Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

havent taken yet

Shared reviews and ratings

protector | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
4/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my Love one has taken cogentin for six years sense age 22 & last two years with seroquel. He has slur speech, walks like he's drunk, with a good night sleep, takes his pills at waking hour and he's tired, confusion, blur visions, repeats himself, ask the same question over within 15 minutes of the conversation, irregular heart beat at times, droppy eyes, wants to sleep & does it on the job, in his classes, at home an hour after he takes these meds, his throat feels sore, very dry mouth and skin, rash on skin, been violet, out rage name calling for no reason, muscle spasm & twitches during his sleep,enlarged pupils, drinks excessive water enough to give you more toxins & out of BPA Bottles as reusables everyday, irrebility, memory loss. And this is what he tells me: " these meds makes me better than how I use to be". This is how he use to be folks, excessive sweating, hyper (ADHD) depressed. And these things he thought was out rageously abnormal and he said he needed cogentin, seroquel and now Paxel with the other two.So I'm watching him slowly deteriating his entire body, slowly dying off. By the way this also subtracts your life span by 25 years. Not one doctor Dignosed him to have Bi polar nor schizaphrenia yet he finally found a old doctor that was willing to give him what he wanted.He's with held all urgent information from his pyscho of all these side effects. Should I inform his doctor of these symptoms? Any comment, please doRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meatball | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the side effects of this medicine (constipation, dry mouth, etc) far outwweigh any benefit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NoCogentin | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
11/26/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Memory loss, can't concentrate, hearing voices.. I'm glad to see these comments today. He drove 15 miles today to go to WalMart to p/u his med's and picked up something in the grocery section and came home without his meds. It was the reason he went to WM and forgot that fast. He's only 51 and will not be taking Cogentin anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ZippyZoe#1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Me me very sick..uncontrolled anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ohnoneveragain | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2013
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was put on this for about a three month period for extrapyramidal symptoms. (I had where all my muscles would contract at once and would let go for hours) anyways so they gave me cogentin, but I "woke up" three months into taking it and could not remember even a little bit of what I had done in the past three months. According to caregivers I ate, drank, communicated normally but I couldn't remember a thing. It was to me like I went to sleep and woke up and three months had gone by. It did work well in controlling my symptoms though. But cant go through life asleep essentially. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/29/2013
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken antipsychotics most of my life and I constantly deal with EPS and Dystonia. This medicine takes the rigidity and tremors away. The only thing I dislike is the extreme dry mouth shortly after my dosages.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Johnny | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
2/14/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband took this medication to alleviate arm pain associated with Ability. After a couple days he started to hallucinate and hallucinated for four days until we saw our primary care physician who took him off the drug. Horrible experience.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Olivia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HATE THIS DRUG!!!! I am Bipolar Type 1 and began taking Latuda. Latuda works great but I had minor agitation and restlessness on it so doc put me on Cogentin. I stopped taking it a day ago because it has caused me to have disorientation, confusion and short term memory loss. I have a memory like an elephant, normally. I'd rather be restless than be in a horrid cognitive state. I do not recommend this med. It has dumbed me down. I hope it's only temporary.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
solarevol | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2012
Condition: Parkinsonism due to Degenerations in the Brain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking cogentin originally to balance out side effects of my anti-depressant. It really really helped a lot. I felt normal and had more energy than i had before. I had had a brain injury from smoking k2 and taking cogentin reversed a lot of my confusion and improved my memory.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellatude | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
8/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My 17 year old daughter was put on this medication for dystonia. She immediately began having violent mood swings as reported by another caregiver. It does help with her involuntary movements, however the emotional side effects are as debilitating for her as the dystonia. She has extreme panic/anxiety, anger, despair, giddiness, all within the span of minutes to hours. The more often she takes the medication, the more extreme the emotional reactions become. I hope this helps ohter people!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Be of good cheer! | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take Cogentin 1mg twice daily for relief from tremor(s). It has done more to improve the side effects of tremor than anything yet. I take other medications which can actually cause tremor. I prefer not to take an additive physically and psychologically medication to combat tremor. Often times other medications are the culprit in ones regimen to treat a certain infirmity; check out the overall side effect possibility of each medication. Each medication has general side effects and the combination of all may likely produce side effects. "Different strokes for different folks" is generally the reality of taking medications as it also applies to other things in life! Have a great day!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Be of good cheer! | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/22/2012
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Each day I've noticed gradual improvement by taking Cogentin 1mg twice a day. I'm after ~ 10 days of Cogentin, and counting, already realizing a major difference in self confidence to actually try certain tasks of which I for some time avoided. I hope to improve even more concerning relief from tremor. Have a great day!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Been there too | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2012
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took cogentin a few years ago to counteract side effects from a neuroleptic (EPS). Soon I was falling asleep all the time while driving, unable to speak in a complete sentence, and apparently raving about nonexistent missiles in Japan. I can't even remember most of what happened during that period of time. When I saw my doctor and couldn't communicate with him at all either by speaking or writing, he had to hospitalize me to get me stabilized and to change my medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/30/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking it for 6 yrs., for facial tics,has worked very well. I am beginning to experience some side effects now. Does is need to be discontinued and replaced with a similar drug?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juls | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
9/15/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has causes violent mood changes in my 16 yr. old son.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
m | 25-34 | Female | Patient
8/7/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

havent taken yet

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
2/23/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter is on this and it doesn't do her any good. It interacts with so many other things. There isn't any information how to titrate off of it but I will ask her dr. how to and hopefully she can get off of it. I don't see how it is useful. Her symptoms aren't helped by it. It's just one more drug they put her on.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/30/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was perscribed this medication, because I am on Geodon for Bipolar Disorder and the Geodon gave me the "shakes" and Cogentin stopped them. Best medication for the "shakes" from mental medications!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2010
Condition: Extrapyramidal Reaction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been Bipolar since I was a young child. I have 40 years of taking anti-psychotic medications and started having involuntary mouth movements. Cogentin was very effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/17/2010
Condition: Parkinson Symptoms
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother started taking this to counter side effects Abilify. She had only been on the med for 3 days. It caused such severe memory loss, that she could not recall conversations within minutes of having them. She also experienced such severe dry mouth that it was hard for her to talk without sounding slurred. Definetly not worth the extreme side effects!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More