine as a child and early 20s was great and I never had any issues. Though, the last time I tried this (March 2018 or so), I took the first dose without food and within the first hour, I had terrible side effects-bad diarrhea, nausea, and light-headedness enough to almost make me faint. I was very close to calling 911 since I was afraid and alone. The symptoms subsided within a couple hours, but I felt the nausea the following day. I do not know if this was because I didnâ??t eat with it and ate ice cream after it, but I was very surprised to experience all that. Weeks after, I went to a GE because I was having burning stomach pain and aches after eating lunch for a couple days-thought I was going to need my gallbladder removed, but turns out my digestive system just could have â??resetâ? after the antibiotic. I donâ??t know if I would try taking it again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this for a sore throat and fever. Sore throat is gone but now I’m vomiting. I would very much take the sore throat any day over what I’m dealing with right now. I have never dealt with anything like this with other antibiotics. I’m never taking this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Frightened | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

4 months ago I had the flu and took 3x 500mg of Zithromax about 2 weeks later I developed hearing loss (blocked ears) I went to the doctor who said he could not find anything wrong with my ears. He sent me to the ENT who also could not find the problem. About 5 weeks later my hearing suddenly returned. 2 weeks ago I came back from London with the flu and again went on a 3 day course of Zithromax - suddenly today i have hearing loss in my right ear. It was too co- incidental, so I looked up the side effects of Zithromax...and there it was HEARING LOSS!!! I have no idea what to do now since my job requires me to LISTEN! I am an executive coach. I am praying that my hearing will self-correct hoping it will not take another 5 weeks or be permanently damaged this time. This is very scary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2015
Condition: Severe Sinusitis caused by Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

given 250mg zpack for sinus infection..did not work at all...had upset stomach, diarrhea, aches,very tired, no appetite, and infection ended up in pneumonia !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMTAION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More