Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

168 People found this comment helpful

I normally never write on these things, but this medication has worked SO WELL for me, that I wanted to share, in case my comments might help someone who is undecided about Wellbutrin. I have had severe depression for about 10 years. Had been on prozac and effexor before wellbutrin. They both worked, but not even close to how the wellbutrin is helping me! I'm taking 300mg XL per day. I felt ...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

i am trying to loose weight to

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
9/12/2021
Condition: Binge Eating Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Wellbutrin for about one month, at first I couldn’t sleep that lasted about one week, the doctor told me to buy a white noise maching and that helped. This medication helped me to stop binge eating, and my depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/5/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed wellbutrin for a number of symptoms such as increased appetite and weight gain, low energy, inability to focus, low libido, etc. It started to work for me around a month of taking it, but at about 6-7 weeks I fell into a deep depression, which I hadn't experienced before taking this medication. I finally stopped taking it when I started having suicidal thoughts.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faygo | 19-24 | Male | Patient
8/27/2021
Condition: Attention Deficit Disorder with Hyperactivity
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this mainly for my ADD. I have already begun getting out of my deppressive state after years of trauma, so I didnt think I needed something that was mainly used as a mood booster. but.... After a month it was a noticeable change in my mood. I've never felt not deppressed, so this was great. im on 300. Im regular build, 5'6 male .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WellbutrinLover | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/4/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wellbutrin is a miracle drug. Before Wellbutrin, I would randomly feel a strong, sudden wave of darkness and emptiness, like a black hole was swallowing the life out of me from the inside. This would just hit me randomly. I could be alone chilling in my room, in the middle of a party I'm having a great time at, at school, at work, just anywhere at anytime. It was unpredictable AF. And it was super uncomfortable to be in that situation. That dark feeling immediately brought on suicidal desires. I didn't necessarily want to feel like that, but I've chalked it up to that's just what my brain chemistry naturally does. I didn't want to kill myself, but everything in my brain opened that door more and more, welcoming more pain until it becomes so mentally painful I can actually feel a physical reaction in my body. My heart would literally feel like it was getting drained and dragged down into a dark lake by the biggest weight you can imagine. So that describes the feeling that Wellbutrin has SAVED me from. After I started taking it, my life immensely changed for the better immediately. Depression runs in my family and Wellbutrin works for all of us. I've been taking 300mg XL every morning for over 4 years now. I feel so normal now that I don't even feel like I'm on medication (which is how you know it's working!) Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debbie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Wellbutrin, I found that my oxycontin would not last as long. I had to take my oxycontin earlier because I was going into withdrawals from taking the Wellbutrin. I read that Wellbutrin will cause the oxycontin to not work as long but I can’t find where it says that anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anxious | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my psychiatrist suggested giving this a try since it usually doesn't give GI side effects (i'm dealing with some GI issues aside from this so we didn't want to worsen that) and it doesn't kill your sex drive (which was an issue i had with my previous meds), but i've only been on it for 3-4 days and we've already decided it's best that i stop. i have anxiety/panic disorder so i was worried knowing this is a med people have said could trigger your anxiety, but my depression has been so bad that i decided to give it a go for any possible relief. it increased my resting heart rate, not so much that my heart was racing, but it was a noticeable change and i kept going back to the feeling and focusing on it which made me anxious. i noticed it also made my body a little twitchy too. after a few days of trying to push through that, i suddenly had this burst of restless and jittery energy that made me feel like i was going to start bouncing off the walls and going crazy. my thoughts were racing and i suddenly bursted into tears even though i didn't feel sad. i nearly had a panic attack, but luckily i was able to hold it together. that whole experience freaked me out so i told my psychiatrist im done with it. we're gonna try something else thankfully. i don't think it's fair for me to call this med bad. it just wasn't right for me. i think if anxiety is a big issue for you, this might not be the best choice, but everyone's different. good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/12/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed XL 150 MG. I noticed after only a week - a decrease in depression and anxiety, and a little more energy. However - made me hungry (I actually gained some weight), did nothing for me for smoking, increased problems sleeping, sort of a slow-burning anger was building, and increased cold-like symptoms (coughing, allergies, bit of problem breathing). SIde-effects outweigh the benefits for me. The only thing I think that has worked for me -helped me overcome a couple of major depressive episodes) was Zoloft - but had to take 200 MG of this- which I think is max dose.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ella | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In the process of a divorce and my doctor was so patient listening to my broken heart. He prescribed This medication 150 mg but the anxiety and depression were to much to handle after a year. He increased the dose from 150 to 300 and I couldn’t have felt better. This pills has helped my through the years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sailing now | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Wellbutrin is the only medicine that gives me any relief from my depression. After trying Prozac and Lexapro for many years, found a new doctor that has me take Wellbutrin along with my Lexapro. Not sure why, but he said they work well together. Amazing results. I feel like I have my life back and I don't find myself so pitiful. I'm healthy and happy and just wish someone had given me Wellbutrin earlier. Also - the side effects do go away... constipation, tremors and dreaming were pretty bad at first. Now, after two to three months, they are all gone. Keep trying with this med. it may not work for everyone, but it sure did for me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took initial dose (37.5mg) and within an hour I started vomiting. Vomiting lasted nearly 2 days. Doctor called it an allergic reaction and agreed that I discontinue taking. I only took the one dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K.A. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2021
Condition: Depressed Mood Disorder Occurring Every Year at the Same Time
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been a God sent! I started taking it for low energy levels which started impacting my work and my relationship because my energy was drained by 2pm every day and I'd be on the couch by 5pm. I've only been taking it a week now but the effect was immediate - Now I'm up at 7am and good until about 11pm. No other side effects other than a lack of appetite so I just have to remind myself to eat.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/20/2021
Condition: Stop Smoking
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After around 6 months use, my smoking almost stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Par857 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/3/2021
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was fine on this medication along with cymbalta until covid I am out of control with anxiety my nerves system is shot I want to be off but my dr will not agree. My kids say I am out of my mind canâ??t sleep canâ??t sit still and my lip is quivering I am changing dr

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently added wellbutrin to zoloft, which I have taken for years. I feel better re: mood and energy. However, the side effects: constipation, edginess, confusion, anxiety, inability to concentrate are significant. I would like to know if the side effects lessen over time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MeowMix | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/22/2021
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did relieve my depressive symptoms but I was then left with raging, uncontrollable anxiety. I’m not one for panic attacks but with Wellbutrin, I was very panicky. Furthermore, I experienced a bit of a brain fog. After the 6 weeks, my anxiety was worse than I had even experienced and I couldn’t hold a conversation without forgetting the topic after about a minute. This medication did not work for me, and completing the loading dose just furthered my anxiety and brain fog.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
erintodd | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/14/2020
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt compelled to write a review for this medication because it literally changed my life. I spent most of my adult life experiencing severe bipolar depression and was hospitalized for suicide. After starting wellbutrin - about a month in, I just... got better. Whatever chemicals in my bran that were not functioning correctly, the wellbutrin was the answer for me. I combine this medication with Lamictal to stablize my mood as well as a fairly healthy lifestyle, which I think is another big factor. These medications work differently on everyone, but for me wellbutrin was a complete life saver. I feel like I came out of a fog and can finally live my life again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Missy | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/9/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being in Lexapro for years, I felt as though it wasn�t doing anything anymore. My doctor switched me to Wellbutrin XL which made me almost manic/weepy. I also felt like I had �zaps� in my brain. I took it for 3 weeks then asked if he�d switch it to Wellbutrin SR after reading some reviews. Some people felt that the SR version worked better for them. I�m on my second day if the Wellbutrin SR. I feel more energized, but I�m worried after reading all of the side effects from everyone. I have the ringing in the ears( will this go away?) and have been weepy and short tempered. Should I keep taking it for a little longer to see if the side effects subside? I�m just confused on what to do.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Still Seeking | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2020
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked at first. I found relief in a week. I should have known that was impossible to work that quickly. Maybe it was the placebo effect that gave me the initial boost. Now, after about 3 months, I'm back to my "before" me at my worst. Very sad indeed. Back to that "eternal" chalkboard of still seeking something for relief. I don't think relief on any drug is possible in the long term -- just glimmers here and there. Best to be realistic and settle.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kandracarr | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2020
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a young single mother, I suffered a traumatic car accident, I was prescribed everything under the sun including xanax which is the devil, I became addicted and then i went through a dry spell and didn't trust any meds, antidepressant, or anxiety meds, i changed doctors and told him i can't be living this way anymore and he finally introduced me to 150-300mg wellbutrin and I take klonopin for the anxiety, within a weeks time frame i feel happy and i have actually been getting my ass out of bed. And doing more around the house...i am so pleased. Remember not every medtication works for everyone but I am a huge fan of wellbutrin, if you name a drug I've probably tried it and had the worst experience. So I do say give it time and maybe eat with it in the mornings...take in the mornings only!! If you can't sleep take melatonin or benadryl, as for me I have to take klonopin. Hope this helps! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aszy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ADHD that meds have not been able to treat successfully (I was diagnosed at 29). I also have anxiety and depression. My biggest symptom that was causing the most stress was my irritability. I would feel irrational and my mood was not great. I would be upset easily and critical with my young kids and husband. Felt trapped in a spiral that I knew was going to wreck my life. Thank goodness for Wellbutrin. A month after I first started it I remember one day feeling strange. A feeling I hadn't felt in a long time. I realized that constant sense of nagging worry and nothing to live for was gone and I was feeling happy. When I tried to increase to 300 mg o had to try 3 times because at first I would get irrational and grumpy again and feel awful. Eventually I got up to 300mg and felt the most change. It's been two years now and I now am on 150mg and doing good. I've tried to go off it before but I always get irritable and just aren't as good as a mother or wife. I become so critical and never like anyone when I'm off, which is a horrid feeling. Another unexpected side effect that I LOVE is that my **sex drive** increased. I was always once a week at most and didn't really love sex. Now I enjoy it more and actually have a drive. In that way alone my relationship has become better with my husband. I'm sad that I need a medication and worry it won't always work. It didn't cure my ADHD or anxiety but it helped a little. Mainly helped my depression. I still have bad days but I'm thankful it has helped. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More