Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

My Army Doctors all have panic attacks when I tell them I am using Afrin, but other Rx nasal sprays (cortico-steroids and anti-histamines)have almost no effect, except side effects. I have asked them why Afrin is so bad, but the ONLY side effect is that you may become dependent on it. Being that I have literally been congested my entire life without pause, Afrin is a lifesaver! One could argue tha...

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I’ve been using this product for a while now but this last night it reacted differently. Burned the living crap out of my throat it’s been 12+ hours and still in tremendous pain. Definitely calling the company. This needs to be off the shelves. Easily one of the worst days I’ve ever had. I’ve never read worse reviews on a product in my life. DO NOT TAKE. BEWARE. My heart goes out to all those suff...

Shared reviews and ratings

Dayv | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is INSANE! My nasal passages are on FIRE. I tried steam, I tried saline rinse. Nothing helps. Its been about 24 hours with no relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mandy | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well it stopped my nose from running. But boy I would rather have the runny nose than this pain. I feel like I swallowed battery acid and then ate fire. I can't talk it hurts so bad. The devil himself must have made this stuff in h*ll. Never again!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used a generic Afrin for a stuffed up nose and it was almost instant relief. I believe that most people who have the burning issue with this medication already have inflamed irritated tissues and this medication made it worse for them and they probably used way too much medication to begin with. One spray in each nostril does the trick. If you use too much it will be uncomfortable and painful. I made that mistake the first time also... plus you should be humidifying the air when you use this medication. It will dry out you nasal passages making the irritation worse for a while. Also, if you already have a sinus infection this medication will do nothing to help with that. You should be on an anti-biotic for any infection. Saline rinse also helps with the inflamed irritated nasal tissues until you heal some from whatever is causing you sinuses to swell. I just used common sense and a little Google knowledge to get me through my nose issues...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jared | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think a lot of the people in the replies are being a BIT dramatic but who am I to say. When I get really congested this product is a life saver and just instantly clears you up. Yeah it can sting your sinuses for a few minutes I’m not even going to lie, and it can be like you’re breathing hot air for a few minutes which sucks, but that goes away rather quickly, and to have that be the only downside of instsntly being decongested? I’d take it any day of the week. The only downside I’ve had is everyone says only use for 3 days then stop to prevent rebound congestion however I typically get rebound congestion after only 2 days of using it so it’s a very temporary fix. Just beware of rebound congestion because THAT is a real nightmare and I mean it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ken | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My nostrils were on fire! I had to use soap and water to clean my nose. My gosh .. It was bad!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iwisheddeath | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I feel bad for the unsuspecting person who stumbled on this site after having had their sinuses torched by this horrid chemical. Oh, it will clear your sinuses alright, but you’ll spend the next few hours wishing for the most torturous death because even in the 7th level of Hell, nothing could compare to the agony you’ll be in after snorting this poison. You think I’m exaggerating…

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bruce Hennings | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The oxymetazoline in the nasal spray burned my nasal passage throat and ear canal. The pain was intense and is still burning several hours after using it. I threw the nasal spray into the garbage. The spray ruined my entire day into a nightmare. Do t use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sorethroatcity | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just sprayed into both nostrils and immediately my nostrils and nasal passages were burning like hellfire and my throat is so burnt I can barely swallow. DO NOT USE THIS! Warning--this is the most horrible pain in the world. Like maybe swallowing hot charcoals! I tossed my in the trash...this should be banned! DO NOT USE!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Odessa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Almost threw up from the taste. I'm 20 weeks pregnant and this really sucks. I'm still on fire as I write this. It's like acid has burned my throat, roof of mouth and nose. Nose won't stop running at this point and head is on fire. I'm in serious pain. Tried tree different drinks to ease burn and nothing helps. It's been 45 minutes at this point.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RD | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/9/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Did not taste good and burned a tiny bit at first but instantly cleared my nasal passages. I would much rather deal with a little burning than not being able to breathe. A few of the other reviews are being a bit dramatic lol...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MonaLisaBug | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PURE HELL. Literally like I squirted acid in my nose that immediately drained in and out, increasing the burning! Temporary burning my a$$!!! It's been almost an hour of this hellfire in my sinuses and throat with no ease whatsoever! What FDA Nazi approved this crap to be sold OTC and even approve for CHILDREN?!?! I feel like contacting an attorney and starting a class action lawsuit for all of us who have been suffering and even had to go to the ER because of this crap!! DO. NOT. USE!!!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this two times in the past month (6/22) and have had terrible burning when applied. I've never experienced that before with this. I like to use this sparingly, so I dont consider myself used to dependent on it. It created an infection in my throat so bad I could not talk for days. I used it last night thinking i contracted the infection from work, but after waking up today from using it last night and have similar symptoms I had just two weeks ago when I used it, I know it's from the generic afrin. Nothing helped but antibiotics. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ABC in NC | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had the Walmart brand of this medicine and used it a couple of days with success. Tonight I used it, and it burned my nose and throat to the point of tears. I flushed my nostrils with water, gargled, took pain medicine, took Benadryl and am still in misery. My throat is swollen And the pain is almost unbearable. I thought about going to the ER, but I know it would be a long wait, and I am trying to tough it out. Never again will I use this product!! Beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dontusethis2022 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Runny Nose
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I wish I had read reviews before buying this. I have never used Afrin before but have had an insanely itchy, runny, clogged nose for nearly 12 hours and unable to to breathe out of my nose. Now that I've used it i can breathe, but my nose burns so bad i am still breathing out of my mouth because of the pain. I might as well have inhaled smelling salts

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JH5 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It will take away the stuffy nose and make you wish you were dead …. The burning pain is so intense. Not once have I ever felt pain that intense in my life and I have had 2 babies and multiple surgeries. It is burning my nose, my mouth, throat, ears, and I am having gastritis symptoms in my stomach. So much for sleep. It has been 6 hours of pain. DO NOT DO IT. This is much more dangerous then anything else you could be going through.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tab | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/29/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works pretty good at clearing my nose up but it causes everything else to be in such awful pain. I can breath through my nose, but my my nose burns, throat burns, eyes burn, roof of my mouth hurts, and my teeth hurt after using it. Like it’s a good 8/10 on the pain scale. And it’s been 15 mins after I’ve used it as directed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justme76 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a sinus infection and bought this.I put 1 spray per nostril and the burning is so intense in my nose and throat.I will NEVER use this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TremendousPain | 13-18 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have used this in the past. Was on my first day of using it (as directed). Horrible, horrible burning. Some of the most intense pain I've ever felt and it has not relented. In the parking lot of an urgent care right now in tremendous pain and notable distress. NEVER take this.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Thismedstinks |
4/3/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine has brunt the crap out of my nose and mouth. This is ridiculous. This needs to be pulled ASAP.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emma | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: Stuffy Nose
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Burned the death out of my throat. This should not be OTC.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More