Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

22 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Betaseron since 1995. My neurologist strongly feels it has made the difference between being in a wheelchair and walking with a cane, as I do now. After 15 years I have never developed antibodies against the drug. I take two Tylenol to alleviate the flu-like symptoms with each injection. I urge others with MS not to give up. A positive attitude helps as much as any medicine.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

i am an ms patient 4 nearly 19yrs now. my doc is telling me 2 use betaseron but this drug is not yet available in the philippines. i can not find any links that would possibly lead me into. can webmd possibly help? thank you.

Shared reviews and ratings

Colorado Native | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/14/2017
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drug for 7 years now

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pamhorne | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/13/2015
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using Betaseron for 3 months now, having switched from Copaxone. I find the Betaseron injections much easier to take and not at all painful; however, I continue to experience flu-like symptoms for hours following each injection. I've tried Tylenol, Ibuprofen, and aspirin, but I still get the deep aches, chills, headache, sometimes fever. Often my skin even hurts. I hope this stops soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/3/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Betaseron for 6 years and have had no new lesions or relapses. I'd like to get off shots but am afraid other medications wouldn't be as effective for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/5/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on 14+ years. Extremely satisfied. Only one new lesion in 14 years of treatment. Just notified by my insurance company they will no longer cover this drug and want me to switch to something else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
smdoty | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/10/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on Betaseron for nearly 4 years now. Still get chills / aches if I forget to take acetaminophen with it. Also still have redness / inflammation at injection sites for several months afterwards. Have had 2 severe injection site reactions resulting in small open wounds & brusing. I manually inject (the auto-injector clicks loudly & makes me jump) & self-injection gets tiresome / difficult to do after awhile. -----BUT------ I have only had 1 mild relapse in 3.5 years while using Betaseron...I had 3 crippling (while occurring) relapses during the 1 year I used Copaxone. I'm sticking with Betaseron.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/3/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

flu like symptoms at first but doing very well. been on it for 8 years now. wouldn't trade it for nothing else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sjfnj | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/11/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Betasearon seems to work very well for me. Not many side affects Very little to no pain taking the shot. Just don't stick it in the muscle...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/21/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My husband helps me with injections where I can't. He's extremely supportive of me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DebTed | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/10/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hesitated taking medication for my MS symptoms. When the right side of my face went numb and the toes on my feet went numb, I decided it was time. I no longer have new symptoms but the numbness is still an issue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tyler | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/20/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It took me awhile to figure out that the stinging is mostly caused from the tiny air bubbles in the needle, once I figured that out it didn't sting as bad. Also this medication makes me tired all the time, even after getting a good night's sleep. That is one down fall that I don't like.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/18/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this has been the only drug for my ms my body has not rejected. i am happy . only issue I have is the stinging as medication is injected.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Darlene | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/11/2013
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Went from rrms to spmm while I was on this drug. Worse decision I ever made as I was doing so well. I even received an apology from my Neuro

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/15/2012
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have terrible site reactions and knots (scar tissue?) where I have injected for years. My body rejects the syringe at times because of these knots, I am running out of locations to use. Here is a tip to keep bubbles out, after mixing hold the syringe at an angle rather than straight up and down and draw it in slowly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dqincww | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/11/2012
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i found that holding the syringe in for a couple of seconds after injecting medication, my injection site bruises/marks ceased. it is really easy to use, much more so that when i was on avonex (ever see the size of that needle!) but i think it is a normal reaction to hesitate when you're going to stick a needle in yourself. oh, and btw, it had a profound effect on improving my health after a very frightening exacerbation.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sue | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/29/2012
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have some skinsite reactions. Have redness that comes and goes. Depending if hot or cold.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bbgirl60 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/3/2011
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This has been easy to inject with the provided betaject system and I have learned when and how to massage the injection site when I did not get all the bubbles out. Learning to get all the bubbles out is the trick...they STING when they go in!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/1/2011
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this Betaseron medication twice since 1999. For a short period of time I switched to another, but came right back to the Betaseron. I had only one relapse,and that was in 2009.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gayleh | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/5/2011
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Betaseron for 16 years. At different times I have had problems with injection site reactions and flu-like symptoms but overall I have remained extremely healthy which I attribute to being on the medication. I feel very fortunate.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cdb | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2011
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was allergic to copaxone, tried rebif and was sick with every shot and my liver enzymes started climbing, so my doctor switched me to betaseron. I have to mix it so it takes more time to prepare but my liver enzymes, after 6 months on it, are back to normal, and I have only had two times when I was sick. Normally I just have a mild headache that tylenol takes care of. My MRI was good with no new lesions, so my doctor and I are both happy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More