Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

17 People found this comment helpful

This drug has been given to my mom for 17 months. She's had 12 months of good quality of life on it and only recently began having real problems: fluid in the lung cavity, shortness of breath, congestive heart disease, severe tiredness. She was diagnosed in July of 2009, is inoperable, and is still fighting.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

severe nausea, easy to get infections. I NEVER FEEL GOOD ANYMORE. This is my second time taking Gemzar. Ihave much advanced IBC since 2004.

Shared reviews and ratings

archie | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/15/2016
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed respiratory pneumonia from Gemicitebine and ended up in the hospital for a week.I still have not recovered entirely.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kellyr2k | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had this drug + Taciturn (sp) I had so many side effects i had to stop. They started small and got much worse. Persistent nausea and vomiting, sever edema from my feet to around my lung a and heart. I increasing became weak. I went from a cane to a walker to a wheel chair. Switched to a different chemo and the symptoms disappeared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hipgrandmapat | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2015
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just started treatment so too early to say

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ray | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/17/2014
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No real problems with this drug by itself. Some irritation in the veins.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deborah | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
3/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Mother was given Gemcitibine for Gallbladder cancer. And she asked her oncoloigist how effective it was.His answer was 25% or less. If I was a cancer patient- I'D RUN FROM THE HILLS TO STAY AWAY FROM ANY ANY HARMFUL TREATMENT AS CHEMO OR RADIATION. They DON"T cure cancer. THEY ARE A $ MAKER FOR THE DRUG COMPANIES. THAT DON'T CARE IF YOU LIVE OR DIE! Don't believe me-Do a LOT of research. I'd seek an alternative Dr. Like Berzinski in Texas. Not surre if that is the correct spelling of his name. But also read Suzanne Somers book-she beat cancer-not using harmful drugs. That do nothing but make you more weak! SHAME, SHAME SHAME-on our medical system.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
newjourney09 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2013
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hot and cold sweats, back spazams and pain,overall very dissatified. sande santiago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First time with this drug. Used in combination with carbo & test drug. Standard side effects but not bad. Better than expected tumor reduction after first scan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tired1 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2011
Condition: Cancer of the Bladder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was scheduled to have 6 treatments, once a week for 6 weeks. However the red blood count fell so low that I was only able to get a treatment every other week. Felt pretty good but very tired and unable to really complete anything I wanted to do, I did not have any problem falling asleep in the chair watching tv or reading.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
4/28/2011
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been given to my mom for 17 months. She's had 12 months of good quality of life on it and only recently began having real problems: fluid in the lung cavity, shortness of breath, congestive heart disease, severe tiredness. She was diagnosed in July of 2009, is inoperable, and is still fighting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cgb401 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/10/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pt. taking for Pancreatic cancer with lymphatic involvement and mets ro liver and gallbladder

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Araf | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/31/2010
Condition: Cancer of the Pancreas
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zoom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
4/17/2009
Condition: Cancer of Gallbladder or Bile Ducts
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband is in his 11th month of treatment with gemcitabine. The most significant side effects have been fatigue and recently low blood counts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | Caregiver
2/28/2009
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked when Doxil failed. It halted the progression of my grandmother's platinum resistant disease.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
js2031 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/9/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on my fifth cycle of this drug, along with docetaxel, to try and prevent recurrent uterine leiomyosarcoma after surgery. To me, the gemcitabine is very easy to take compared to the docetaxel (which is a relative nightmare of side effects). The only side effect I see with the gemcitabine is lowered blood counts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2008
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have recurrent ovarian cancer with disease in 5 regions of lymph nodes. The only side effect I had was low red/white cell counts and low platelets. Gemcitabine/Carboplatin worked extremely well for about 4 months (CA125 from 465 to 20, one area of cancer on PET/CT gone, all others shrunk), but then it just stopped having an effect. CA125 is rising again and I'm starting on a different drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/18/2008
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother was on this drug for ovarian cancer and she developed a irregular heart beat from this dryg which caused her to throw a blood clot and have a stroke and die.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JILLYBEAN2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2007
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

severe nausea, easy to get infections. I NEVER FEEL GOOD ANYMORE. This is my second time taking Gemzar. Ihave much advanced IBC since 2004.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More