Show ratings & reviews for

3.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

When I went to the doctor I was obese and my thyroid was underactive. The doctor put me on 88mcg of L-Thyroxine. It kept changing until I learned from a nurse to take it 1 to 2 hours before eating. My medication has been at 50 mcg for 2 years now and I have lost from almost 200 pounds to 135. I am very pleased with this medication and have no side effects from it.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I would rather be taking methamphamine. (Kidding) I have been on this med for years and I can fall asleep on a dime. Not exactly on a dime, but I have no energy whatsoever. There has to be something to restore some of my energy. I am on 88mcgs. HELLO!!!!!! My doctor gave me a B12 shot. I slept for two days.

Shared reviews and ratings

AJP | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/21/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Synthroid. I only changed to generic for the price and i really regret it. In one week of use i have gone back to the extreme sleepiness, joint paint, not feeling well in general and severe mood swings. I was fine on Synthroid and will be going back. What a waste of money and my life for a week.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jane | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered loss of control of both micturion and faecal muscles - not incontinence,but sudden loss of urine when normally I have strong bladder control, same for bowel. Also this drug made me nauseated and left me feeling weak. Very unhappy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ellessee | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/17/2018
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started with 25 mcg. I was gaining weight and had no energy at all. Could fall asleep at any time, exhausted. Physician Assistant raised to 50 mcg. Still gaining weight and still no energy. Depressed over weight gain as I worked hard to lose 150 + lbs. 20 + lbs have come back on in over 1 year. Very discouraged.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2 Tall | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/20/2017
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking it almost a year now, my hair is falling out more than usual, I do have unusual heartbeat occasionally,gaining weight and tired all the time, I mean I'm tired when I get up. I hate it. I go see Dr. on January, you can bet we will discuss this!!! I am so GLAD I read these reviews. Thanks Y'all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
klf | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
5/10/2017
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My daughter, 13, was recently diagnosed with hashimotos disease, an auto-immune disease that has destroyed her thyroid. She was 4'6" & 111 lbs before medication. In 1 month, she has lost 10 lbs and grown 1/2". With treatment, predicted adult height should be around 5'8". We are thrilled with the results of this medication so far.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/16/2016
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I showed no signs (fatigue, weight gain, etc) but my doctor found low levels from blood work. Since taking the past few years I've put on weight (difficulty losing weight), experience aches in my joints, tired more than usual, and get intermittent chest pains. I'm concerned about the long term effects outweighing the benefit of taking this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
7/8/2015
Condition: Enlarged Thyroid Gland
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our daughter felt worse after taking...her tongue & throat swelled up. She became lethargic, didn't feel at all like herself, balance, unable to eat....off she went.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beav | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/5/2015
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused weight gain mood, mood swings and calve cramps.I m not sure if I should just stop taking it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would rather be taking methamphamine. (Kidding) I have been on this med for years and I can fall asleep on a dime. Not exactly on a dime, but I have no energy whatsoever. There has to be something to restore some of my energy. I am on 88mcgs. HELLO!!!!!! My doctor gave me a B12 shot. I slept for two days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cherold | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About a year ago, my insurance company switched my thyroid medication from Levoxyl to L-Thyroxine. At the time I didn't think anything about it even though I had been taking Levoxyl for 20 years. Since I started taking L-Thyroxine, I gained 30 lbs and my hair was falling out. I also felt extremely sluggish. Three weeks ago my pharmacist said L-Thyroxine patients have been complaining about the medication. She said I could switch back to Levoxyl if I wanted because my insurance would pay for it again. Since I switched back to Levoxyl, I've felt a lot better in just these past few weeks. I've stopped gaining weight, and my appetite has decreased. I'm also getting my energy back. My hair is not falling out as much either. Over this past year, I attributed my symptoms to getting older. I had even went to my doctor. So, if you're taking L-Thyroxine, be aware of any adverse symptoms. There are alternative medications for an underactive thyroid.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years |
3/14/2014
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gmoney | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2014
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/6/2014
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/29/2013
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Thirty beneficial years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jacques | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/9/2013
Condition: Decreased Thyroid Function existing from Birth
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I started taking thyroxin tablet, I feel very week

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

its ok

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/24/2013
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr prescribed 25Mcg dose after a routine blood work revealed underactive thyroid. To my knowledge I had no symptoms whatsoever. After taking for a month my Dr said my thyroid levels were back up to normal. Still, I have no symptoms or signs of anything improving and no side effects. For all I know, I might as well be taking sugar pills but since it is very cheap to purchase I will continue to take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/23/2013
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I went to the doctor I was obese and my thyroid was underactive. The doctor put me on 88mcg of L-Thyroxine. It kept changing until I learned from a nurse to take it 1 to 2 hours before eating. My medication has been at 50 mcg for 2 years now and I have lost from almost 200 pounds to 135. I am very pleased with this medication and have no side effects from it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/20/2013
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Getting upsetstomach

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hwclhart | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/10/2013
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for over 6 months now. I'm so exhausted and tired all the time and just want to stay in bed all the time. I started with 25 mg and then 50 and now up to 75 mg. I ask my doctor to put me back on to 50 mg. I noticed the difference and so has my family. I was told by my doctors assistint that if I quit and stop taking this medincine thatmy eye balls would pop out and it scared me. So I went to see my heart doctor and he told me that it has nothing to do with my heart when I did stop taken the medication. when I had stopped my blood pressure went up to 215 to 216 and that is why I thought something was wrong with my heart since I all ready had stents put in a few years before that. So I'am now back on the 50 mg and noticed the difference in being tired all the time and sore shoulders with pain and raspy throat like and chills at times. I felt better when I came off of it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More