Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I read up on the colyte and was extremely nervous about doing this prep. The taste of it was not nearly as bad as I was expecting. I was easily able to drink down a cup every 10 minutes till the 4 litres was done. It had the desired effect of bowel emptying but caused basically no discomfort. Don't panic if you have to do this it is really not that bad just makes you go.

Shared reviews and ratings

Rajjy | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2019
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is not a satisfying experience, but man does it WORK. It tastes awful but it is a little better with crystal light lemon. It caused some nausea but I powered through it. Other than that, it wasn't THAT bad... tiring though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2018
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I like the taste of plain colyte. Tastes of tears

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Adiofan28 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2018
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had to drink this for a Colonoscopy. I was given the unflavored version by the Dept. VA. Yes it tastes like salty plastic flavored water. Just do it and stop complaining. Once every 10 years for solid piece of mind of knowing you don't have Colon Cancer or Ulcerative colitis is worth the bad taste. As we say in the Military "suck it up buttercup, carry on!"

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicky | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/4/2016
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read up on the colyte and was extremely nervous about doing this prep. The taste of it was not nearly as bad as I was expecting. I was easily able to drink down a cup every 10 minutes till the 4 litres was done. It had the desired effect of bowel emptying but caused basically no discomfort. Don't panic if you have to do this it is really not that bad just makes you go.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karen | 55-64 | Female | Patient
6/23/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I got Colyte filled.I was shocked by the side effects, and illnesses listed for reasons not to use Colyte.Which I told my Doctor three weeks prior to my colonoscopy and endoscopy. Plus a pill called Raglan, never told it was for nausea/vomiting? Really? Thank you all for your reviews. Very sorry for your sufferings. I had a colonoscopy before and drank the little bottles the night before. This Doctor gave 10 complicated pages to read.A 72 hour strict order starvation diet. On day of treatment was told to wake up at 3:30 AM. Drink remainder 1/2 Galon of Colyte with no food,liquids,or medications four hours prior to 8:30AM Apt. Time. I cancelled that visit 72 hours ahead and finding another doctor. Get reviews of your doctor's, all new medication, and procedures Don't become a Ginny Pig. We are the consumer and deserve the best quality medical treatment with individual respect as human beings. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
5/7/2015
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 3 prior colonoscopies. This is the first for Colyte which was very difficult to stomach! I did very well with the prior preps used with Gatorade and was told it was physician preference. Ask for another option. If I had known how bad Colyte would be to get it down, I would have discussed with my doctor before hand. I do not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Colonoscopy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/13/2014
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within an hr of taking about 19oz...suddenly I couldn't take any more. After about 1hr I started to have about 6 to 7 bowels. I had forgotten what this prep was like. By my 7th bowel...I was shooting water out of my bum. I only used my shower water spray to clean myself. I didn't want to get soar by using toilet paper. I'm not sure if I should finish taking the liquid...Im going to call dr to see...oooh oh...got to go again...praying colonoscopy is normal---( tomorrow)....and this was only difficult to prepare...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2014
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worst experience. stop breathing. had heart attack

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mayra | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/4/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had to take this for colonoscopy test in the morning, followed directions precisely and here it is 4 hours later and have not gone to the bathroom. Called dr on call for tonight and they still have not returned my call. May have to cancel procedure. I am in excruciating pain, there's got to be an easier way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brenda's scoping | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/30/2012
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm in the midst of drinking my solution. My instructions stated that I could flavor it with Crystal Light (not red). I'm using the lemonade and it is completely palatable now!I'm adding quite a bit, I hope that's okay, it's the only way I can drink this stuff.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jenny | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2012
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ridiculous to expect a woman of petite build to drink all of this in two hours and not get sick! There are simpler preps used by other dr's. I rate this a 0 on a scale of 0-10.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rlb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2012
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The 1st time I used this product it came w/ flavoring which made it somewhat easier to get down.The 2nd w/o flavoring was gross, I had to hold my nose to drink it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Patient
10/25/2011
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although the product was effective in cleaning out my bowel, I could only chug down 3 of the 4 liters. 5 hours later at 3 am, I started having dry heaves once an hour until 8:30 am. There has got to be an easier way to clean out bowels!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2009
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

taken to prepare for colonoscopy. Very effective, but difficult to get down 2 liters in 2 hours, because of salty taste.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gimom | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/22/2009
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MPHetes | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/3/2008
Condition: Emptying of the Bowel
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cleans out your bowels really fast

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More