Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

Male, 33. Persistent acne most my life. Tried 2 rounds Accutane. doxycycline, Retin A, Retin A Micro, various prescription topicals. Finally gave 2.5% BP a try...It dried out my skin for 3 weeks and I broke out worse, BUT THEN, my skin adjusted, finally, and 8 months later I've literally had maybe one small pimple a month. It is literally the only thing that has worked permanently for me. I've t...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

no

Shared reviews and ratings

Lissette | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/24/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother in law gave me this because I didnâ??t know what else to try with my acne in my cheeks and forehead . So I tried this and yes the first night I went to bed out t on and woke up to my face red and burning like I had an allergic reaction but I just washed my face with cool water and after like 15 minute the redness faded . I tried again the next night and my face didnâ??t burn in the morning and my acne had significantly went down. I was so surprised and happy cause nothing works for me . So I kept using it . My skin did get very dry like some of you and flaky. All I did was get a scrub that wasnâ??t too harsh and exfoliated my skin and used the cream everyother night instead of nightly. Your skin just needs to get over that initial beginning Effect but once your used to it (takes about 3-4 uses) thereâ??s no burning and less dryness . It worked for me definitely buying again . Holy grail for my skin . Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
random | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i used this for three nights so far , everything was fine until it was the third night . i noticed my face was sooo red so i washed it off and saw sooo many tiny bumps !! i was so frustrated because i don’t know if i should continue using benzoyl peroxide gel .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lANIKA88 | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2019
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok at first I believed that this medication had made my skin turn darken and I was very upset because on the lower part of my face It looked as if I had a 5 o'clock shadow which is impossible because I do not shave and I am a woman. So it took me nearly a month to Realize that it was the medication but also I had been using a towel of which was dyed so the dye that was being lifted out of the towel was being transferred onto my skin which made it appear darker. My acne was mainly being bothersome on my cheek area so that's where I scrubbed the most with the medication and towel that was causing this horrid skin discoloration. I was so upset because I had recently lighted my complexion with ivory caps to brighten my skins complexion. If you have this issue the best way to get the color of your skin back to normal is you have to constantly apply lotions to the skin this helps lift transferred dye because you will eventually get irritated with overwashing with your face which the topical wash will dry out your skin a lot already. I hope this information helps my skin is medium dark complexion like a caramel color if you needed to know if this relates to what may have experienced. I also used a debit card and acted like I was shaving to speed up the process of removing the dye from the skin because I desperate to look back normal because this incident was devasting I might have looked crazy but hey it works {Lot and Lots of lotion}Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I start using BP gel my skin become very dry,red.I am suffering from peeling problem. But i read online that this problem came at starting weeks. I hope after some days my skin will be clear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kevrev | 25-34 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/31/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male, 33. Persistent acne most my life. Tried 2 rounds Accutane. doxycycline, Retin A, Retin A Micro, various prescription topicals. Finally gave 2.5% BP a try...It dried out my skin for 3 weeks and I broke out worse, BUT THEN, my skin adjusted, finally, and 8 months later I've literally had maybe one small pimple a month. It is literally the only thing that has worked permanently for me. I've tried everything, but I swear by the stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
e | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/15/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in a sense it works, but it has made my skin red and the texture of my skin looks a little off and oily in the areas I've been putting the medication, but I'm not breaking out as much so that's a plus.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann May Smith | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/18/2016
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I do now have clear skin after using benzoyl peroxide for my acne. However when I stopped using it and then recently began using it again (for only small breakouts of course), I have been noticing it leaving dark red irritated spots on my skin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My acne began at the age of 12. I had been using all sorts of cosmetic products from the shop, such as Clearasil (most of the brands I've used). I was first prescribed Epiduo in May 2013. This burnt my face and made it VERY red and sensitised the whole time I was using it. I find benzoyl 5% most effective, and less sensitising than Epiduo. I first got this one in October 2014. I had to use this cream with antibiotics. Within 5 weeks, I noticed that my acne faded and my face was completely cleared. So I highly recommend this topical cream for anyone with acne. P.S. It did, however, return when I discontinued my course of antibiotics. So I had got rid of my acne, thank God. But then it came back 100x worse than it ever was! I was very painful, covered my entire face and I was furious! I had to use shop-bought cleansers to fade that, which I can't believe I managed to do. Go me! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Myka34 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/26/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works if applied on clear skin twice a day for me. But be warned it can burn and sting a little even with just 2.5% strength.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Morgan Freeman | 7-12 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/13/2015
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Epiduo contains benzoyl and it works.But it causes wrinkles, and i am only 12. This is a prematuring side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vsn the genius | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am suffring from pimble,acne prone skin.then i go to a doctor.he told me to use benzoyzl gel.with in 3 days it works 60% area and after 10 days rest work has finished.********* mind blowing*****

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked wonders for the acne I've developed since I went off birth control treatment for my PCOS. I was developing increasing numbers of large, deep skin pimples that hurt all along my cheeks, jawline and sides of my neck (typical of PCOS apparently). Benzoyl Peroxide or Salicylic washes did not work. However, the Benzoyl Preoxide cream works WONDERS! I apply the 2.5% creme twice a day after gently washing my face. After giving the cream 10 minutes to absorb completely, I apply a moisturizer (aloe vera gel). Only side effect I've experienced is if I skip the moisturizer, I notice dryness, tightness and peeling. I saw significant improvement in a week. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/29/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's very effective. It caused my face to get red and dry a bit, but it's worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/8/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

clear face, very happy!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jarhead | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/29/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stopped the development of my late adult onset of acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2014
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jp | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

no

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sgsdfgs8 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/14/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to use a 2% of benzoyl peroxide spot treatment, but I now use Citrus Clear Grapefruit Spot Treatment which has 5% salicylic acid. Every time when i breakout I just put Citrus Clear on the spot over day and night. Its gone the next day. I could not live without it. It seem like my home medicine for my breakout. no bleaching or anything, if you just put a very thin layer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SKN | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bethicka | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2013
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used 10% BP combined with oil free moisturizer as recommended by my doctor. The first night I had minor irritation but when I woke up the next day my face was noticeably clearer. unfortunately the next night (last night)I applied too much and my my face is red, swollen and feels like it's burning. Wish I would have read these posts first. Be cautious and start with a small amount and/or less %.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More