Show ratings & reviews for

4.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

92 People found this comment helpful

I had three boils coming up in my vaginal area. The result from an infection from three fractures in on my ankle. It was getting very difficult to sit. The pharmacist sold me a tube of Ichthammol ointment and instructions on how to use. The warm compresses were a welcome relief.But I received total relief within a couple hours of applying the ointment. It was amazing how the boils came together as...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

treatment of sabacecious cyst, to dry up and get rid of the soreness. ths is the topical solution in a light greenish looking small tube. smell though

Shared reviews and ratings

Bothersomeboils | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a teen i suffered with facial boils that would completely close my eye(s) with the swelling. The drs gave me an antibiotic roll on ointment that helped, but the boils would eventually come back worse. My grandmother was from the N.east of England, and as soon as she saw how bad one was, she gave me what she called "Blackjack ointment", which was ichthammol, and applied it to a big plaster(bandaid in U.S) and overnight the puss would be drawn out and the boil gone with no trace! The plaster would look disgusting after, but well worth it! Now i have to use testosterone gel for low testosterone, i get the odd boil, and went straight for ichthammol and it still works. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eva | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My boyfriend is diabetic and had an ulcer on the bottom of his right foot that got infected and progressed into a bone infection in 3 of his bones so they scheduled him for a below the knee amputation . We met an a sweet lady at Safeway as we go there a lot and she saw how discouraged we were about him losing his foot and told us to get this ichtammol and maggots which we did in a desperate attempt to save his leg. We researched on how to sterilize them as medical grade maggots were not available in our area and put them in the wound for 24 hours then for the next month we put in ichtammol and changed dressing once a day. It’s now a month later and he just had follow up mri done as we post poned the amputation and with using ichtammol there is no more sign of bone or tissue infection . His ulcer under the foot went from 3cm to 1 cm in the month of treatment so we will continue using ichtammol til it’s completely closed up . We are shocked and beyond thrilled with the results Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ichthammol | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/17/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went to the dermatologist after dealing with ingrown hairs or something on the lower part of my cheek for two years. It wasn’t under the skin pimples. I could feel it and I couldn’t stop messing with them, there are like two around the same area. Anyhow the dermatologist used a freezing spray and gave me a prescription from some compound pharmacy. The freezing seemed to work and I never followed through getting the prescription due to the cost and I thought they were gone. Some months later they were back, I swore I’d leave them alone as to not irritate them. That didn’t work! I remembered using ichthammol on boils an ex boyfriend got after a hunting trip to Alaska. The drawing salve was amazing! I have been putting it on the infected area on my face and the results are fantastic. I definitely recommend this product!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
3/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed a boil inside my thigh on a flight to Washington. My brother picked me up and I told him I need to go to Albertsons. Luckily, the pharmacist kept some behind counter. I told him my mother used it on my brother boils. She swore by the black tar salve. Any wasp bite or spider bite she would scrub area and pack salve into it. Put a heavy gauze on it and changed it 4 times a day. Boil gone and not itchy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/21/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had a lemon sized sebaceous cyst for over 40 years. I've had it removed surgically removed 3 times, and it always returns. My doctor recommended Ichthammol (previously known as "draw out salve"). The next time I had a flare up, inflammation, swelling, intense pain, I applied a generous amount of Ichthammol to a large bandage and covered the cyst. Repeating this for two days the cyst opened up on it's own, and I was easily able to have my wife coax the pus, and core, (about a quarter cup), out, and within a period of about 4 days from start to finish, I was healed. The cyst is located on the left side of my middle back. When it's active it feels like a lit cigar sticking in my back. Ichthammol is the ONLY thing that has ever worked for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim B | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hairy chest = many ingrown hairs. Been using since the 60's. This stuff is a life saver! Usually gets rid of them in a day or 2 but always works. Just remember to properly cover area when it's applied, does not work well with clothing and bedding.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Juliet | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/5/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had big boils (infected cysts) all my life and several have been professionally cut open and drained--sometimes they came back. Now I use Ichthammol ointment instead, under a bandage. In a couple of days, it brings the boil to a head and then it blows open on its own so the infection can come out. I keep the ointment on until it's all out. (Tons of stuff comes out). The salve helps the healing afterwards as well. Best of all, the salve immediately alleviates the pain of boils when you apply it. But keep a big bandage on for when the puss starts coming out, and change bandages regularly. Ichthammol is also antibacterial and antifungal, so it creates a sterile environment. I can't live without this stuff! I couldn't believe I went so long without even knowing about it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When our children were small, my sister worked at a "mom and pop" pharmacy. She bought me a tube as a gift because customers were swearing how wonderful it was for removing splinters. In my 27 years of parenting, I've NEVER dug out a sliver. We just applied a dab of the ointment to the sliver/sticker, covered with a bandage and the next morning, it was gone!! Our kids called it "stinky sticker stuff"...and I will buy a tube for each of them once they're parents!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/4/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When i was a kid in the 60's my mother used this all the time. I once fell and got to gashes on my knee, It became infected. Put the salve on and in 3 days the infection was gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pmill06 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/13/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, my wife has been dealing with a recurring cyst on her side for 3 years now. Got it drained once 2 years ago but it came back. Put this salve on a bandaid and placed it on my wife monday night on a cyst she had for 2 years. Damn thing brought all kind of junk to the skin surface after only 9 hours. Cyst broke open on her at work tuesday. Pretty messy. Cleaned it up several times Tuesday night cause it was draining like a leaky pipe. Took her to hospital today so doctor could remove the rest of the junk in it. Point is that we got her cyst cleared up in one night. Couldn't get it to rise to surface doing other stuff for 2 years. That ointment works check it out.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/17/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Al | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used it on bug bites and it works great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Twyatt | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had three boils coming up in my vaginal area. The result from an infection from three fractures in on my ankle. It was getting very difficult to sit. The pharmacist sold me a tube of Ichthammol ointment and instructions on how to use. The warm compresses were a welcome relief.But I received total relief within a couple hours of applying the ointment. It was amazing how the boils came together as one big boil and started draining on its own. It even closed up and left no sign of scarring. I recommend this ointment to family and friends and they received the same results. I Highly recommend. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
girlinstl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/31/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get fever blisters on my lips when I get stressed, cold weather, etc. I can feel the dryness on my lips when the blister is starting to come. I put this (terribly smelling ointment) on my lips and hours later, the dryness is gone and I don't get the blisters on my lips. It keeps me looking pretty and not having to obtain medicine to get rid of the fever blisters. My family and I also use this for hair bumps, any type of blisters and boils. This works wonders. It was given to me by a friend and when I tried to get more I searched the internet and found it was basically for farm animals, horses, etc. I was shocked. It's works so well, I didn't care and we all use it. It's the best for it's healing properties. It keeps our skin in great shape and pain to a minimal and then none. GREAT STUFF!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Ichthammol Ointment for years. If you have a boil that just will not go away, get a Band-aid bandage that sticks all the way around, put a dab of Ichthammol Ointment in the middle of the bandage, and place over the boil. Make sure all edges are secure. When you wake-up in the morning, the boil will be reduced quite a bit. Something in the Ichthammol draws out the infection. As far as the smell, to me it smells like freshly layed Asphalt. Thinking of it that way helps to ignore the smell. It is an amazing ointment. I highly recommend using this product. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Favourite | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Caregiver
3/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've recently moved out of the country and have become more susceptible to poison ivy for some reason, this ointment is one of the only things I will use to treat it, it works wonders. (call me crazy but i've even grown used to the smell) It is amazing!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
B Jones | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
1/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

We have always used "Ickyall" Ichthammol ointment. We had it on the ranch/farm and used it on us kids and the animals. When my daughter was 4, she opened a big door that had a metal plate on the bottom of door. It scraped across the top of her foot. That night, a red streak ran all the way from her toe to her knee. I put Ichthammol on it and covered it. Call doctor to make a appointment for the next day. The next day (appt. set for afternoon), the red streak was pulled back to the toe. Doc said that it was blood poisoning, but keep using the ointment as it was the best way. That night, all redness was gone and it was already starting to heal. Love it!!! So you can use it for almost any type of injury. We have used it on bites, rusted barbed wire, thorns and stickers (pulls them out). JUST BE SURE YOU COVER IT AS IT STAINS.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lizzielou | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a boil on my upper thigh - nothing was taking it away. Finally made a doctors appointment, but read online about ichthammol... Decided to give it a try to releive some of the swelling and pain (I could barely walk). Put the ichthammol on, along with some tea tree oil last night. When I woke up (here come the gross details), the gauze I had it covered with had yellowy goo all over it (along with the ichthammol), and the swelling had went down a little and was slightly more bearable. The smell was disgusting, mainly from the ichthammol but also some from the pus that oozed out. Still planning on going to the doctor, because it seems to be infected, but the ichthammol it's making it so much more bearable until I do. The only thing, like others have said, is it does smell kinda gross. I would still reccomend, just don't get it on your clothes or anything. Ichthammol ointment seemed to be fairly easy to get, if you can find the right place. I found mine (20%) at my local Giant Food grocery store, for $6.29... If you don't see it on the shelf, be sure to ask the pharmacist because they may keep it behind the pharmacy counter. Overall, I am thrilled with how well this worked. Ichthammol will be the new staple in my medicine cabinet!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

had a boil on my knee. Went to the doctor and he wrote the medication on a script pad, but it is NOT a script. When I got to the pharmacy the pharmcist wished I had come there first as it would have saved me and office call. Within 24 hours of applying the ointment, the boil came to a head and released the pus. The core of the boil lifted out with a Q-tip and the skin under the core was new and free of any open wound. Yes it is does smell like tar and looks like tar, but it WORKS!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I recently was stung by I believe was some sort of wasp. I was stung on the inside of my arm towards my under arm (pit) which is a VERY sinsitive area. I have had stings multiple times throughout my life being a tomboy but nothing ever hurt like this one(WOW-OUCH)! The stinger was still in my arm and had stared to make a whole going deeper and deeper I tried to remove it with tweezers, Generic Neosporin,ect.. nothing worked. Ready to go to the ER about a week after the sting at my ex mother in-laws home I told her about the sting and she said try this stuff(Ichthammol Ointment 20%) it really works great, can't hurt to try. I didnt even realize that I had been in pain from the sting until the ointment relieved the pain. We applied the Ointment( which smells bad)and covered it with a band aid. You don't want to get that on your clothes, it's black and will stain. At home that evening I removed the band aid (about 5-6 hours later) and couldn't believe how much better it looked, and the stinger had dissolved 75% and the medicine had pulled more of the poison to the surface so I could take care of that as well. "Gross I know but I must tell how well it worked." I will use this Ointment from on without a doubt, it works wonderfully and on many different problems.It's a permanent resident in my family's medicine cabinet now.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More