Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

60 People found this comment helpful

After trying 4 other drugs for depression, I finally got on this; and it works great! Depression has subsided, and I sleep much better and rise without a "hangover" feeling. No side effects that I can tell.

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

This drug is very dangerous -needs tobe takenoff the market. - 15 mg. caused depression 10 times worse than it was and took 2 days to recover from it. It actually gave me depression -the worst I ever had. DONT TAKE IT

Shared reviews and ratings

Melody | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has been prescribed to aid insomnia. ???? what a joke. Now i can stay awake 48 hours str8, then get the 8 hours restful sleep i require. We all know this is NOT good healthy sleep patterns, well unless we are late teens early twenties and can party all the time and manange to keep a job. I am neither. I have a severe autoimmune disorder whivch requires proper rest every day. Not twice a week. So, do i recommend this drug. THATS A BIG NO, oh, yes, it also packed on 20 lbs, now i need one that will take weight off!!! Cheers and good luck.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Poffley | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/23/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has helped me out a lot, i've been diagnosed with Bipolar type 1. It has helped me get my appetite back on track, improve my depressive mood and helps me sleep at night. All of which were awful before I started treatment. I only found that it takes longer to kick in, as it took me about 6 weeks for me to get the full effect (paired with Lithium and Risperidone) Though I do think I should be on a greater dose, I have zero complaints about this amazing medication. If you're suffering from insomnia/weight loss paired with your depression, this is the medication for you!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A programmer | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/7/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 30 years old, I have been using the drug since 4 months, I am using 7.5mg and I haven't changed the dose until now. At the age of 24 I developed insomnia, stress, tiredness and I have been skinny and suffering from loneliness, bad mood and self conscious. In the first couple of days of using the drug, I made me very sleepy that closed the TV / laptop to sleep (the thing that I couldn't sleep without since +10 years). Finally, I can sleep more easily, however I had many nightmares in the beginning, it was very difficult to wake up, but that ended on day 4. I started having vivid nice and long dreams, it made me feel rested and energetic. My mood improved significantly, I felt like a normal person again like before 10 years when I had no depression or negative thoughts, I became positive, social, confident again. Another great thing for me is the gain weight, as I mentioned in the beginning, I am skinny and this is one of the thing that I always hated about my self, and have been failing to change it for a long time. I stopped it for one week to smoke marijuana, then came back to it. so I cannot tell clearly how that effected since the marijuana also put me to sleep. I would like to stop taking it and I am afraid if it would make my heart weaker or any other organ. Now I take the same dose but every 2 days, I am not sure if this is good. If I stop taking it for 3-4 days, insomnia comes back. I need to ask my doctor how to quit the drug. Overall, the drug did helped in many different areas, I am just unsure how it would go after I stopping using it completely.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
john | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a sleeping aid it i not effectiven and doesnt change my depression/anxiety.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/31/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirtazapine is amazing! It's cured my lifelong insomnia, boosted my mood, and helped me gain weight, which is great for me. I've suffered from severe insomnia and anxiety my whole life. During covid I started to feel depressed too, so I saw a psychiatrist. This is the first and only antidepressant I've ever been on. Started at 22.5mg/night for the first week, then up to the full 45mg/night for the last 5 months. It worked right away to improve my mood. My insomnia is gone. I fall asleep, stay asleep, and wake up rested and energetic without Ambien, Benadryl, melatonin, and all the rest. Yes, there's some serious weight gain on Mirtazapine. I've been underweight my whole life (BMI of 15.5). In just a few months, I've gained 20lbs and I'm now at "normal" weight (BMI=18.5). Everyone who knows me is shocked. I'm eating more, but my metabolism has also changed. If you don't mind the weight gain, this is a miracle drug for anxious depression and insomnia.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Asleep within 30' of taking the first 15mg pill, tired and sleepy all day, to tired to do anything or even think. Same the next day so took half a pill for the next two days but exactly the same. I'd seen the doctor with memory problems from prednisone treatment, I don't know why she prescribed this drug. I stopped after 5 days, 2 days on I still don't feel right. A nightmare.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ItaM | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IN week 3 of taking this medication for anxiety and agitation. On 15mg per day and take it about 9pm as i had restless legs with it at bedtime and wasnt sleeping. I was deeply distressed throughout week one and most of week two as the medication caused drowsiness but I couldnt sleep so I walked the floors at night. Thanksfully during week two I am getting into some sort of sleep pattern and last night I got my first nights sleep. Downside, I have had constipation / running to the loo as well, dry mouth has now become a scourge. The jury is out on this at the moment but on a brighter note my anxiety and agitation has been quick to reduce and for that I am very grateful. I am in week three and feel a little sick with the constant need to be close to the toilet. My life is on hold despite attempts to get back to normality. I am mcuh more active than I have been in years with swimming 3 times a week and starting the gym very soon. I do feel hungry but wil try to keep this under control as I cannot afford any more weight gain. I am giving this drug a chance with the faith that it will help me through a difficult phase in life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susanne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/31/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took mirtazapine for 13 years. I didn’t get depression in that time, that’s the positive. It’s only after getting off it I realise it’s danger for me. The 13 years of tightness in my chest stopped within a few days of discontinuing, I had a heart attack after taking it 12 months at 48, the inflammation has left my body, I’ve never once slept thru a night but nightmares never stopped on any meds, ptsd needs to be managed daily, like that saying, pray to god but row for the shore, you can’t neglect walking off your adrenaline and having a great therapist, and never ever push stuff away, face it and desensitise and acknowledge your progress. I became a prisoner to weight gain so other meds, now it’s falling off. I was too unwell to know if it worked, I was alive without depression and worked all day every day on my ptsd when others are not so lucky. Don’t ignore physical damage because mental is more important, the physical stress was adding to my trauma the whole time. I got some depression going off it but walking the beach daily helps immensely, so be sensible about exposure to unnecessary triggers. I’ve noticed the link with SSRIs & glaucoma & about to see my Eye specialist because my sight improved going off it, but that may be the inflammation, tight chest / blood pressure improvement? Everyone is different.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pk | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me sleepy first few weeks where i could barely stay awake but i got over it. it helped my constant stomach ache

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
April | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only problem I had was weight gain. 50lbs. In a few months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elizabeth | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirtazapine 15mg has worked very well for my depression, have been on it about 1year, side effects , I have gained over 1stone which I can’t shift seems to be right around my middle , I have tried to reduce the dose but my depression returned very quickly , had to go back on them, has anyone come off mirtazapine successfully ? If so I would love to hear from you. I think mirtazapine is a great drug for depression but the weight gain is awful.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bpd22 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/13/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have borderline personality disorder and have been on every psychiatric medication under the sun in the past 7 years. Mirtazapine/remeron has been the only medication that I have taken that I notice has worked to relieve depressive and mood stability symptoms. Side effects have been minimal and I’ve been on it for 8 months now. I have my energy, my happiness, and my joy. I can live like everyone else! I started on 7.5 mg because I’m sensitive to medication and then moved to 15 my after two weeks and then 30 mg after 3 months. I noticed right away some improved mood changes with the first 2 weeks and huge changes with the change to 30 mg. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WAgirl360 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Originally prescribed this for insomnia, but I did notice it's antidepressant effects pretty quickly after I started taking it. I was prescribed a 30mg dose, but I found that was definitely too much to start with. The first dose I took made me very ill and had that drug hangover issue the next day. I started taking just half a pill for about a week, then increased it to a whole pill. Much better after that. Would recommend asking your doctor to start with a low dosage and work up from there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hetty | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/4/2021
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ptsd and autism I take mirtazapine 30mg at night which has been helpful along with risperidone 3.5mg twice a day and 375mg venlafaxine in the morning but they all work really well for me together

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Janis | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects for me was sleepy the first few days but besides that nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MxMegan | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed mirtazapine off-label for sleep, after two doses a night of trazadone had no effect. On top of not allowing me a full sleep cycle without waking, it makes me feel lightheaded and lacking attention. I sleep all day, but I wake up very frequently when I do. Feels very, very similar to when I was prescribed seroquil, in the misguided thought that I had BPD (I have depression, anxiety, PTSD and hypothyroid). Don't think I can remain on this prescription, I forsee it affecting my ability to work in an emergency room.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jack | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
2/27/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only just started taking but felling good so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RC | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/19/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication worked for me two nights for insomnia, then for some reason just stopped working. When it did work it was very strong and I felt very sluggish the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
frogshadow | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/22/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking mirazipine regularly about 1 months ago. I was taking trazadone but told my dr that it wasn't helping me sleep. Waking up 3 to 4 times at night to use restroom and waking up foggy/ groggy. Had to stop drinking because it was making my depression worse. So he prescribed me this med, sleeping better only having to go 1or 2 times to the restroom but overall waking up and feeling more level minded and energetic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Batgirl | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/17/2020
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken mirtazapine for 21 years. It helped me sleep and recover from depression. However, recently my liver tests have been abnormal. I rarely drink, and the only other toxin is mirtazapine. Getting off it has been very difficult. I have a psychological and physical addiction to it. I am determined to get off it, because my liver is important! Be aware, that this med is actually addictive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More