Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

115 People found this comment helpful

I am the worlds worst when it comes to taking new medicine. It took me almost 2 weeks to get up the nerve to actually swallow this pill because I was so scared of the side effects. I am so glad that I did..It has helped me tremendously. The first couple of days were alittle rough adjusting to the side effects. But they were really no worse than what I was already experiencing..Jittery, nervous,agi...

Most voted negative review

36 People found this comment helpful

Do NOT take this poison! It is a high-grade amphetamine. Don't let any doctor lie to you about it. I took it 5 years and have been off it 3 years, taken off this poison by a nonAmerican doctor who doesn't buy into the "give-a-pill" theory of medicine. Wellbutrin has changed my brain permanently. I was never angry before. Now I live every day very angry. My life is hell filled with anger. This medi...

Shared reviews and ratings

SoutherenHon | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/22/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication a few years ago to treat my ADHD, Inattentive Type. It didn't really work for me then. I subsequently weaned myself off of it. For the past year or so, I've been dealing with severe depression. I started taking Buproprion 150 XL and noticed a slight improvement. By this I mean that my crying spells were not as frequent, but they are still there. Unfortunately, I am dealing with an extremely uncomfortable side effect and that is profuse sweating. I am soaking through my clothes. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kami | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Psychiatrist prescribed this when he diagnosed me with mild depression. I was in my 20's and I have reached the age of 48 , still am being prescribed this medication. My diet is not all that concerning, no matter how many different changes I make the blood pressure and heart rate spikes occur so often and in my 20's and 30's blood pressure readings were normal. All the side effects have really increased ten fold since I have hit my 40's. My low mood levels, anxiety, and panic has shown up in my life daily, in recent years too. Since I hit my 40's I have been prescribed high blood pressure meds and tachycardia meds, recently blood pressure meds were increased in dosage. The time I have been on this med is 20 years. The length of time only went to 2 to less than 5 years down below.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Daniel | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS MEDICINE'S Effectiveness and Satifaction is Unsurpassing...5 Simple Inverted Morning Starz for this Chemical Creation is a Slap in The Face I believe that it's Effectiveness is So Well at Making Me Lose a Desire to Smoke Marijuana Immediately after consuming one pill that I'm leery on only One Thing...I attempted to smoke my last Marijuana Cigarette immediately after ingesting my first dose and again noticed an unhealthy aspect to Marijuana Smoke... It seemed So Iimmediate that I noticed an unhealthy Vapuer upon ingesting My First Pill that I could attribute to my earlier Marijuana Consumption and not the pill... This Testimony was repeated several years earlier when I was prescribed this medication for ADHD... Your Medication was so effective with ADHD that I stopped your medicine for ADHD and am Cured of ADHD because of my daily usage as was prescribed to me... One of the side effects was I lost my habit for smoking marijuana...I did remember that it made smoking Marijuana the exact same ugly feeling as if I smoked a cigarette...As it goes now I'll be Good to Go after just 60 pills and This Time...I won't start smoking again...Sorry so Long but THIS CURES A RITUALIZED MARIJUANA HABIT VERY WELL...as Well this is Only The Best with Curing or Maintaining ADHD...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/2/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Bupropion XL 150 about 6 weeks ago, after Effexor stopped working as all the others did over the years. I still get dizzy, loss of appetite and bloated. Week 4 the depression hit and it was rough, so it does make you worse before helping. Now, I feel I am just here. Intrusive thoughts are under control but I do not want to do anything. Daily I am trying to get back to normal but can’t. Still feel sad or down. Going to talk to Dr. about taking 300 mg but worried the side effects will happen all over again. It has brought some light to my sex life as the others killed it but I definitely am not where I should be. Just powering through work and the daily living is not where I want to be. I have a happy home with great family, I want to get back to enjoying my Husband , Children , Grand Children….. Life. Good Luck to others trying to find their “happy” pill, don’t give up. Keep searching to find what works best for you. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bri | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Effexor but I told my doctor that I was emotionless, couldn’t cry, 0 desire for sex and weight gain. She put me on bupropion. I’ve taken for over a week now. Initially my mood was all over the place and I had to struggle through the headaches. But now I feel good. I was able to cry during a show. I enjoyed sex immensely with my husband last night as well as this morning. I've been feeling like I can go another round tonight. I haven't felt this way since before I had our son who is 19 years old. It has also suppressed my appetite so I'm hoping to shed a few pounds soon.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cat | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this medication for a looong time. i guess it kinda helped? but not really. it wasn't until i started eating super healthy, exercising, and taking my therapy very seriously that i saw any results. now, i'm almost completely free of depression after struggling with it (and schizophrenia, ocd, and bpd) since my childhood. i ended up going off my bupropion because i ran out of it one day and didn't have the money to refill it, then eventually i just forgot about it. after a month of being off of it, i noticed i was very irritable and felt extremely awful, but i didn't see my psychiatrist for another month. after about a week of feeling worse than i've ever felt in my life, i'm completely back to normal. don't notice any difference on it vs off it. honestly, after being on medication since i was 12 i'm not really sure if i buy into the way psychiatrists hand out meds like candy. i don't think any of the meds i've ever been on have made any difference at all. i think there are some cases where meds would actually help, but for me none of the 15 or 20 meds i've been on have made any difference, except side effects. i would try therapy (cbt was most helpful for me) and cutting out added sugar and refined carbs, along with exercising and getting outside daily before you try any meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steven Alton | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an adverse reaction the other night when I mixed Bupropion and sertraline because the doctor said it was okay to do.. It made My heart beat faster and it felt like my blood vessels were going to burst.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Max | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After about a year on Fluoxetine (which helped tons btw) I was given 300mg bupropion along with it. It has been incredible. The first week was not fun: I had intense ringing in the ear and issues when standing up too quickly and my coworkers said I was very talkative etc. However, after that I was amazed at how enthusiastic I felt towards completing normal life activities. I wake up and am excited for the day, ready to shower and thinking of things while I'm at it, learning new things at work gives me such joy, I enjoy talking with and learning about others' lives (!), etc. I do not plan to be on this med much longer, but it has made it possible for me to expand my social life and actually combat my depression in a meaningful way. It has renewed my wonder with the universe so that now I have goals that I would like to accomplish and I have plans that extend long into the future. Quite amazing (with good therapy). Also, it has helped me with alcoholism. I was struggling to quit drinking after starting Fluoxetine, something which my doctor really encouraged (and required, for good reason). I get that taking bupropion is an overload on the dopamine receptors but damn man it will get you going in the right direction with enthusiasm for the future without feeling like you need to drink. The urge just went away. Like, actually. I was content reading and watching movies and chatting with my friends; I did not want to drink (I even poured out a bunch of beer I had just because I genuinely didn't want it). Overall, this med has helped me to overcome debilitating depression that left me in bed making plans for the big sleep. I have made actual changes in my habits to get a decent amount of sleep, eat healthy, exercise, plan for future goals, socialize, and most of all, work on addressing my mental health in a meaningful and lasting way. It's been great! *Caveat: you have to put in the work. Just taking the med will not help you in the long run. It's a good boost to get you going into good habits that will improve and stabilize your health into the future. Talk to a licensed therapist!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i've been on this for about 3weeks now , I dont like the feeling of tremors , a bit of headache , low libido ( frustrating ) still depressed , still angry , still confused at times , lots of sweating , agitation turned into extreme anger on mothers day , so much so I was screaming at the top of my lungs yelling at family walked away from them , went to eat something so upset I banged both arms on counter poked myself with small knife bleed somewhat 2 stitches ! I turned around i see my wife she turned white I scared her so much she ran out my house , blocked me telling me she will never be with me she said she now fears for her life ! I just lost my love of my life my friend !!! I think it was from this drug I had a bad reaction was agitated , angry , and more on mothers day ! fast big time mood swing ! It slowed down my crying my heart is numb but I still feel the pain in my heart and head , trouble concentrating , my mind still races . my doctor wants to try a different drug , i lost about 12 pounds since trying !Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for 10 days. I am still severely depressed. I took a week off work to try and get a break but it didn't work. I feel my depression is getting worse, I just want to run away, disappear or worse and not better, the doctor said it would take 2 to 4 weeks to take effect. The side effects have been dizziness, a bit forgetful, both my hands tremble and i have had sore arms I am not sure what is going on. I can't face work but can't get signed off as I bought a new house which I will re list on closing date as my family no longer want to move. Life can get a lot worse so in reality my problems are not big but to me they feel huge and I feel trapped and out of control of the situationRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bupropion 300mg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/5/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Migraine headaches, dizziness, pressure on my eyeballs, constipation and severe gas that doesn’t subside, nausea, joint aches mostly hips ache constantly, hot flashes. Gave it 2 months now I’m afraid to wean off.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was an add on to my Prozac because I had no sex drive on the ssri. My sex drive didn’t really improve w the Wellbutrin. Was disappointed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Goodness me, this medicine has changed my life! And those around me. I had ADD, single mother of 2 girls, i had anxiety and depression was starting to creep in for sure as life was so overwhelming. I was so nervous about taking the medication because of all the reviews about side effects but I had taken dexamphetamines perviously and ritalin for my ADD and felt racy and like I was distanced from my emotions, which either 2 almost teenage girls isn't what you want. I think my anxiety worsened a little but not considerably, within the first week of takng the medication, within 2/3 weeks I noticed I felt better, I was more able to finish tasks without overwhelm and now 1 month in I feel happy again and able to cope. For me it has been an absolute game changer. I am on 150mg once a day. I wanted to share this as I read reviews and was so scared to take the medication but I am so pleased I did. Wishing it works for whoever is reading and considering taking the medication. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cooper | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/25/2022
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've now tried this medication twice for ADHD/anxiety. My 1st attempt was 300 mg. I had horrible insomnia & stomach issues. The day I stopped taking it both side effects went away. 2nd attempt my Dr. wanted me to try it again at 150 mg doses. Around the same time frame of 2 weeks taking this daily, I got the same side effects again. Insomnia + stomach issues. I'm not even sure if it worked for me at all since the side effects were so bad after taking it only 2 weeks. For reference, my stomach would be upset basically all day long/throughout the night. Those issues would cause me to wake up after only sleeping about 3-4 hours. I would then never be tired at all even losing that much sleep. I normally sleep around 7.5 hours a night. After not sleeping for around 5 days on my 1st attempt, I had to "catch up" on a lot of sleep after I stopped taking it. Even sleeping 9-10 hours a night I was still tired from all the lost sleep. If you have any of the side effects, they greatly outweigh any of the positives in my opinion. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hildy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking 150xl but I’m having stomach issues, not hungry, jittery, very sentimental, cry over anything, I wonder if anyone taking this med has experienced what I’m experiencing especially the stomach issues, appreciate any input ????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DouglasJAU | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/8/2022
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this to stop smoking. I'd had success with Champix before, but with no supplies available globally due to vaccine manufacture, so I opted for Zyban. It is day 8 and the urge to smoke is almost gone. However, I have had 2 sleepless nights due to insomnia. I have no reason for it other than taking this drug. When I received it, there was no Product Information pamphlet, nor a PDS. This is shortsighted from the suppliers. I'd have liked a warning. I'm stuck between wanting to continue with the drug to become a complete NON smoker, and feeling like the debilitation due to insomnia will be almost as bad as smoking.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kdog | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/23/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on low-dose Zoloft for many years which worked well to manage intense anxiety and panic attacks. However, after going into University I struggled with low energy and although I wasn't anxious, I was still somewhat sad or never really felt awake. I also had really low libido. It has worked wonders. At first I was slightly more anxious from having more energy but I learned to manage it and I am so much happier day to day, have a lot more energy and much higher libido.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Erin | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/8/2022
Condition: Depressed Mood Disorder Occurring Every Year at the Same Time
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for seasonal mood disorder, although I take it everyday all year long. It helps keeps me even and I noticed I do not rage anymore. I really did not think it was making A difference because I did not feel mind altered or different at all. Until I did not take it for A couple days and realized how bad I really was before taking this medicine. I recommend this product for help with clinical depression or Bipolar disorder.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maria | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/18/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It did not work for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/7/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Quit smoking after 40 years with bupropion 150mg daily. No adverse effects for 10 years on it. It’s a dopamine enhancer and with some people it causes agitation and restlessness depending upon your own neurochemical makeup.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More