Show ratings & reviews for

3.5 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this medication a little over 1 year. I am 62 years old. I have complained to my eye doctor about the pink eye symptoms, he gave me more eye drops to combat those sytoms and basically said liv e with it. But this week at work as a nurse, I began with sudden onset, debilitating and painful hip joint pain. It required steroids, percocet and xray When the xray was negative, I look...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

70 year old female. After 2 years Xalatan has not diminished the light flashes in the corner of left eye. Dr. too rushed to explain beginning administration. Online reading warned me of potential danger to heart. Should I use another drug and/or another doctor.

Shared reviews and ratings

John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was using this on and off for 3-4 years, it reduced the eye pressure but gave me terrible dryness and eye irritation and I had to come off it on various occasions because of the side effect. WORST STILL - I now realise for certain that every time I started taking it, I was having very dark, unpleasant and depressing thoughts. I didn't realise that at the time, but I now haven't used it in over a year, and the neurological side effects have disappeared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xx | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lumigan drops for some years. They are expensive though! My doctor put me on Xalatan, the change was dreadful, having all the side effects described on the website. I had it for three days, I can't cope with it any longer. I am back in Lumigan no matter if I break my budget!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eyeh1 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works in lowering eye pressure, but the side effects are extreme. After using it for 5 months, I experienced severe dizziness, vomiting, blurry vision, feeling weak (flu-like symptoms), and racing heart beat. I stopped using this drop and all symptoms went away. I don't think this drug is worth it considering its extreme side effects. At this point, I am choosing to do an eye surgery instead of going back to this drug. Be careful when using this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/2/2018
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for two weeks, during that time I experienced a severe shoulder pain, back pain, difficulty swallowing, chest constriction so bad that I thought I was having a heart-attack. I ended up in emergency where I had to undergo blood-work, cardio work up, ex-rays etc.. I stopped taking the drug last night and this morning feel almost normal but still feel some chest constriction. The pain I endured was excruciating! It was a very painful experience!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roxanne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/3/2017
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past three years, I have been applying one drop of Timolol .5 at 10 AM and one drop of Xalatan (aka Latanoprost) at 10 PM in both eyes. This combination has restored my IOPs to the target level (less than 15), prevented further loss of visual field, and I have had no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2016
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Holy cow, what are in these eyedrops? After just a week of use, I couldn't sleep, I had flulike symptoms, and incredible chest pain.I will never ever take these again. Honestly, I'd almost rather go blind. I feel that bad. It's been two weeks and the side effects are barely subsiding. I hope I feel normal soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donal | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/18/2015
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My lips are swollen and blistered. Teeth very painful. Headache and mental confusion. Feeling very unwell. Stop using and after three weeks problems improve,reuse and problems reasur after four days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
6/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using xalatan for four years and it has been a blessing so far. There is a Pfizer program for this med as well as other's. I have no cost to pay for the drops and go through my eye doctor to order. See if you qualify. Pfizer 1(866)706-2400.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/24/2015
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used Betoptic for 23 years without suffering any side effects. After so many years this medication stopped working for me. I have been prescribed Xalatan. As to pressure-it worked. But what a series of side effects!! Joint and muscle pain,hair thinning and the worst of all terrible hives which have now become chronic. I am on a different medication now called Drozolamid Timolol, which I started just a week ago. I will see an opthalmologist next month for checking

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shera | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/30/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this drug for over 20 years with no problems at all. But, in the last year unfortunately the drug no longer works. Pressure in both eye 20/20. My doctor has been trying a combination of drugs to use with this one. I've had so many side effects with other drugs. So sorry this drug no longer works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
progers | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/30/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had flu like symptoms after using twice. Stopped and started again days later and after 2 uses became extremely dizzy. Allergic to this drug. Stopped.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this for over 3 years now, both generic and brand name. I have been having severe hip/joint pain for the last couple of years that is severe. Never would have guessed it could be coming from the Xalatan. Will bring this up at my next doctor visit. The pain is so bad it wakes me throughout the night, but not the daytime. I only take the Xalatan in the evening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raymond J | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/31/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using Lumigan for 10 years when my drug insurer told me they would no longer cover the cost. Latanaprost was suggested. After using it for a few weeks, my readings jumped from the teens to the mid 20s. I now buy Lumigan from a Canadian pharmacy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gailschoof | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/8/2013
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medicine for years and is controlling my pressure Great. For over a year now I have had SEVERE cold hands and feet, to point of being painful. Went to doctors and they say nothing is wrong with me medically. This is the only medicine I use. I wander if this could be an undocumented side effect of xalatan? Has anyone else had a similar reaction?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vasista | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2013
Condition: Wide-Angle Glaucoma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started using this drug about 1 month ago. The doc said the pressure in my eye is down, so that is good. I am concerned because I have noticed that I have a lot of mucus in both eyes since using the drops. I have not seen this as a side effect and he just gave me other drops to use for itching.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pepper | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/17/2013
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed muscle and joint pain several weeks after starting this drug. Eye doctor said it was not the cause but its the only thing I can think of. Seems to be getting worse. I stoped using it the past week but still have significant lower body pain. How long does this take to go away??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/31/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prices vary a LOT. Shop around. I get "dry eye" from using the computer (a lot) - so I use 'over the counter' eye drops. Ask you doc, if U have same problem. NOT all eye drops are the same. Sometimes, I get the feeling something foreign is in my eye(s). I also use Azopt with this to help control my eye pressures. More than 10 years experience. Oh and try not to forget taking eye meds. (and no, I'm not a doc - just experienced)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shira46 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/22/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on the generic for this drug. After 3 months of use, the eye pressure has lowered to within normal range. No big problems with side effects after the first couple of weeks. The main reason I am doing this review is because I am feeling ripped off and maybe I can save somebody else from the same experience. A 3 pack of the generic at a major drugstore chain cost me $255 (no health insurance but I was willing to pay that when the other option was blindness...) And now I am due for a refill. I remembered my eye doctor telling me that Costco had good prices on it so I called them yesterday. The lady said their price was $24.99! I couldn't believe it, asked her to repeat it a couple of times, then called another Costco just to be sure and got the same answer. Yeah, this is sounding like a Costco add so I assure you I am in no way affiliated with that company. I am fortunate that I haven't had to take a lot of prescriptions in my life so maybe everybody else knows to shop around, but if not, learn from my $200 plus mistake.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
voyageur65 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/7/2012
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The combination of Xalatan and Timolol had disastrous side effects, characterized by redness, blurring, sensitivety to sunlight,and corneal pain when blinking.In other words, over medication! Episodes lasted a week or more. Timolol alone was effective without any of these side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/28/2011
Condition: Increased Pressure in the Eye
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects. Pressure was 32, now down to 16. I have been taking it for over 2 years. Recently was switched to generic due to group insurance coverage. The generic is NOT working for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More