Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

61 People found this comment helpful

After trying 4 other drugs for depression, I finally got on this; and it works great! Depression has subsided, and I sleep much better and rise without a "hangover" feeling. No side effects that I can tell.

Most voted negative review

23 People found this comment helpful

This drug is very dangerous -needs tobe takenoff the market. - 15 mg. caused depression 10 times worse than it was and took 2 days to recover from it. It actually gave me depression -the worst I ever had. DONT TAKE IT

Shared reviews and ratings

Gary37 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on mirtazapine for about 4 years. It's worked well for me for depression, anxiety and insomnia. But recently I think it's been giving me nightmares every night for some reason so maybe it's not working as good for insomnia anymore. Not surprising really as I have been on it a while so maybe it's losing some effectiveness. Will see how I go and maybe try something else if it gets worse and I wake up more often.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jason T | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on mirtazapine 7.5mg for early waking insomnia (ADHD symptom) for about 6 weeks. The sleep quality improvement is miraculous. My REM and deep sleep on my Fitbit is wild. I went from 4-5 hours per night of sleep to 6-8hr regularly, and I feel like I have a lot more energy during the day because I am finally sleeping again. That said, this medication definitely has a sort of hazy/hangover effect that can make mornings feel pretty dispiriting and difficult. However, I have found that caffeine and exercise really helps with this. I also take Adderall for ADHD and it helps a LOT with this as well. I see many talk about weight changes, I have not noticed an increase in appetite and my weight is the same. I workout a lot and I am now able to workout even better because my sleep is improved. All in all, so far so good, but all medications have side effects and the morning hangover seems to be the most notable one. It is worth the sleep improvement, however. Best of luck to all.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eileen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Never again. I took this for extreme anxiety. First night I slept okay then after that didn't sleep properly for 2 weeks and couldn't think rationally due to lack of sleep. Stopped taking it. Wish I had never been prescribed this drug. Caused lots of distress and problems.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ely | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/18/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For most of my life I suffered with (sometimes quite extreme) anxiety but never dealt with it as I was somewhat still able to lead a productive life. But then I became ill with quite severe Covid, and recovered, but found that my anxiety levels have increased to the point that I became depressed, with it effecting my day to day life, so I decided it was time to seek professional help. My GP prescribed Mirtazapine 15mg, to be taken at night before going to sleep, but after taking it for the first day I felt absolutely awful (sleepy & drowsy), but continued for about 2 months, where the drowsiness did wear off somewhat during the day but I couldn't stop sleeping at night. Also, the medication was not effective for my anxiety/depression. After doing some research I found that I were to take the higher dose of 30mg, I won't have the sleepy/drowsiness symptom, and it should be more effective with the anxiety/depression. I went back to my GP and told them that I want to change to the 30mg dose. I started taking the 30mg right before bedtime, but found that I was being too hyper to fall asleep. So after doing further research, I figured that I should take the medication in the morning for me to a) feel better during the day b) to be able to sleep well at night. I have now been on 30mg, taking it in the morning for a couple of months and I can not praise this medication more... it has truly worked wonders for me. My depression has gone, and I am able to more or less able to control my anxieties! Of course there are still some bad days, but it's way better than when I used to count the good days on my finger! I can only say to everyone out there; have patients, it does take time (with the right dose and right time of taking the medication) to work properly! I say, give it 6 months, for the body to properly adapt to the medication and you will find it works wonders! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cait | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doc prescribed this for depression, worrying, anxiety and not sleeping well. I took 1 pill - 15 mg at around 1145pm and then went to bed. I was still awake at 4:00am - tossing, turning, jittery, felt like I had been drugged. it was awful. Managed to get about 5 hours of sleep after that. The following day I was completely useless. Tired, dizzy, nauseous - I literally could not function. 2 days later I still dont feel normal. Needless to say I’m never doing that again!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toni | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this pill for severe insomnia and respectively depression. It feels so great to be able to sleep 8 hours straight and feel normal again. I take only half pill. The biggest problem I see is that I gained weight. I crave bread and carbohydrates all the time. I also got a hard belly fat. I am hoping to find a way to fix that. My depression decreased with 75%. I have taken sertraline when someone close to me died and I didn’t like it because I felt like a robot with no emotions. Mirtazapine makes me feel normal. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carlytom | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been unable to sleep for months and have lost weight from depression and not eating enough. My doc added this to my sleeping pill, taking half the pill. I am sleeping, it is excellent, now cutting down on the sleeping pill I have been on for years (that stopped working) So far no unusual feeling or any change at all and it is a week now. I have a heart condition (15 years) and need my sleep so fingers crossed this new medication will continue to help me sleep with no adverse effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lola | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/23/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is one of the only drugs that I have taken that has actually made me feel normal in my mood. My deep sadness and constant crying and feelings of hopelessness are gone. My one and only drawback is a very large weight gain. I am constantly hungry and crave carbohydrates. I never used to eat bread and now can’t walk by a load of bread without wanting a few slices. I was already slightly overweight when I started at 150. I am now 165. Thé heaviest I have ever been. I love this medication because it had given me a sane life. I hate this medication because it makes me hungry. I have always had bad dreams on many meds so I won’t fault it for that constipation is another drawback. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BanMirtazapine | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

RESTLESS LEGS SYNDROME FOR 8 YEARS FROM THIS MEDICATION WHICH SHOULD BE BANNED EVEN AFTER GETTING OFF IT NO IMPROVEMENT. if you want a pain disorder in your feets, legs and hands with involuntarty muscle movement, not being able to sleep and having your body dependant on medication THIS IS THE MEDICATION FOR U :)

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rajin | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/18/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has served me we. I only use 7.5 mg dose, half of what my doctor prescribed. It works like a charm. Couldn't be happier.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/13/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve tried 6 other medications and this has got to be the worst one out of all of them, made everything even more overwhelming and increased suicidal thoughts and intentions. Unless you have tried other medications beforehand take with extreme caution if at all. Would not recommend whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using it for insomnia. It works very well for me. Although I prefer not to take prescriptions. When I stopped before, it gave me bad depression and thoughts. It’s helpful but I don’t want it be on it for long.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JT | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/9/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this ages ago for sleep problems.. It has proved USELESS for me. I appreciate all the positive comments for sleep/depression etc.. I just know they don't touch me.. Unfortunately, where I live in Cardiff, there's a kind of MAFIA approach to this drug.. The GPS believe the chat about it and will not step outside their belief system to accept IT DOES NOT WORK FOR EVERYONE!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dorset Chick | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking mirtazapine for 2 weeks and wanted to let new users know that the side effects do wear off. I was very tired on the first day and had very bad diarrhoea. Diarrhoea lasted for approximately 10 days and all is normal now. Tiredness lasted about the same, getting slowly better. I didn't drive for week and a half.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/29/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication cured my anxiety I used to struggle w/ nausea and vomiting from my anxiety I can now eat anything I want whenever I want and as much as my body craves. I was constantly anxious and nauseous I lost 20lbs due to my anxiety and after starting this medication I gained the weight i needed. I’m only on 7.5mg and it truly changed my life. However, if gaining weight isn’t something you want then don’t start this med cuz u will gain at least 10lb on it even on the smallest dosage. PLEASE GO START THIS MEDICATION IF U CAN. Oh and the side effects were not bad at all I was just sleepy the first 2 days and eating alot which isn’t a bad thing for me so it worked fine. It also works well mixed w other meds i take it with Wellbutrin and it truly balances and helps taking them together. Im someone who hates meds and procrastinate starting anything new but trust me I wish I knew this medication existed 3 years ago. I now look and feel so healthy. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Leo | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this for a year and it made everything significantly more difficult for me. It made my anxiety so bad that I ended up in the hospital, my depression never felt manageable. I also never didn't feel hungry, I'd eat something and 10 minutes later my stomach was still growling. Not that I continued eating, just being forever hungry screws with you. I also couldn't lose a single pound on this no matter how hard I tried, it made me gain 20 pounds and stay there. As well as it helped with insomnia temporarily. But just like melatonin it loses its effect. Also biggest point here, it took me four separate tries to get off of this, the withdrawl symptoms are awful. And I was only on 15mg. Would not recommend this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mirtazapine 30mg | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/25/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication was prescribed for my husband after he was diagnosed with 2 life threatening diseases. He did not take it until he was at his breaking point with his depression and attempted suicide. After he started to take 30 mg every day he slowly Got better. He now has no feelings at all except when he gets upset with the kids. He does not have a sex drive. He does not show affection any longer. He does not like to be cuddled on he has completely changed. So I appreciate the meds helping in the beginning but now its messing with my 20 marriage. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shivendra | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's wonderful... works for me... feeling a kind of energetic throughout the day... it's not like a stimulant like modafinil but you don't feel like drowsiness as in other antidepressants..it makes you hungry...a lot.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CathS | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've tried this med twice and the 1st time I took it, I stopped after 3.5 weeks as I thought I was having a bad reaction (the withdrawals were terrible so get med advice when stopping). I restarted Mirt 15mg as I tried 3 different SSRI's and could not tolerate the side effects. For the first 2 weeks, I was sleepy and really groggy the next day, but this went away. At 3 weeks I couldn't sleep, was shaky, and had bad anxiety. This lasted about a week then went away. At 6 weeks I started to feel pretty good, but my Dr increased the dosage to 22.5mg to ensure I was getting the full benefit. I went through the same side effects as before but more mildly. It's been 14 weeks since I started meds and I feel so much better. I have mild gastroparesis and have managed to put on the weight I need, I don't feel quite as nauseated, I no longer feel despair, and my sleep is far better than I have for ages. This drug has given me hope! I think the key is to stick it out as it seems to take a while to take effect. I don't have any side effects other than occasional restless leg syndrome (but I find if I drink plenty of water this goes away). Also, I've always run high energy and I have found this has mellowed me out a little. I highly recommend Mirt if unable to tolerate SSRI's.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Geem10 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 15 mg after being on fluoxetine for 6 months. I'd started to become angry and agitated with low mood and suicidal thoughts. I'd already tried seetraline and citalopram so my doctor decided to try an atypical pill as opposed to an ssri. So within an hour of taking I felt like I'd been drugged. I was swaying and walking into things. I lay in bed and had uncontrollable leg twitches. My partner ended up sleeping downstairs as he said it was like sleeping next to a washing machine. I woke at 7 am with great difficulty but dragged myself out of bed to get the children up. I felt hungover and unable to function. I couldnt have driven that day and I ended up falling asleep at 11 am with my toddler present. I didnt know id fell asleep and it was as like I was trapped in someone else's body. I decided they were to dangerous especially in terms of caring for children and stopped them. 2 days later I feel achy and my head is throbbing. I've had side effects from antidepressants and been able to rude them out til they pass but these are more like a horse tranquilliser and im not operated under any circumstances to risk them againRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More