Show ratings & reviews for

2.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

18 People found this comment helpful

Easy for me to tolorate ... have had 8 treatments three weeks apart Good PSA results. Am able to travel and work. Feel better since beginning treatment. Side effects include hair loss, nail change, shortness of breath, fatigue, numbness in finger tips and feet. the stde effects have increased over time. The positive results are well worth the side effects.

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

This Drug Almost Killed Me.

Shared reviews and ratings

Win | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2017
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed Jan 2014, advanced prostate cancer. Little buggers are hanging out in my bones. This is my 2nd regimen of taxotere, 1st in 2014. PSA went to 2 from 391. I've had every available treatment since and now doing round 2. So far, side effects are minimal this time - a little fatigue, beginning hair loss. Four doses to go. I expect issues with my nails, leg swelling, nausea as experienced first time. This time I'm more active - daily walks, yard work, still riding my motorcycle. I expect staying busy to help curb some side effects. Positive attitude helps, too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me Te | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/8/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Triple Negative Breast Cancer. Lost all my hair almost immediately, and am now (even 3 months after chemotherapy finished) losing my nails. Taxotere caused my nail beds to turn black and as that portion grows off, my nails are coming off. Hair is slow to grow back and is coming back in different texture. Overall, I tolerated this drug really well. NO unexpected side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/13/2015
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only had 2 out of 6 infusions. Too early to tell if its effective. Will update after next PSA test. My tolerance is very good. The only negatives were an early swelling of hands (now OK) and fatigue. Bo th side affects have improved.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Memeforbabies | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my 1st TCH on 6/11/14. Within 12 hours, I was in excruciating pain from lower back to knees. The pain lasted 3 days. On day 6, my infusion arm started turning red and itching. Day 7, I have a rash on my infusion hand/wrist that is red and itchy. My mouth and tongue are swollen and I have sores on the sides of my tongue. I have 5 more rounds to go. I am meeting with my Oncologist before my next treatment on 7/1/14. Praying he will change my treatment plan!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
oaf834 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2014
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i had every side effect mentioned, great for working on cancer, horable working on you it's a killer. wound up with chf,copd,more lung trouble. took myself off the drug after 9 sessions. now trying to rehab.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dee | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/4/2014
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with her2 breast cancer six months ago that did not spread. Took one dose of taxoterre, carboplatin,, neolastica,, Herceptin,perjeta. Body was trashed: bone pain, severe back pain, rash, gerd, mouth sores, hair loss, severe diarrhea.. I requested new plan, so had taxol weekly (10 mg) with added Herceptin and perjeta every twenty one days. Three months later tumor is gone. Now facing radiation for six weeks and continued Herceptin only. Have concerns about both lung and heart side effects but going forward taking stock of impacts.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clyde | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/20/2014
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/31/2013
Condition: Cancer Involving the Head or Neck
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

began tratment following complete laryngetomy, partial right neck dissection and peridectomy. Further surgery risk high from carotid being surrounded by cancerous mass. Cancer spread to lungs and possible bone involvement. Started treatment with Taxotere for three three week treatments. had 100% tooth extraction prior to starting radiation treatments. Started taxotere treatments again following radiation, now in fourth treatment after RT. Lung nodules remain stationary, one slight increase, one decreased to 1/3 original size, the other unchanged. No further change in neck tumor last six months. Taking neulasta in tandem to keep white cell production up. 24 months since diagnosis and surgery. Prognosis following surgery, 30-60 days life expectency. Complete loss of vocal chords and partial tongue removal make talking impossible and swallowing difficult. remain on tube feeding and use electronic voice enhancement through computer software to communicate. Experience weakness and stomach distress two or three days following treatment with Toxatere and neulasta. Receive shot for possible bone involvement every six weeks. I have occassional dizziness, ringing of ears, hearing loss in low tones, nail discoloration, hair loss, constipation followed by diareahh. Weight fluctuates between 108 and 111 pounds, BP 115/64 average with low dipping to 86/64 and high 127/74 currently with O2 at 98%. Clinically pretty good overall. 24 months since surgery.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cans | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2012
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

2003 is when I was treated with this drug. I had an allergic reaction in which my feet burned like I walked on hot coals. I could not walk and soon layers and layers of the skin peeled off and lost toenails and finger nails and all the skin on my hands. Ever since I have had severe nerve damage. I do not have active cancer however. They did switch me to Taxol to finish my treatments.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nissi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/11/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Taxotere 20mgs once every 3 weeks as part of my chemotherapy for Stage 2 HER-2 positive invasive ductal carsinoma (breast cancer). During my second infusion I had a terrible reaction. A sharp pain ran from the nape of my neck down my spine and out to all my limbs. I was paralyzed by the pain and called out for help. Oncology nurses ran over and said that I had a reaction to the Taxotere and that my infusion rate needed to be slowed down etc. I was able to take Taxotere for the duration of my 5 chemo cycles but the infusions lasted 6 hours each visit. I was told that my name was added to "a list" but was not given any further information. In the months and now 2 years that followed, I suffered from mild neuropathy in my feet and hands but what was worse was this gnawing pain in my back that has progressively gotten worse. I wasn't even able to take a shower because the water hurt my back as it came out of the shower head. I began to ask my oncologist what this pain was and he seemed baffled and didn't make any connection to the Taxotere incident whatsoever. Each time I mentioned it, he refuted that it was safe and not related. I had numerous MRIs and a PET scan, a full spinal x-ray series, CT scans and even a thorasic spinal epidural to try and relieve the pain and find the root of my pain. All came back that I was fine. With no further answers and help from my oncology team, I decided to seek help from other specialsist. I am now being seen by a Pain Management doctor who is treating my pain as nerve damage from the Taxotere. I am on heavy doses of pain meds and have drastically altered my quality of life. The pain is more manageable than it had been earlier, but it is ever present and masked by medication. I was NEVER informed that chronic nerve damage in my back could be a possible side effect. I have since connected online with others who have suffered with severe pain following Taxotere usage. I am cancer free, but in pain!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
8/18/2011
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

diahrriea nauseam chronic muscle and joint pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2Qui | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/2/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given three treatments of taxotere and experienced shortness of breath to point where I have suffered an adverse event causing permanent lung damage. I have just over 50% of my lung function left. If you experience shortness of breath to point that you cannot do the things you normally do - insist on getting your lungs examined (via xray or ct scan). Be sure that you are okay. Do not take No for an answer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2011
Condition: Breast Cancer that has Spread to Another Part of the Body
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First round of 4 weekly 70 mg treatments left me tired, very watery eyes, no taste so weight loss, ncompletely tired, numb hands & feet, loss of fingernails, took a break after 4 treatments but counts went down 200 points. Back on after 4 months when other options didn't work.After 3 months of 50 mg weekly treatments taking a break again. Hands and feet quite numb, nails falling off, excessive fluid retention legs, stomach; difficulty breathing, watery eyes, again no taste, completely rung out so off again now for at least a month - maybe permanently. Very, Very hard drug for me and I have handled all others easily.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2011
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had my third infusion. The good part is my PSA went from 1302 in May to 17 on June 28, 2011. However on the last 2 infusions, I had reactions half way through,chest&neck pressure like a heart attack. They had to stop and give me benedryl, then proceed at a reduced rate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Caregiver
7/22/2010
Condition: Cancer Involving the Head or Neck
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started taking need more information

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bishop | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/11/2010
Condition: Small Cell Cancer of the Lung
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
3/5/2010
Condition: Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking taxotere ever 3 weeks for 7 months and the excessive eye tearing and fingernail infections are wearing me down. My CT scans have been coming back "slight improvement". I plan to discuss changing my treatment with my oncologist at my next appointment. I previously had peripheral nueropathy of hands and feet from my first round of chemotherapy so I do not know if taxotere has had any effect on this problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tori | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2010
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had 7 treatments with Taxotere-no one told me I could permanently lose my hair, but two years after finishing chemo, I have very sparse very thin hair on my scalp, and no body hair, no eyebrows or lashes.I just wish I had been given a choice.There is a sizeable contingent of women around the world who have had the same experience with hair loss and taxotere.Drug company denies it and says it is rare, but there are too many of us for it to be an anomaly. Be forewarned-you could lose your hair permanently and add the insult of alopecia to the injury of breast cancer. So far my cancer remains in remission (they don't say cured, they say remission), but I still continue to fight neuropathy, fatique, low blood counts and chemo brain. And again, it has been 2 years! I am grateful to be alive but if I had been given a choice of something that would not cause all these problems and still kill off the cancer cells, I would have certainly chosen something else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/12/2010
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

chemo sickness, pain in cancer spots intense, weakness, no energy, chemo brain, unable to think, or end statements

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bill W | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/28/2009
Condition: Cancer of Prostate that has Spread to Other Part of Body
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Easy for me to tolorate ... have had 8 treatments three weeks apart Good PSA results. Am able to travel and work. Feel better since beginning treatment. Side effects include hair loss, nail change, shortness of breath, fatigue, numbness in finger tips and feet. the stde effects have increased over time. The positive results are well worth the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More