Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

30 People found this comment helpful

I am a recovering patient who experienced sporadic nausea, vomiting and lethargy while on gemzar (from Sep 03 - Feb 04).

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
2/19/2022
Condition: malignant tumor or cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug killed my husband. He started off fine then started with low hemoglobin, low platelets. He developed TTP twice. The second time caused kidney failure. He spent a month in hospital before he passed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
evie1951 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/16/2021
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gemzar is the only chemo that has worked for me. I just found out today that my cancer markers went down quite a bit & my cancer spots are shrinking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2018
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe hematologic suppression. Reversible renal failure from esrd to stage 4; severe thyroid suppression;thrombotic microangiopathy.Hemolytic-uremic syndrome;cardio-renal syndrome.heart attack.on dialysis for foreseeable future. Considering pathology report, should have refused administration of drug because I was doing very well (negative CT's for recurrent tumor)until I was half way through the Gemzar therapy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tony | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/30/2015
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for a year, first 6 months with Cisplatin (the cisplatin was horrible). I had maybe 60 tumors in my liver and 2 in my left lung. After about 9 months, I have maybe 5 tumors left in my liver and the lung tumors look like squashed grapes. I was look at death short term and now I am looking at becoming a survivor. Thanks Gemzar!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/22/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After allergic reaction to Docetaxil, new regimen carbo/gemzar,/w Benadryl & anti nausea med, 6 months on regimen breast rumors gone. Low blood counts the last 2 months have had Procrit & feel better. My gemzar is given in two doses a week apart followed by IV /w magnesium & potassium the next week, then a week off (bloodwork) and the cycle starts again. I'm careful to eat fruit after each treatment as the anti-nausea meds cause constipation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Peter W | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/21/2014
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Over a year on this drug, very tolerable at first. Dr added paclitaxel. I then lost all my body hair, peripheral neuropathy set in and mild anemia began. two weeks on one week off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Blessed95 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/19/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication did not slow down the groth of my cancer cells according to my blood tests and Pet -CT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mamma Vic | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel very good. Have had low blood cell counts, but dr has not given me anything for that, just lowered my doses to 50 & 75 percent. Have my first cat scan Friday. Hope it's working because I'm tolerating it very well!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/22/2012
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
debs | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
10/12/2012
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

very difficult course.. pneumonia 3 times..hospitalized with renal failure once.. fevers with each treatment up to 103..finally decreased dose by 20% and seems to be better with reactions..tumor was removed by surgery but still recommened chemo for 6 months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mom2cozmoe | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/25/2012
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been fighting Ovarian Cancer for 3 years. Have lymph node involvement since 2010. Flare up after only 2 months post 6 infusions of carboplatin/taxol. Only had two treatments in 2 months because of the neutrapenia. This is my third round of chemo and all three have cause different side effects. Hoping this works but the nausea all the time is almost too much. Have lost 20 pounds since August 1st. The doctor says I may be on Gemzar for the rest of my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
majjers | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gemzar/Carbo combination for 3Neg Br Ca mets to lungs. Worked great but too hard on my platelets. Took a 3 month break, have progression but can't go back onto this regimen. Tolerated it very well, no problems other than the platelet count. No Neulasta shots given.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pitter Pat | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only had 2 doses so far. The first time I experienced severe headache and nausea related to the head pain. I was not given anything to boost my white cell production, so they could see how I would react. My white cell count dropped so low that I was hospitalized for 3 days. It took 4 weeks for my neutrophil absolute count to get above 1.5 to be able to get the 2nd dose. The 2 dose was given with a Neulasta injection immediately following the infusion. I started with a headache within 24 hour. The pain included my eyes, bones of my face, my head and neck, A nurse on my care team told me it sounds like a migraine. It lasted, non stop for 5 days. Today I am pain and symptom free. It is 6 days since my treatment. It is too soon to know if it is working or if these symptoms will continue. I intend to try it for 3 months before deciding if it is worth the pain. My plan of treatment is to receive Gemzar every other week, since I reacted too severely to receive it 3 weeks in a row, then one week off as originally planned. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lora | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
4/24/2012
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think my mother is alergic to this drug. tumor got smaller but still has high activity. After treatments she has very bad sob, weak, panic from no air.Has taken antibiotics and prednizone for the breathing to no avail so I think she is reacting to the gemzar in a negative manner.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
guidepost | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/6/2012
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my husband has been taking this for 3 months and his last ct scan showed a decease in size of the tumor. He does not get any side effects and is tolerating it very well so far. He has been on several chemo drugs and I hope this will get the cancer under control.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2011
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mt Olive BC | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/24/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on Gemzar for 1 year; tumor has shrunk and remained stable. Have has no nausea or side effects except for occassional low white or red blood counts. I get one shot and am ready to go next time. I take G. for 3 weeks on & 1 week off. Get a CT scan every 3 months; also my CA19-9 level has came way down and I feel so much better than before starting chemo. Have even gained back my weight but appetite is good so I'm not ready to diet yet. Tumor was too close to celiac artery for surgery so don't know what's down the road as far as surgery goes. Energy level isn't quite as high as it used to be but it's pretty good. I give all the glory to God and the prayers on my behalf, that Gemzar has given me another year of life. My oncologist thought I was dying a year ago, but he's very caring and knowledgeable. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2010
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have experienced severe swelling of the knees and sometimes ankles, two days after treatment, lasting about three days. Very dibilitating and can,t walk. Does anyone else experirence this. I do have gout but uloric keeps it under control except when I receive treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
david | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/7/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Gemsar for about 3 months receiving is through intervenious once a week. Several times I had to skip the treatment in view of low blood counts and platlets. Had to go for transfusions and then the procedure could be done. N0 other side affects,except dirrehea,poor appetite, and cramps. I hope it all works out for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mtridley | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/31/2010
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Working well with me. No problems so far. Overall I am satisfied with this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More