Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

10 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking two insulins (Lantus) and Humalog now for three years. The Humalog is with meals and the dosage depends on what my blood sugar reading is before I take it. At diagnosis, my A1C was 13.2 and now is 6.0. Both insulins have been a life saver for me. I've been using the pen form and it is so easy to use.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I've been on insulin only for a few months now. I take 25 units of Lantus once a day and Humalog, as needed. Lantus works, but Humalog is a waste of money and effort. Ten units of Humalog lowers the sugar by 10 points. I've been taking as much as 30-40 units with dinner alone over a 2-3 hours span, and still having a hard time keeping it under 200. What I would like to know if anybody knows the da...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | Patient
3/24/2021
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Humalog KwikPern 200 unit insulin products have been defective for years and continue being defective. Since too much or too little fast-acting Insulin can cause death, this is a very serious matter; this is over and above the huge financial loss incurred by unsuspecting patients at your retail price of over $1,000 per two pens. Over several years, at least half of the dispensed medications have been defective and results in too little or too much insulin injected into me. The gearing mechanism in those devices that converts the Manufacturer Lilly's phone line connects hapless patients to a labyrinth of submenus of byzantine complexity that it is useless, possibly by design.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gma | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The Humalog pen is really hard to use for people with arthritis in their hands. The button is difficult to push enough to get the right amount. I have bruised myself trying to push it enough to get the correct dose. It doesn't click for the units, so you have to take the pen out, only to discover, it didn't deliver it all, so you have to repeat to get the correct dosage.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/17/2017
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have reson to believe that Humalog insulin is being created to work less effectively than other types of "R" insulin. The amount of insulin that is required to drop my insulin 100 pts in blood glucose is nearly 10. I think there's a game being played by the manufacturer ...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TinaLewis | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/26/2017
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pen sticks making it short and causes highs. My daughter's numbers are suffering and has been hospitalized. My insurance is forcing us to use this and not what works for my child.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Todd | 45-54 | Male | Patient
2/9/2014
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Get sick from Humalog. Within a day start to feel sick to stomach then two days start having headaches. Old insulins (beef/pork) worked so much better too. Apedra works much better than Humalog but it is not "formulary". Now with new insurer (Blue Cross MN) they require a two week review before I can get the med. What? Two weeks before a pharmacy can give a diabetic insulin. Really?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
biggun47 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/4/2014
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has worked very good for me. I use it in a pump and can get 3 days without a change. I was on pills and then went to the pens. When they didn't do the job i went with a lower strength insulin with the pump. Now I use the U500 and it works great. If you can when you start injecting insulin with a syringe get the pump if you can.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tom | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/20/2013
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

wondering if there are any side effects to users?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tj | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Humalog is a very good drug to control high blood sugar when used correctly.In my case, I rely on it to counteract overeating sweets, a mistake on my part.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christen | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/17/2013
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been type one since for 21 years, a pumper since 2010 with Novalog. Got laid off in 2011 and had to have bad insurance assistance that only covered Humalog. I had blurred vision after every bolus with normal BS for hours, nauseated, rapid heartbeat, dizziness, hard to breathe, fatigued, huge raw rash all over my shoulders, lost hair in huge amounts, thought I had cancer. Was not as effective as Novalog so I went into DKA twice in 3 months. Got good insurance so got my Novalog back. Will never take Humalog again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John29325 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/18/2013
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Found out late in life that I was a diabetic, started out with Metformin and then quickly moved to pen form insulin. I hated having to do the four times a day shots along with six times a day finger pricks. My doctor suggested I think about using an insulin pump. I went to the required classes for the pump and got it. It is the best thing that has ever happened to me. I use about 200 units of humalog every other day. The average hourly dose is around 2.65 units. All I have to keep up with now is watching what I eat, and about twice a day finger sticks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
josh1832000 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/8/2013
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thylawyer | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/18/2012
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I test my blood sugar before or after eating, and before bed. I often eat very little after breakfast until suppertime. I take Humalog only. I was taking Lantus, but it was not going to be covered by my Part D and I could not afford it on my own. I did not notice any difference in my glucose or my A1c.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Grammy64 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/28/2012
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've noticed that the bladder used in the Humalog vial is very thick. I have bent several needles trying to insert them into the vial. Can't find an answer anywhere. Hope someone has an answer for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
trarpx | 55-64 | Male | Patient
8/22/2012
Condition: Diabetes
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

sometimes can't ever inject enough even though eating habits haven't changed from when I don't use nearly as much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/4/2012
Condition: High Blood Sugar
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am finding that my sugar levels have dropped greatly. I couldn't keep them under 200 and now my average is 120s. this has been a life saver for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
burnsy1973 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/23/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Duke | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2011
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Eyes! It's the eyes! Metformin blinded me--distorted view, severe photophobia. Glipizide did the same, with the addition of angina. Dropped those for a couple months. Eyes still not so good, but better than with Metformin or Glipizide. Now Humalog, 1 unit, under 200,0r 2 units over 200, with meals. One week later I'm having a hard time even reading this enlarged print. Safe dariving speed on open highway is 40mph or less. Eyes can't respond to light changes, everything in sunlight all washed out, sky white. These drugs lowered my blood sugar but this is one hell of a high price to pay for it. I keep looking on the net for reference to these eye problems and can't find anything except "blurry vision" once in awhile. Before these drugs, with my high blood sugar, I could see, with corrected lenses, perfectly. Had trifocals, and don't like those, but they worked. Now, they're useless and I have to use 2X reading glasses to read anything. TV pictures dim, without detail unless I'm right up on the screen. What the heck is this all about? Am I the only person having this kind of trouble. No help from doctors. Opthalmologists just want to laser my eyes or inject experimental drugs. What a way to go....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JD | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
10/4/2010
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Humalog works far better than my previous R insulin because it works more quickly. With R, I would inject just before a meal but would get post parandial highs that gave me a headache. It took 2.5 to 3 hours for R to start working. With Humalog, onset almost always cooincides with digestion so I get a better experience. I also end up with far fewer episodes of low blood sugar on Humalog than with R. My A1C has been in the low 6's since I started with Humalog where they had been in the low 7's with R. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Zolar1 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/1/2010
Condition: Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Humalog as a 'correction' medication. Basically this means when my blood sugars are higher than usual, I bolus the dosage to bring levels back down. My first time using it was last night when my 2 hour postprandial blood sugars jumped to 279. Within an hour after taking a shot, I dropped to 78. An hour and a half after that I was at 74. I am EXTREMELY impressed as to how good this works for me. Only needed 3 units too. Don't care for the 12mm needle. Will try the 8mm needle next time I am higher than usual. I am hoping that between my diet and exercise, coupled with the Humalog, I can get even better blood sugars. My last A1c about a week ago was 5.3, and that was with several spikes into the 200+ range, using diet and exercise alone. My goal is under 5.0 (4% club). With this medication, I can vary my diet so it's not so boring, and not be forced to vigorously exercise as much to bring down blood sugars. I am wondering something though: Will I gain weight? Lose weight? Or maintain my weight when using any form of insulin? Don't get me wrong. I am not opposed to 'paying the piper' (AKA exercising) after I eat. I have a lot of trouble fitting the needed time in to do it, and an even harder time getting back down to normal after a 200+ spike, using diet and exercise. I generally have no trouble lowering my BS if I am 160-180 range, or less. My fasting blood sugars are usually perfectly normal. I can see some semblance of a life now that I have this medication. I won't do pills for my diabetes treatment as my blood sugars are usually well controlled. Seems heat & humidity (or a nap after eating) spikes me highly. I really hope & pray that the endo will continue letting me have this medication. I like it better than Humulin R which is slower. Maybe get Humulin R for long digesting carbs like Dreamfields, and Humalog for the 'eat-N-go' carbs. I'm not one to want meds of any kind, but this one really works for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
karaboutya2 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/16/2010
Condition: Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works too fast at times like another person said before and sometimes i'm then treating a low!! but overall if taken at the right time it works awesome!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More